We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly and helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great location, friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Hotel Royal is the perfect place to be based if you want to explore Catania. It's in the historic heart, on one of the grandest (but quietest) old streets, Via Crociferi. Minutes away from the major sites. The staff were extremely friendly and always helpful, with excellent English. It was very good value for a four star hotel, though we were there in the off season.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidDarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    211
    57
    20
    15
See reviews for
59
277
21
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We had just got off a plane from New York when we arrived here, and arrived irritable and irritated at the high taxi fare from the airport to downtown. Two hours later, we were just speechless with appreciation. The hotel has an 18th century kind of splendidness in the public rooms. Our room also had a contemporary flair, with a magnificent view from the little balcony that just compelled us to throw the doors open and watch the sun set over a panoramic view of the city. (That was a mistake: they have Mosquitos in Catania which promptly flew in at dusk).
But what most amazed us was the hotel restaurant, on a roof terrace with a spectacular view of the baroque architecture immediately around us. We had the tasting menu, which turned out to be a unexpected but massive culinary achievement which almost made the trip to Sicily worthwhile in itself and by far the best food we had on the island. It was a Sicilian food with a gourmet chef's precision. It seemed to all emerge from one woman working in the kitchen, who would produce a plate of five different appetizers, for example, any one of which would be remarkable. We almost felt guilty at how little they charged for a meal of such vast range and remarkable quality.
Finally, the location of the hotel is very good, a short walk from the old amphitheater and best baroque architecture, and not far from the main cathedral square.
But go for the restaurant. We later ate at most of the best-known restaurants around Siciliy, and nothing came close.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank WB2260763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel is on a hill in a quiet part of Catania, only a short walk from most of the sights of the city. The bedroom (on the 3rd floor) was large and had its own pleasant walled outside seating area with iron table and chairs. Some previous reviews have noted the rooms can be dark, and at night I would agree. This is due to the good size of the rooms, and there only being lighting, from wall mounted sources, or free standing lamps, there was no overhead lighting. However the room was certainly well enough illuminated to read and write with ease.

The bathroom was also well sized, with a good, and large, walk in shower.

Breakfast can be had in the dining room, which has floor to ceiling windows, or outside on the pleasant balcony. The breakfast is a cold buffet of some cakes and fruit tarts, as we’ll as a few meats, cheeses, fruit, yoghurts and cereal. However the selection was quite generic, and quality was average, so breakfast was only taken once at the hotel. There are several cafes within a 10 – 15 minute stroll from the hotel.

The staff on the front desk were charming and very helpful, particularly when the arrival time had to be moved from mid-afternoon to quite late at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian2753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here twice in September....the first time for four nights and the second for five nights. We used Catania as a base to explore eastern Sicily and Malta. Both rooms and bathrooms were very large and clean. The hotel is a short walk to all of the sights in the old town.

We found the staff friendly and helpful. On the front desk Danila and Renato greeted us with smiles and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Simone in the breakfast room started our day with a warm smile and quick service.

If we return to Catania we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 203 and 205 are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights to see Mount Etna, the hotel was fantastic. It's in an old building in the historical centre of Catania just around the corner from the Duomo. We had room 303 on the 3rd level with our own private outdoor area which was a bonus especially if you are a smoker. I agree with other reviews the lighting needs to fixed, the hotel is very dark but it was still very,very good. The beds were big and comfy, the rooms very spacious and large modern bathrooms. It's pretty hot in Catania so you need the air conditioner which worked fine.
Breakfast was good and is held on a huge indoor, outdoor area, you can also go to the roof for the jacuzzi and great views of Etna.
The hotel us in a perfect position, right near the main touristic area of Catania which was surprisingly beautiful. Be sure to go to the fish market on the edge of the main square behind the fountain for a real local italian experience !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here for the last night on our tour of Sicily. The first room we had was a basic dingy double. Due to some issues with the shower we were moved to another room. This room was much nicer with a large raised four poster bed, remote controls for all the lights etc and a large bathroom. All the rooms are very dim, even with all lights so do not expect to any reading!

The interior of the hotel is very grand and there's a nice terrace for dinner/drinking. The breakfast range is very small for what I would expect from a hotel of that size.

The girl at reception and the pony tailed British guy were really welcoming!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrRoomda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#7 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Il Principe Hotel
#13 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: Via Antonino di Sangiuliano 337, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#11 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#12 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is a four star hotel in the centre of Catania with 19 rooms. The rooms are positioned on three different levels. Each room is named after either an important Sicilian person or period of Sicilian history. The first floor is dedicated to Vincenzo Bellini. A world-renowned composer, born in Catania, and author of noted works like La Norma. The same Norma lends her name to our most beautiful suite. This suite boasts beautiful vaulted ceilings where, following a meticulous and complex restorative project, we were able to maintain the original frescoes, painted in the 18th century. The frescoes are not the only unique features of this suite, which could more accurately be called a royal apartment. It is almost 50m2 and has a fabulous bathroom, like something directly from the fabled Arabian Nights. The second floor is home to the rooms dedicated to Magna Grecia (Latin for "Greater Greece"): a very important period in the history of the city of Catania. The third floor is dedicated to Giovanni Verga. This author brought the name of Catania and of Sicily into the lives of many around the world with his historical novels, names that are kept alive today in names of the rooms of our hotel. All rooms are equipped with LCD monitor, WiFi, and a control panel for the electronic adjustment of lights, but most importantly they are very spacious. The Superior rooms boast either a splendid four-poster bed or a private terrace. One of the Superior rooms has a private access to the rooftop terrace with the possibility to book the exclusive use of the Solarium and the Jacuzzi. The Suites are particularly ample with separate, clearly defined living and sleeping quarters. The Suites also offer a relaxing shower with water massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Catania
Hotel Royal Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing