We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice located hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manganelli Palace Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Reviewed October 23, 2012

A very good choice in the city centre, walking distance to most of the attractions in this wonderful town. We travelled as a young couple and the room we had was a double bed room with a beautiful ceiling and a nice tiny terrace. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The staff at the hotel was not friendly at all but polite. We've seen the suite which is a very good choice if you're looking for something extra, with a beautiful painted ceiling and very well preserved!

Stayed at middle of October 2012.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constantin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 436 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel was chosen because of the decription of the renovated old villa. Our experience was as advertised. The elevator is an experience unto itself. The ride is three stories up to the lobby and rooms. Our room had large celing frescoes painted over 100 years ago. The room was cavernous by todays room standards. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was large. Breakfast was OK. It was a great place to stay to view Catania the next day before moving on to Taormina. Would we stay there again. Absolutely !!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerMike88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the hotel, in a Superior room. It was clean and comfortable. The location is very convenient, just a few blocks from the central piazza del Duomo. Staff was nice and helpful. Breakfast was very good, but not always ready in time.
We had some issues with the minibar and toilet not working, but they were eventually fixed.
The small, old elevator is a problem if you have an issue with stairs. If guests leave the doors open it does not work.

Room Tip: Your room size and location depends on price level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ednam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the suite and it was beautiful and very accomdathing the stuff was very nice but not helpful at all. The parking was not close unless you use the public one at the piazza manganelli just out side the hotel (make sure you find a parking by yourself don't use the help of the locals 'working' there)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2travelitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A must place to stay.Staff so friendly and accomodating to your every need. Room was large with fresco on the ceiling.Every attraction within walking distance. Every Aussie going to Catania this is the place to stay

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

A wonderful hotel in the very centre of Catania!! The courtesy and kindness of the staff was fantastic and if you are lucky enough (as we were) to be upgraded in the suite you are going to enjoy a superb room with frescos and a spectacular view over Catania's roofs and domes... We loved it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enriii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

A very good choice in the city centre of Catania, with walking distance to most of the attractions in town. The room we had was a three bed room with a beautiful stucco ceiling and a nice terrace , the beds were comfortable and the room was clean. We got great help from the staff at the hotel. We got to see the suite which is a very good choice if you're looking for something extra, very well preserved!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Helene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#13 of 49 in Catania
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Il Principe Hotel
Il Principe Hotel
#15 of 49 in Catania
1,079 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Cerami
Palazzo Cerami
#12 of 324 in Catania
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
B&B Nel Cuore di Catania
B&B Nel Cuore di Catania
#6 of 324 in Catania
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Etnea 454 Catania Luxury Rooms
0.2 mi away
Habitat
Habitat
#10 of 324 in Catania
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manganelli Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manganelli Palace Hotel

Address: Via Recalcaccia 2 | (ang. P.zza Manganelli), 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range: $59 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manganelli Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a prestigious position of the baroque of Catania rises the Manganelli building, an ancient noble residence. The Manganelli Palace borns indoors it, pleasant and exclusive hotel in which refinement and style mingle to draw an elegant and unique environment which represents the new way of sleeping in Catania. Thanks to the strategic position from where you can admire the town, to the wise restoration of the frescoes and to the maximum attention in the details, the classical style is combined with the elegance of the contemporary style offering an exclusive receptivity. Both who travels for pleasure or for business will be surround oneself with rooms elegantly furnished, comfortable and with every comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manganelli Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manganelli Palace Catania
Manganelli Palace Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing