We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Principe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Il Principe Hotel
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

I Loved this place. Location is fabulous, I don't think it could have been better, staff were so kind and the rooms are really luxurious. We booked a deluxe room and were upgraded to a suite which was amazing and included a jacuzzi. Breakfast was so yummy too! Don't hesitate just go for it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLovebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    372
    107
    48
    22
See reviews for
131
433
49
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sibiu
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

Great location in the heart of the old city, very friendly and helpful staff. Good place to visit Catania and the surroundings.I would return to this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanSibiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Best thing was that although situated in the very city center it has parking spots just next to the hotel on the street.

We booked two-level suite which turned to be a kind of two-level loft, with big king size bed on upper level and living area plus additional bed and bathroom on lower level. Room actually looked very nice, modernly decorated, much better than I expected based on pictures on the hotel's site. It was cozy and roomy. Bathroom was spotless although somewhat small.

Service was great, everybody was just happy to help. Every time we entered the hotel someone appeared on the reception desk to greet us.

I personally would stay there any time again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuli17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6713
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

After more than an hour spent finding the hotel, I was tired and in a poor mood. The front desk staff made me feel welcome and my attitude improved immensely. The staff was always courteous and helpful. The valet parking proved very convenient, especially as we were travelling out every day.
A few shortfalls though:
- Coffee in the morning was, tepid in temperature. Once i asked the waiter for a cup of hot coffee, he delivered, but that the coffee was wrong in the first place was a shame.
- The room was warm and the air conditioner didn't seem to work.
- On the second evening we were there, the fire alarm sounded at least four times from about 2 AM til 4 AM. I lost much sleep over it. I went down each time to the lobby and front desk person stated on two occasions that the alarm had been fixed. It wasn't so.
- Internet connectivity. We spoke with the front desk and explained that we didn't have WiFi capable computers. The person in the desk said we could use the plug directly. We purchased the service and within about an hour of being in the room, I had not even started anything with the service, a technician came to the room and told me I could not connect directly. I gave hime the access code received from the desk when I ordered the service and then called the front desk to tell them to remove the charge to my room. They did so. This episode was disappointing, it took a little of the "glow" off a very nice place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2010

The room was exceptionally clean and spacious. The staff was helpful with recommendations for restaurants, souvenirs representing Catania and walking tours of the city. When I required an additional night stay and the Il Principe Hotel had no rooms available, they located an equally fine hotel nearby at a very reasonable rate. Excellent service!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkingTraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2009

I was very impressed with Il Principe - the location could hardly be more central, the rooms were huge and very modern & tastefully decorated, quiet, and spotlessly clean. Rooms on the top floor have ceiling windows, which is a very nice touch.

Breakfast was delicious - they immediately offered to serve espresso/cappuccino/what you like so you're not limited to the usual watery "breakfast coffee".

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfcoast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2009

I was very pleasantly surprised, Il Principe is a wonderful small hotel with great service. The spotless, modern rooms were large and bright. I could not recommend it more highly.

  • Liked — The building underwent a beautiful renovation that turned it into a boutique hotel with modern amenities.
  • Disliked — No complaints, none.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank whodwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Hotel Romano House
Hotel Romano House
#11 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Centro Catania
Katane Palace Hotel
Katane Palace Hotel
#12 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Principe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Principe Hotel

Property: Il Principe Hotel
Address: Via Alessi 20-26 | Centro Storico, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Catania
#4 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#5 Family Hotel in Catania
#9 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Principe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Principe Hotel is surrounded by baroque architecture in Catania's historic centre. Located on the Alessi Steps between Via Etnea and Via Crociferi, it offers free Wi-Fi. The rooms at Il Principe Hotel Catania all have parquet floors and elegant furnishings. Each room includes satellite TV and a private bathroom. A continental buffet breakfast is served daily in the dining room. Guests can also relax in the hotel's American piano bar. Il Principe Hotel lies 1.5 Km from Catania Centrale Train Station. The airport is a 12-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Principe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Principe Catania
Hotel Il Principe
Il Principe Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing