We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castello D'Urso Somma B&B
Ranked #7 of 291 Catania B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Fl
Level Contributor
182 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Castello D’Urso Somma is an oasis close to the airport. For a morning flight, it’s an ideal location. The grounds are filled with flowering plants and there is a pool that wasn’t open when we were there, but the setting was beautiful. The guest rooms are two buildings surrounding the castle itself. Santuzza was very friendly and helpful in arranging a very early morning pickup to the airport for our friends and suggesting dinner options. We ended up going to a supermarket and having a picnic right on the grounds of Castello D’Urso Somma – very pleasant.

Just a note for others: the breakfast is very basic – the most basic of our entire 11 nights in Sicily – juice, yogurt, toast, coffe & tea. If your body needs anything more than that, go to the supermarket and bring it in for yourself. Also, the bathroom had towels, but no soap for the shower.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    44
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
60
160
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

From the moment we were greeted by Santuzza at the front gate, we felt at home. The property is incredible. We enjoyed the attention to detail, everything we needed was provided. We stayed in the "purple" room in a building on the grounds of the castle. This was great since we were able to enjoy modern conveniences with the ambiance of the castle on the grounds! The pool is huge, you can easily enjoy your time there, although there is much to visit in the area. As mentioned in other reviews, the surrounding are is not what you would expect, but as soon as you enter through the gate you feel very welcomed and very much at home! We appreciated the self serve breakfast that was provided since we had an early flight out of Catania. Santuzza was extremely helpful in recommendations for places to eat, gas stations, etc. We also enjoyed the the free wifi. We will definitely stay here again next time we visit Sicily. THANK YOU so much for a great experience!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sseagroves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I wish we could have stayed more than one night. Such a beautiful property and amazing service. Santuzza was kind and upgraded us to the room with the antique bed because we were on our honeymoon. She bent over backwards to ensure we had a pleasant stay. By far our best experience in all of Italy! The only reason I didn't give a 5/5 is because of the breakfast. It was average but it would have been nice to have a larger selection of fresh food (bakery bread, meats, cheeses) rather than packaged food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our flight arrived at Catania Airport late in the evening and this B&B is in an ideal location, just pick up your hire car and then it is 5 minutes down the road. Much better than going into Catania, especially if you are on a driving tour of the country and don't want to waste time. Located as it is near the airport, it is in a lovely setting with the old castle, landscaped gardens and a big pool.
Room is basic but clean and breakfast provided is adequate,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPHWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gijon, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

On behalf of the travelers and myself I would like to thank Mrs Santuzza for the great support given and the extraordinary help she gifted us. It is really amazing to find such efficiency nowadays in the tourism industry.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bidtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent a single night on our way home after nearly three weeks in Sicily. The property is lovely, and the greeting even more so. Our host was eager to assist with a difficulty we were having with Alitallia, going as far as phoning the US number for us on her phone hoping to find help. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The area is not as beautiful, but the Castello D'Urso's property is stunning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27countriessofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Lovely property and gracious host. This property is close to the airport and city. We were met by the owner of the property who was very nice and spent time to show us around in a very caring way. We would definite say there again and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
2.1 mi away
NH Catania Parco Degli Aragonesi
5.9 mi away
Airone City Hotel
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
157 reviews
4.3 mi away
UNA Hotel Palace
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Romeo
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
511 reviews
2.0 mi away
Catania International Airport Hotel
2.2 mi away
Romano Palace Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello D'Urso Somma B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello D'Urso Somma B&B

Property: Castello D'Urso Somma B&B
Address: Via San Francesco Alla Rena 15, 95121 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 291 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castello D'Urso Somma B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unusual Bed and Breakfast is set in it's own gated gardens,with palms and trees.Guestrooms, which are housed in 2 self contained annexes around a historic Castle ( NO ROOMS INSIDE IT), are all ensuite ( with shower only)and offer a/c climate control, cable tv (Italian channels only),closet, desk,manual roller blinder and hair dryer (on request). Sorry, smoking is not permitted indoors.Our rates include:Self Service Buffet Breakfast ( Italian basic)* Daily housekeeping* Bed and bathroom linens* Energetic consumption* On site Private Parking* Use of the ourdoor semi-Olympic Swimming Pool - when open (towels not included)* WiFi* Local taxes and VATAlthough close to the airport, to the main highways, to the old city centre,we can offer a silent, relaxing andpeaceful location without being cut away from the world. Besides, our location is also very convenient for exploring most of the island, since the main motorways are a couple of minutes away from our property(Taormina 45 min; Siracusa 30 min; Mount Etna 1h, Palermo 2h).A warm welcoming and a friendly hospitality, which are typical values of our tradition and culture, combined with an exquisite tranquility, are the essential features of our Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Castello D'Urso Somma B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello D'Urso Somma B&B Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing