We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stesicorea Palace
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$182
$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$143
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Biscari(Catania)
$65
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$156
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
$171
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Royal(Catania)
$215
$182
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$164
$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$163
$125
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
49
58
33
16
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
58
33
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busstar hotelcentral locationvery helpful staffthe heart of the cityevery morningcakespiazzatvcentreairport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 162 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We are 7 older travelers and were surprised to open hotel door to face 2 stories of stairs straight up. Staff helped after first of our party reached the top and made our presence known. We chose because of location on bus route from airport. Fabrizio was especially helpful and clear with advice, and made it possible for us to keep 1 room and stow luggage as we were not flying out of Catania until 20:45. Everything worked but it was rather noisy next door to McDonalds.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatKTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

we stayed in this hotel a few days ago, for 5 nights, two couples in a city break; It was chosen for location - the best for a city break and visit, and price - excellent for that period. It;s located in the heart of the city, a few min walk from Fish Market, Piazza del Duomo, Central Station, all the good sites. However, being located in a central Piazza, it's not recommended for light sleepers, as the activity and life in the night is at high rates and the noises are at a high level. Rooms are spacious and cleaned everyday, great conditions. The only negative comment is about the breakfast; as I enjoy a more solid and protein breakfast, it consisted only in a few shadows of prosciutto and cheese, but only if you were lucky to find them in the right time; there were days without them...But there was a large variety of croissants, pies, pastries, bread and yogurts. Be aware if you are diabetic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Pros: Hotel has central location within walking distance from main attractions. Garage is about 2-3 blocks away (10-20 Euro per day). Staff is really helpful and trying to make your stay as pleasant as possible. On first day I asked for plain yogurt; they did not have it, but they bought it for the next day. One day I need to leave 30 min before regular breakfast time – lady, who is helping with breakfast show up earlier and cook it ( unlike other places, they offer omelet). During daytime, there is always somebody who could speak English and willing to assist you with restaurant reservation, train schedule, etc. Rooms are big and freshly decorated.
Cons: Street noise – it located on the corner of main street and piazza, so you could hear traffic most of the time. Each bathroom has small pump or something else, which sounds like very laud pneumatic hammer. This device starts working as soon as you open water or flash the toilet, so if somebody using bathroom during the night, people in several rooms are aware about it.
So, if some noise is not an issue for you, stay there, hotel is really nice and provides good value for the money; light sleepers should probably avoid it

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night before we proceed our trip to Lipari Island. This hotel is strategically located at the centre of The Piazza. Near to other facilities like bank (Bianco of Sicily), mini market, few boutiques, night market & restaurants. The room which we occupied was well kept, clean and comfortable. This hotel maintained the typical architecture of romans and surprisingly you can find a dome type ceiling for your room. The receptionist at the counter also very friendly and very helpful. They can speak in english (the girl's name is Angelina) as well. When we were in Catania, our luggage were delayed and it is difficult for us to get feedback from the airport authorities because they hardly understand english. Fortunately we have this girl at the reception who called the airport on our behalf to get updates. The only bad part was, you have to go up to 2 floors of stairs before you can reach the lobby. You can imagine how difficult for us to carry our luggages together with our baby's stroller. Other than that, this hotel is good and we recommended this hotel. Chiao!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Kfk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel is located on one corner of an open piazza and is easy to find. Much harder to find is the entrance, hidden away down a side alleyway with no obvious signs to help find it. Then through some doors and up two flights of stairs which make you wonder if you've gained access to an apartment block by mistake. Once inside it is clearly a family run hotel with an amusing toddler and all his toys everywhere. The room was clean but really pricey for what it was ... (We didn't stay in any other hotels in Catania - rightly or wrongly I am comparing UK prices with Italy here) ... We had booked a twin room but we got a single with an uncomfortable sofa. Breakfast was a disappointment except for the hyper-caffeinal coffee, a necessary waker-upper after the near-constant street noise all night - lots of hooting and scooters tearing past at all hours ... and if you're planning a lie-in take ear-plugs because the rush hour is unrelenting.

Room Tip: Look before booking. Two flights of stairs up to the hotel and no lift, so forget it if you're disabled. Lots of noise from outside even at night.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHikingDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews