We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Performance on Cost, Parking in front of Hotel”
Review of Il Principe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Principe Hotel
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my wife for two nights. The location was in the center of the city and very convenient. The room was clean and enough space for two of us. The Sicilian receptionist was friendly and supportive, and let us know the recommendable fish restaurants. The parking space was just in front of the hotel, and it was very convenient. The room rate was 120 EUR per night, which was reasonable in the peak season. This hotel is recommendable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YacchanAmarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipeHotel, Direttore at Il Principe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for spending your time to share your experience with the other travellers.
We are happy to read about your satisfaction for our services and for the central position of the hotel.
We suggest to book in advance to find the better offers.
The hotel web site is the best way to find the best conditions for your stay.
Hoping to see you soon again

Best regards

Marco De Pinto
hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,057)
There are newer reviews for Il Principe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

All the ingredients were there, but they didn't seem to hang together as well as they could. The hotel is hidden away in the cathedral area, but is quiet,which is a plus. Our twin room was adequate and the bathroom good (except that the wash basin lacked a plug - a bit third-world,that!).

WiFi was slow and lacked useful bandwidth, also complicated to get it working and only one device could be registered. Needed logging-in at every switch on, which became a bit tiresome.

Reception staff were pleasant and helpful, but the breakfast staff seemed disinterested - breakfast was adequate but the cooked food disgusting, simply been out too long and not refreshed. Italians don't go in for large breakfasts and some times forget that we Northern European types like something better than stodgy scrambled egg and semi-cooked bacon!

Location is good for the centre, the bus stop for the airport is 5 minutes away. The hotel does advertise an arranged transfer to the airport, but that turned out to be a taxi at €25 - the bus is €1!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Peter M Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipeHotel, Direttore at Il Principe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your experience at Il Principe Hotel with the other travellers.
We appreciated your words about the hotel location and the reception staff.
We strive to give our Guest the best service and, for this reason, we are very sad to read about your disappointment.
First of all, we apologize for all the inconvenients inside your room.
For the plug in the wash basin, there was certainly an oversight; sorry!
The free internet connection is available all over the hotel, but sometime the signal is a little slow due to the provider network. In this case, it is possible to connect your laptop to the LAN socket, available in each room and, if you haven't a laptop, you can ask at the reception to use one of our laptops available for the hotel Guests and totally free.
Usually our breakfast staff is very helpful and smiling, never disinterested...we apologize for the negative mood showed to you and also for having not met your liking with our cooked food...we strive to improve our abilities also through your suggestions.
Finally the transfer from the hotel to the airport is made by authorized drivers with limousine service. They speak English and they give to our Guests the best service at a very competitive price...otherwise you can choose for the bus at the cost of 1 €...but that's another story!

We hope you'll come back to visit us again

Best regards

Marco De Pinto
hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

After a recent stay at il Principe, I received an email from Mr Marco De Pinto, Direttore of the hotel, advising that my wallet had been found in our hotel room.

Mr De Pinto was terrific - he made all the arrangements for the reimbursement of cash and the return of the wallet, including credit cards and driving license. And there turned out to be quite a bit of arrangement and effort involved.

His courteous and professional actions were really impressive and very much appreciated.

This hotel is in a great location and based on the exceptional service and integrity of Mr De Pinto and his staff, I would happily make a return visit.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipeHotel, Direttore at Il Principe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Barbara,
thank you for sharing your experience with the other travellers.
Our first goal is the satisfaction of our Guests, so for us is normal to inform them if they forget something in the hotel.
The difficulty, in your case, was that for Australia, the shipping policies are very restrictive.
But we are happy that you received back all your documents and your wallet.
We hope you'll come back soon to visit us again.

Best regards

Marco De Pinto
hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in August 2011 for our honeymoon and fell in love with Catania so we decided to go back July 2014. We stayed with Il Principe on both occasions and can honestly say they were exceptional! The hotel is situated in the city centre and is walking distance from the main shopping street (Via Etnea) and an array of sites. Both times our room was on the third floor and we had no issues with noise from the street or hotel (I know in some reviews people complained about the noise from the cocktail bar and restaurant, we did not have this issue and our room was around the corner from the front steps.) The beds are comfy and the rooms very modern. We were very impressed with the condition of our rooms, the cleaning staff do a fantastic job.

The new extension is beautiful, the time taken to decorate the hall and breakfast room with plants and art pieces is just gorgeous. There was a lot of choice at breakfast too! Lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, boiled/scrambled eggs, cooked meat, 2 types of cereal, tea/coffee and countless varieties of pastries. Yum! We found the staff to be lovely. A special mention to Pierpaolo who was extremely courteous, friendly and very helpful. Luigi and Stage were also a pleasure to speak to and just as friendly. We found these three staff in particular to be very warm with a constant smile. The solarium was open during our stay and has lovely views over the city.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will happily return to Catania and stay with Il Principe again!

Room Tip: On both occasions we stayed on the third floor and had no issues with noise.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank StephieCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipeHotel, Direttore at Il Principe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Stephie,
thank you for choosing us for the second time, after your first stay during your honeymoon.
We are delighted to read about your satisfaction for all our services, for the fantastic hotel location and for our excellent Staff.
We everyday strive to give our Guests an unforgettable stay and your words are our best reward.
We hope to see you soon again

Warm regards

Marco De Pinto
hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel was truly one of the most beautiful I'd ever stayed in! Staff are very warm and friendly, and location-wise it is great. Our 4th-floor room was spectacular!! Would love to come again some other time :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipeHotel, Direttore at Il Principe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear Rebecca,
thank you for your wonderful review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our rooms are all very confortable and fully equiped with parquet floor, decorated ceiling, individual clima, free Sky TV, free internet connection, minibar, Iacuzzi bathtube, hair dryer...and, the ones at the 4th floor, have also two elegant ambients that allow our Guests to spend their stay in total comfort and relax.
We hope to see you soon again

Best regards

Marco De Pinto
hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Beautiful hotel - lots of toiletries in the rooms - big beds - all clean and tastefully decorated - breakfast was lovely and they were happy to make us eggs how we liked them too! Everything was perfect except Marta the receptionist who was very abrupt and sarcastically smiling - one one occasion even laughed at my pronounciation in italian and i'd heard her on many occasions talking about customers behind their backs at the hotel - she and the Bar man - who thinks he's James Bond - serve with a smile I THINK NOT!!!

I must give my praise to Antonio and Pierpaolo, If the management had a team full of people like them then this hotel would indeed get 5 stars - customer service is so important and something we always remember! These two guys got it right and were so helpful and an asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BEEJAL1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipeHotel, Direttore at Il Principe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Beejal,
thank you for spending your time to share with the other travellers your experience at Il Principe Hotel.
We appreciated your words about the hotel, the breakfast and the praise for Antonio and Pierpaolo, that are, as all the team, always helpful and smiling.
We are really surprised for your opinion about Marta and the Barman.
I asked an explanation and I really think that you had misunderstood the conversation between them. However we apologize for the inconvenience.
We hope you'll come back soon and that you could clarify this misunderstanding with Marta.
Best regards

Marco De Pinto
direttore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night as a stop over before heading for the south coast. The hotel is in a great location in the centre and in walking distance to most places. The room was very well presented, clean modern looked as if it had been recently redecorated. The beds were comfortable for a good nights sleep. The breakfast was good with a good selection to choose from. Because of the narrow street the hotel is situated in, it's not easy to find a place to park a car. We ended up leaving the car with the hotel and they will park it at €15 a day for you. I would recommend this hotel. It is clean, friendly and good value for money

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank wi45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipeHotel, Direttore at Il Principe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind review.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your satisfaction is our first goal.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Best regards

Marco De Pinto
hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,740 reviews
Hotel Royal
#14 of 49 in Catania
543 reviews
Manganelli Palace Hotel
#16 of 49 in Catania
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 49 in Catania
781 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Romano House
Hotel Romano House
#11 of 49 in Catania
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Principe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Principe Hotel

Address: Via Alessi 20-26 | Centro Storico, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Catania
#4 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#5 Family Hotel in Catania
#9 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range: $110 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Principe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Principe Hotel is surrounded by baroque architecture in Catania's historic centre. Located on the Alessi Steps between Via Etnea and Via Crociferi, it offers free Wi-Fi. The rooms at Il Principe Hotel Catania all have parquet floors and elegant furnishings. Each room includes satellite TV and a private bathroom. A continental buffet breakfast is served daily in the dining room. Guests can also relax in the hotel's American piano bar. Il Principe Hotel lies 1.5 Km from Catania Centrale Train Station. The airport is a 12-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Il Principe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Principe Catania
Hotel Il Principe
Il Principe Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing