We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (625)
Filter reviews
625 results
Traveler rating
227
260
82
29
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
260
82
29
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed sun terrace equipped bathroom decorated ceilings ravioli air con superior room old palace major attractions hotel is in a great location short walk third floor spoke english via etnea loved this hotel the breakfast area lovely terrace
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 625 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2018

We stayed here for 1 night only before our flight home and we were hugely disappointed. The first impression of the hotel is that it is very dark and dated. The walk from the lift to our room was along a hallway with a very dirty carpet that looked as if it had never been cleaned. Our room was large but really in need of a refurb and didn't feel very clean.The air conditioning was very noisy and we ended up switching it off. On the day we were in Catania we were caught in a very fierce storm that caused flash flooding and we got absolutely soaked through and didn't want to go back out for dinner. We asked if we could eat in the hotel restaurant unfortunately they told us they had some sort of function that evening and couldn't accommodate us luckily we were able to find somewhere near the hotel. This is not any way to treat paying guests!
I fail to understand how this hotel has a 4 star rating.
On the positive side it does have a very secure car park and breakfast was good.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank maryglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

The Hotel Royal is in a very good location which is a key factor in wanting to stay there.
We found the staff friendly but there was much that disappointed.
We had a room on the 3rd Floor.
The walk from lift took you along a carpet which looked like a dead animal had been dragged along it such was the staining.
The Room was a good size but very dark with one porthole window, which was cracked.
It didn’t feel “clean”.
The lighting was also quite poor.
There was an outside area adjoining the room which didn’t seem to serve much purpose as its wall must have been over 8 foot high so no chance of a scenic view.
The AirCon was extremely noisy keeping us awake.
The lifts had a mind of their own, random would be an appropriate description.
The Breakfast was very good and the staff helpful.
The WiFi was strong although in “public” areas it defaulted to a poorer WiFi connection.
The saving grace was it’s proximity to the Centre of things plus there were a number of good Restaurants nearby.
If you want something from a Supermarket Simply (it’s a chain) is close by and has a good selection of foods, drinks, toiletries etc
It wasn’t cheap and felt that it was run down and surprised by its 4 Star rating as it isn’t!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Greatblackhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

We recently had a lovely Roman/Sicilian family holiday. We needed one night's accommodation in Catania before our flight home to the UK. I wanted to make it a special night for my wife and daughter.
The choice of hotels in Catania is very limited, although restaurant night life is great.
I found the hotel Royal and opted for the Norma suite. We were also eager to use the roof terrace bar and jacuzzi facilities.
At 254 Euros for the night, I expected something special.
It's probably easier to list off the experience :
Tired, ancient decor.
Dirty bedsheets.
A shower that did not work even after 2 visits to the room from staff.
2 bars unstaffed.
No access to the roof terrace.
Made them aware that I would demand a reduction, and was offered 30 Euros!!
Very little apology at checkout.
The one star review is solely for the attentive breakfast staff.

Perhaps, they have a monopoly on guests due to the paucity of hotels in Catania..... Anyhow, do not book here!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Maps760589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

We enjoyed a lovely stay over the New Year holiday at Hotel Royal, staying in a room that made our jaws drop upon entering, as it was so over-the-top NOT a boring chain hotel room!

We had no set plans for New Years, being travelers "from away", so we signed up for the New Year's dinner and dance party that took place on the hotel roof. What a hoot! Fireworks over Catania, and up above the masses gathered in the square nearby.

Hotel staff were all lovely, helpful, and proud of their city.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TIDavisNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

We stayed for two nights, the room was the standard one and was very comfortable, good size and with excellent bathroom. The girl at the front desk was very helpful and kind. Breakfast is served on a lovely terrace, with place inside and outside with a nice view. The location is good though it is on a street with steps, which made difficult to carry our suitcases. People with difficulties in walking should consider other options. We could manage anyway and would definitely return.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Grace1BuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews