We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to miss!”
Review of Duomo di Messina

Duomo di Messina
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.79*
and up
Messina City Tour
More Info
$17.92*
and up
2-Hour Messina Walking Tour
More Info
$35.84*
and up
Messina Walking Tour
Ranked #2 of 153 things to do in Messina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Cathedral, a fine example of Sicilian Norman architecture, has retained its original medieval lines even after a long history: built under Roger II, consecrated in 1197, destroyed in the 1908 earthquake and rebuilt.
new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not to miss!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We only had a few hours to spend in Messina, we went to the Tourist Information which is not far from the bus/train terminal, and after we left our luggages in the "Left Luggage" inside the train station. Tourist Info staff were very accommodating. Tips: The highlight of our short day trip was the Bell Tower next to the Duomo. Enjoyable and a great show. Must see, I will not elaborate. Be there before just 12 noon, there is only 1 show.

The interior/ceiling of the Cathedral was amazing. I have seen it on TV and to see it in person was a real beauty and magnificent. We feasted our eyes and soul in our Sicily/Isole Eolie trip. WOW!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank evelynjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    265
    57
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“The Tower is Terrific”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We visited the piazza and duomo while cruising and ported in Messina. The piazza is only a short walk from the ship so if you cruise into Messina be sure to allow time to visit the Duomo.
It is just a five minute walk but check the hours that the shops and church are open as a lot of stuff is closed between 1 and 4 PM in Messina.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 462World_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
258 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great visit here and the Bell Tower, built during Norman times and consecrated in 1197 - but since then it has been destroyed and rebuilt many times. Damaged by a severe fire after bombing raids in 1943 it was again rebuilt and opened in August 1947. Beautiful cathedral well worth a visit and don't forget to watch the clock on the Bell tower at 12.00 pm when the tower comes alive with moving statues and a roaring lion.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rainbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
2,528 reviews
1,450 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,686 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Charming!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Of course, if you make the stop to the Bell Tower, you should definitely walk in the Cathedral. Unique designs and architecture make this place very beautiful and distinct. It is definitely worth the stop even for just a few pictures.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Messina's Beautiful Cathedral”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Arriving in Messina by cruise ship one does not always get to see the sites of the town. Fortunately our tour guide brought us to this impressive Cathedral in the center of town after our day of touring Mt. Etna and Taormina. The Cathedral has suffered fire, earthquakes and WWII bombings but has been rebuilt to its original grandeur. Inside are wood timber ceilings and a 16000 pipe organ. The adjoining clock tower is another marvel in itself.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Russtynails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duomo di Messina also viewed

 
Messina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Duomo di Messina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing