We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awful”
Review of B&B Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Opera
Ranked #112 of 327 Catania B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 1, 2010

this was the only truly unpleasant B & B we stayed at. My husband was afraid we'd perish during the night from the sewer gases that permeated our room. the window opened onto a narrow, well traveled street that was full of noise and exhaust. and not cheap. would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickichardak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 127 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2010

a miserable place, noisy, smelly, unclean and a truely horrible breakfast: packaged food, plastic abounds, very tight space, and the worst caffelatte. Regettable!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliavaleria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

We stayed at one of the apartments just across the road from the B&B.

We have been travelling for 9 months, and the apartment is our favourite accommodation to date. To be honest, we can't even look at the photos of the apartment, because it reminds us what we are missing out on now (we're still on the road).

It is huge, has a laundry, two balconies, a stainless steel kitchen, a lounge, two bedrooms and is very centrally located; a bakery, supermarket, and cheap tasty restaurants/cafes are all on the same street.

The mgmt and staff are also super accommodating. They let us go over to the B&B whenever we needed to use the free wi-fi, and had excellent maps and knowledge of the region.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teewhy1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

We stayed here during the volcanic ash no-flights period and the staff could not have been kinder. We had our washing done for us and got use of a kitchen and a laptop, and they arranged a tour and taxis. Very good central location too, close to the station and fish market.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneinEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Stayed here over New Year and was made very welcome by the owner and staff.
Central location - a five minuets walk to the very heart of Catania and the wonderful shops and cafes. The building has been recently restored and the accommodation is all modern and new and very tastefully done, but still within the character of the original Italian facade.
I was made to feel very at home and even though traveling on my own I felt very safe here.
Catania is a great City to visit - often overlooked because people go straight to the more touristy Taormina - my advice take a couple of days here at the beginning or end of your tour and experience a slice of the REAL Sicily.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Concept23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

Me and my friend arrived at B&B Opera and we asked for a room with two seperate beds. We thought we were in the wrong B&B, because we got an appartement with two big bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen and a big living area! The appartement was furnished modern, we felt like it was home. And that for the same price of a small room.
The breakfast was not so good, croissants with jam or yoghurt. But what would you expect of a country that barely takes breakfast?
Nights were a little bit noisy, but we didn't hear so much of the traffic because of the two extra doors in front of the windows..

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Stayed at Opera for 3 nights whilst touring Sicilia. B&B room great and thee location couldn't be beaten although a little noisy at the front! The room was lovely, very authentic but the breakfast wasn't up to much - please no pre-packed croissants and Spar jam.
Mark

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markinmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
Centro Catania
Bad Catania
Bad Catania
#25 of 327 in Catania
374 reviews
City-in-hostel-B&B
#42 of 107 in Catania
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,800 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Opera

Address: Via Antonino di Sangiuliano 129, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range: $59 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opera Bed and Breakfast is located next to the Massimo Bellini theater and it's only 500 meters far from the train station and bus station ...so that you can easily reach all tourist attractions in the area such as Taormina, Siracusa or the Volcano Etna! Come to Visit Us!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Catania
B&B Opera Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing