We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of I Vespri Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
I Vespri Hotel
Ranked #110 of 314 Catania B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Very easy place to find and only 15mins' walk from bus station. Good sized quiet room. Helpful staff who let us use their office pc as wifi temporarily out of action. Can recommend Sicilia Viva tour company for a day tour of Mt Etna with the charming Nicola Biffo (if she is available). Lovely Bellini Gardens are up Via Etna - great for early morning walking/running!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank barfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    26
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
19
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

If you are staying in Catania this place is a great choice. It is in the very center of the city so everything is close. Yet, the level of street noise is low because the rooms look either at the nice inner courtyard or at the small street just off Via Etnea. If you have ever spent the night in a Mediterranean city, you would appreciate this fact. The interior is very pleasing and comfortable. The staff is competent, very friendly and made our staying even better. Upon arrival we found out there was a misundersanding about our reservations, but they immediately gave us another room, bigger and better, for the same price.

I warmly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Halembick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
from catania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Good location-very clean and comfortable-helpfull staff-nice tour to mount etna-thanks very much ...for all!!!

  • Liked — very clean-nice-friendly!!
  • Disliked — many stairs...ahahha but it was good!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank flat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithuania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

Excellent location - within walking distance of all the main city sights; the airport bus stop is situated within 250 m. Too many doors to open and too many bars to push if one wants to reach it from the street, but otherwise fine and quiet (this alone makes it especially worth it considering the midnight madness that is Catania's main street on Saturday night) as rooms face inner courtyard (or at least the one we stayed in did). Management sometimes may seem a bit aloof or difficult to find (knock on every door and hopefully they'll come out, from wherever they were hiding). Just one word of advise: book your Etna tour somewhere else, the tour agency that Vespri promotes (a single guy, rather) does a poor job.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Donbacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbounre, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2006

Great location, just off main street, very clean and comfortbale, with cheap laundry service. Also booked our tours and taxi to the airport for us, staff are very nice and the room service menu is very fairly priced.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathroom size
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Hashimotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2006

I Vespri is in a great location just off the main street in Catania, Via Etnea. Everything you'd want to see and do in Catania itself is within easy walking distance (shopping, sightseeing, eating). Plus, you have the added bonus of Guiseppe and Brigida, the couple who own and run I Vespri (and live there, too!). You can't ask for nicer, more helpful hosts. I stayed there for 2 weeks with a group of students and they even let us store our massive collection of luggage in their office for 6 days while we took off for Naples. Rome, Florence, and Venice. We swore that Guiseppe should win a prize for hardest working man in Italy as he was always working on some sort of improvement project around the place. They also own a sweet, quiet little pub nearby, Bellini Pub. I look forward to staying there again next year with another group of my students.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 1984msu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2006

Great value. We were looking for a place with local color and good value. We were quite pleased. The Internet connection (in the office, not wireless) was very fast and convenient. We enjoyed our stay, and loved the staff.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank psimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catania
Politeama
PoliteamAffitti
PoliteamAffitti
#75 of 98 in Palermo
20 reviews
Gattopardo House
#20 of 314 in Catania
141 reviews
Holiday House Nonna Peppa
#119 of 314 in Catania
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Four Rooms Bed & Breakfast
#88 of 314 in Catania
203 reviews
Centro Catania
Politi Residence
Politi Residence
#8 of 96 in Catania
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Vespri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Vespri Hotel

Property: I Vespri Hotel
Address: Via Montesano 5, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 314 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — I Vespri Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten minutes far from Catania beach and just one hour to reach the adventurous Vulcano Etna. Reach us is very easy from every directions. The hotel recently restored, has spacious, comfortable and brightly illuminated rooms with balconies, air condition, tv, and wi fi connection in the hole. The jovial and cordial staff, besides giving you a friendly welcome, can give you many information about excursions, about the most interesting cultural attractiveness and events, and about every services you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your I Vespri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
I Vespri Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing