We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unforgettable day in Sicily...Grazie Mille, Mario!!”

Sicily With Mario Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 17 Tours in Messina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access
Baldwin, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An unforgettable day in Sicily...Grazie Mille, Mario!!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had THE most wonderful day with Mario Astone in Sicily.
Before leaving the states, we corresponded via e-mail...he was always very prompt with his responses and easy to deal with.
Mario met our family of five as soon as we disembarked from the ship, and escorted us a short walk to a clean, roomy van. We liked him immediately and so did our kids...he engaged them and included them in the conversations.

We chose the Taormina/Godfather Tour and it did not disappoint. Sicily is a gorgeous island, and having a knowledgeable, confident tour guide like Mario who obviously loves his home makes a big impact. First we went straight to Savoca to see Bar Vitelli...where Michael Corleone first met Appollonia's father.
Mario offered a little snack and refreshing drinks from his before taking us to Taormina, where he gave us some time alone to wander the town...and arranged to meet us a few hours later. Taormina, although crowded, is beautiful...take a walk off the main road and explore some of the side streets and gorgeous views. After meeting back up with Mario, we drove up the windy roads to Castelmola, which seemed surreal. There was lava dust on the streets from a recent eruption of Mt. Etna, the volcano which was always looming in the distance wherever we traveled that day.
On the way back, Mario indulged our wish to visit a beach. He took us to Isola Bella, a gorgeous stone beach with beautiful blue-green water.
Finally, to fulfill another request, Mario took us to an excellent patisserie, so I could sample a Sicilian cannoli (or two).

Mario will show you Sicily through the eyes of an honest, genuine person. He is conscientious and eager to make your visit memorable, as he did for us.

Thank you Mario! (by the way, we hear his brother is equally stellar!)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Severn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    15
    4
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, NH
Level Contributor
198 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Pouring Rain and Still a Great Tour”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We met Fabio at the dock in Messina and he was a very accomodating. We had made arrangements on line to change the tour so we could see the clock tower in Messina at noon. He appearaed to be surprised by this but adapted immediately to accomodate us. His knowledge of the history and culture of Italy was humbling. He spoke with passion and intensity about his homeland and made us feel like we were attending a history class. We then went to Castlemola and Taormina. Both these places may have been beautiful but the skies opened up and we got soaked. I will say that Fabio did keep us standing in the rain a little longer than we needed to and we were happy to find a nice restaurant in Taormina to duck in to and dry off.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
449 reviews
266 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Mario gives great tours”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had 2 groups of 8 from our cruise ship tour Taormina and Castelmoala by Mario and his brother Ignazio. Although the weather was poor (rain and very cloudy all day), Mario and Ignazio provided umbrellas, drinks and pastry, and made it a wonderful day with their explanations and stories that only locals would know. The only disappointment is that we finished an hour early and were not offered an opportunity to see other sites in Messina instead of returning to the ship early. We highly recommend Mario Day Tours.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LUCKYME72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An unforgettable day in Sicily........”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our family of five were met at the port of Palermo by our guide, Fabio, a Sicilian with a true and genuine love for his land. We had Fabio for a day long private tour so we asked if he wouldn't mind changing up the itinerary with an unplanned stop to Montemaggiore Belsito, a town dear to our hearts. Fabio was nothing short of remarkable in helping us discover our Sicilian roots.
It made for a very special day and one we will never forget. We were so struck by Fabio's love of Sicily that we went away with a feeling that we must return to this beautiful part of the country.
Eric and Rosalba R.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank EricRosalbaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
533 reviews
267 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Mount Aetna was fabulous”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Mount Aetna was fabulous. I am sure the running commentary by Mario added tremendously to the tour. Mario met us at the ship and took our small group under his arm in making sure we had a great day in Sicily. I am belated in reporting our visit last May. We enjoyed the lunch that Mario provided. Sometimes the food on a tour is barely passable. Marios was excellent, especially the pastries.

Mario told us his Godfather tour is his best. We will try it the nextntimenwe are in Sicily.

We booked the tour on line as partnofbour Cruise Critic group. Mario responded quickly to our questions about the tour.

Helpful?
6 Thank Cavydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sicily With Mario Day Tours also viewed

Messina, Province of Messina
Messina, Province of Messina
 
Messina, Province of Messina
Messina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Sicily With Mario Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing