We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfaction guaranteed”
Review of Al Padrino

Al Padrino
Ranked #38 of 627 Restaurants in Messina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Iseo, Lombardia, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Satisfaction guaranteed”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Authentic, fresh & pure flavours. Just delicious. I am often out at lunch/dinner for work (All over Italy), so I highly appreciated that everything was just >100%, wine also!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin-Fleischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    156
    48
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mellieha, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I can't improve on some of the previous comments; it certainly is "loud, fast, fun and crazy"! The place takes a bit of finding, and is quite a walk from the main square, but it is worth it. There is a menu, but you eat what is fresh that day. We had fried mixed fish starters (octopus, squid, shrimps and what appeared to be baby whitebait). This was followed by a pasta dish (Maccheroni alla Norma) then for those of us with some room, giant prawns freshly grilled and some tuna fish cake. We sat by the fish counter and could have had anything there; the kitchen staff work quickly and food is fresh and hot. The meal was completed by some cannolis, dessert wine and we drank two bottles of water and two of the house wine. 20€ a head was an absolute steal.

The main waiter is a star: everything is done at speed and fortissimo! The place was full of locals (always a good sign). A real Sicilian experience and one of the highlights of our holiday.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_and_Juls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“essence of Sicily”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Al Padrino in Messina was a first place, where I ate fresh seafood during my 3-weeks long trip on Sicily. It was unbeatable. It is very local, simple, stamping and loud place. Service is loud, fast, fun and crazy. We had starters, two dihses (fish), beer, two glasses of wine, cannolis, some desserts wine for 40EUR for two! Everything fresh, tasty and beautiful.

If there is any reason to visit Messina, it is the tratorria Al Padriono!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lech S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A truly sicilian experience”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We were taken to this restaurant by our guide and we really enjoyed this truly Sicilian experience...the food was very tasty and quite abundant...we had three types of pasta to choose from and another three main courses...i had the pasta with prawns and courgettes that was very tasty as well as stuffed squid for mains... the meal couldn't have ended if not with a creamy cannolo so typical of Sicily and some sweet wine to accompany it. the atmosphere there is very homely and the service is good delivered by fun loving waiters for even hand the seafood dishes in a 'wavy' way. I recommend this place both for the food and for the atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank malteseglobetotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“100 % Sicilian”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

You only eat what is on the menu that day. Pasta col macco, potato croquettes and pesce stocco are a must, a real pleasure indeed. Maccheroni alla norma aren't any less and portions are big.
Selection of the wine mostly include the house wine.
Service is good, place is small and has been the same for over 40 years at least, which is what makes it a bit special.
Paper table cloths - changed for every new customer - may hide cloth ones with far too many stains..
Yet, certainly worth a go.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loidina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Padrino also viewed

Messina, Province of Messina
Messina, Province of Messina
 
Forza d'Agro, Province of Messina
Messina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Al Padrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing