We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Da Gianni e Lucia Rooms
Ranked #151 of 318 Catania B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The location of this B&B in Catania is perfect, next to Via Etnea and the Roman Amphitheater. The rooms are spacious and clean, our room had its balcony at the Via Etnea, great view! Restaurants are close by as well, the bus to the airport stops in front of the house.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annikahuizinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 429 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

i wish to compliment you for your hospitality. your b&b is very welcoming with a terrific atmosphere notwithstanding its excellent location and above all its cleanliness.

highly recommended i will surely stay there again when i return to catania

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dudad400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The B&B is located in an old palazzo in the centre of Catania. Rooms are clean, beds ok, host friendly, helpfull, and gives good tips.
We stayed here two times and we go back!
Bea Jacquemyn & Michael Milojkowic

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The title says it all really. The review by Alex_123654 puzzles me as our experiences were 180% different. Except for the missing AC remote (which Gianni brought on request) and the slow draining showers. Those are correct. But hey, those are minor details.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanPaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

What can I say - the worst B&B ever! We are still very much upset and very disappointed about our recent stay in this establishment.

Upon our arrival the owner met us in his beach attire. He was quite rude when I wanted to pay by card, firing back 'you should have read my email, I told you cash only!'. As if foreign travellers in Italy have access to internet 24/7 and read the lengthy T&C of each hotel they stay at. Anyway, we asked for Catania map, the owner said he doesn't have it (we got a free one in every hotel we stayed during this two week trip but this one). He abruptly pointed at some places for going out and eating on the wall map in Italinglish, meaningless info as I didn't have time to make a note nor I had a map on which to make a note.

We were showed the room and instantly regretted our decision to stay in this establishment. The room was quite old-fashioned and didn't look anything like the pictures. The patio and bathroom very extremely dirty. There were cigarette butts and rubbish on the patio and the bathroom looked like it was cleaned last year. It also desperately needs to be renovated. We found a small bottle of shampoo left by the previous guest and some sort of toiletry covered in fungus inside the big bottle - I've attached pictures. No idea what it was, but it looked quite gross. The drainage in the shower didn't work properly, you had to stop running water midway and wait for the water to drain. The shower cabin itself was very dirty and small, the toilet also looked like it's been hardly ever cleaned.

There were notices everywhere with loads of exclamation marks with the orders to switch off the air conditioning and lights (one by the entrance, once on the room door, one of the table in the room and the fourth one (about food/drinks/fridge) in the kitchen). Needless to stay, it makes you feel as if you staying at the boarding school.

The owner said we were the only guests as the other rooms were vacant but we heard someone walking in and out at some point which made us feel uncomfortable (plus it was a proof that the walls were paper thin!). Also, both mornings the owner would come to the reception (5 steps from our room) at 7am and would start sorting out his business very loudly over the phone and would wake us up. On the top of it, the bed was really uncomfortable and squeaky with the mattress springs poking painfully into our ribs, so we didn't get a good sleep on any of the two nights.

Also, the first night we couldn't find the remote for the AC which was hidden in the kitchen, it took us around 20 minutes to locate it. It was pretty obvious that the remote has been removed from the room so that the guests would not use the AC! The TV remote was in the room so there was no reason why the AC remote should be stored elsewhere.

The worst experience related to this B&B was the fact that the owner missinformed us on the bus timetable to Mount Etna (the only sight that's worth the trip to Sicily). Upon the check-in we were told that there were two buses a day to this mountain, at 8am and 11am. Next morning we woke up a bit later and decided to take the 11am bus. The owner was at the reception when we left at 9.30am and obviously knew that there was no 11am bus and that we missed our only chance to go to Mount Etna). We didn't know this, of course, so we dragged our heavy backpacks with the hiking shoes and other equipment in +30 heat to the bus station, then went from one person to another (for the record, Sicilians don't speak any English and are very rude and unhelpful) for another 30 minutes if not longer, only to find out that the 11am bus never existed. The only bus to Mount Etna leaves at 8am, end of story. We were close to tears to be honest.

So we had to stay in Catania that day and there is nothing to see or do there. At the some point we decided to take the local train ferroviacircumetna which is another waste of time. It takes around 2-3 hours to cover 45 miles and the train literally goes though people's back gardens and piles of rubbish in the streets and fields. Once you decide to get off somewhere, people stare at you like you just arrived from the Moon.

Once we came back from the train trip to the B&B, it was obvious that the owner let himself into our room for reasons that were not clear to me. The bins were not emptied, there was no toilet paper and the sheets were not changed. The pillows were rearranged, so I guess that was the reason to come in.

Overall impression of Sicily/Catania/this B&B - horrible. Save your precious time and money and stay on the mainland Italy. People there are kind, helpful to tourists and almost smiling. Also, they know how to dispose of their litter responsibly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex_123654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toncelli, Direttore generale at Da Gianni e Lucia Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Reader
pictures are really bad cause taken at night
what is nice ? that just 5 minutes ago 2 people check out from the same room with a big smile, happy about the room and the service thanking me about all the info i gave to them
B&B da gianni e lucia is a bed and breakfast not a 5 star hotel , the main reason i do this work is to help people that come here
the ast that bring people from catania to etna start the second bus at 11,20 on the 15th june , the guests were here the 11th july so the bus was working , maybe they missed it ???
i'm not sicilian, but i decide to live here cause the people here is historically hospitable and absolutely friendly, when you ask info do not be surprise if the person will offer you a coffe
say that in Catania and in sicily there is nothing to see there is no history and no culture is the biggest joke of the year )))))
thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Gianni bends over backwards to help you with your stay, from calling restaurants to make reservations, to sending someone to open up for me since I booked a room the night before. The room I stayed in was very comfortable and bat of all, had a balcony that opens onto the town square. I watched lots of activity for half the night- couples strolling together, lots of teenagers hanging out, a church group singing and passing out literature - loved it. Highly recommend it if you want to be in the middle of the hustle and bustle of a likely Italian town-- and kitty corner t there an ruins.

Room Tip: There's no swimming pool but I can't seem to uncheck this box
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MansfieldMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a great B&B in the center of Catania. We only had one night here but really enjoyed our short stay in Catania. Gianluca was great and gave us some good tips about what to do with our short time. The location is great and we walked eaqsily to the Duomo and the Villa Bellini.

Our room was nice and the only downside was that the WIFI didn't work real well inside the room. In the common area it worked without any problem though.
Parking can probably be difficult but we were lucky to find a spot right by the B&B.
Breakfast was very italian with sweets and some huge cream filled pastries. If you want anything specific for breakfast just ask Gianluca the night before and he can get it for you.
This place is a great value!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toncelli, Proprietario at Da Gianni e Lucia Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Hello

Our walls are very thick about 75-100 cm so probably with some pc or mobiles wi-fi does not work well, i always say that we are very central so at some hours of the day can be difficult to find a spot, expecially shopping time so 10-12am or 5-7pm
We are in italy i serve the italian breakfast

Thanks gluca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
Centro Catania
Residence La Vetreria
Residence La Vetreria
#45 of 49 in Catania
30 reviews
Stesicorea Palace
#27 of 49 in Catania
154 reviews
Gattopardo House
#19 of 318 in Catania
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City-in-hostel-B&B
#32 of 104 in Catania
173 reviews
Four Rooms Bed & Breakfast
#119 of 318 in Catania
206 reviews
Centro Catania
B&B Stesicoro
B&B Stesicoro
#27 of 318 in Catania
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Gianni e Lucia Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Gianni e Lucia Rooms

Address: Piazza Stesicoro 59, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy (Formerly B&B da Gianni e Lucia)
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 318 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range: $43 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Da Gianni e Lucia Rooms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An incredible place where all is good. Central position, big rooms, all with inside bathroom. INTERNET WIRELESS. KInd and available personnel make the difference. We have 3 rooms on the square with balcony (room for 5 people, or 4 and double) and 3 inside rooms (room for 3 people, double and twin). Tourist information of any kind.Small or continental breakfast served on request. Very close to all. detto da un catanese siamo nel cuore di Catania wi-fi,bagno,aria condizionata e asciugacapelli in tutte le camere 1,1 km dalla stazione dei treni e dei bus 30 minuti dall'aereoportopersonale a disposizione per informazioni di ogni genere cornetti e caffè fresco semplice e sincero il B&B che ti farà sorridere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Da Gianni e Lucia Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Gianni e Lucia Rooms Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing