We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all-around”
Review of Il Principe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Principe Hotel
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great location, staff very helpful with making dinner reservations, ordering taxis, etc. Rooms very clean and modern. Breakfast buffet is large and more up-scale than most. Air conditioning works well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChiT0wnF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

We checked into this hotel on May 23rd and stayed for three nights. We were first given a room that had skylights that didn't open and an AC that didn't work. Because of those issues we were moved to the newer, more modern side of the hotel, which we were extremely happy with. The staff were courteous and helpful. We enjoyed our stay at Il Principe and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for the the newer, modern rooms on the opposite side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dina808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed here for two nights as part of an organised tour. As others have said the hotel straddles a pedestrian staircase and a road. Some outside noise is expected despite the heavy double glazing and the internal shutters. Noise in our third floor room was not an issue however we faced the road not the stairs. The room was modern clean and airy. Room safe and TV worked and the bathroom itself was well equipped and again very clean. Bed was comfortable and the room fridge was large enough to stow our own purchases.
Breakfast was good with choices of meat and cheese and lots of patisseries. Ask for cappuccino from the wait staff not from the machine.
From here you can walk almost anywhere in the city centre and we felt safe walking around latish at night. There are lots of restaurants close by some cheap and cheerful others more expensive.
Without doubt if returning to Catania we would stay here again although would request a quiet room .

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevanEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This hotel is tucked away in the older part of town. Good for town visits to all the local attractions but coach tour passengers must have their bags taken by van and walk from the coach park. Lots of restaurants around the hotel, a buzzing noisy area, but lively. The hotel covers two sides of the street so lots of stairways and passages. The room was surprisingly modern which was good with a nice bathroom. Unfortunately there were no instructions or information about the phone or the TV or any amenities in the room and an additional requested pillow was ignored. Staff helpful and luggage stored and locked away. Small lounge to sit in but also a bar. Breakfast was fine with the best cappucino coffee from a machine. Not brilliant when crowded but a later arrival at breakfast was more leisurely. There is a roof top terrace which could not be accessed when we visited.

Room Tip: Some rooms noisier than others. However, there were shutters in the room which blocked out noise an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank takemoretrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Having read some of the reviews we did wonder if we stayed at the same hotel!
We stayed two nights,including May Day,yes there was music from the Main Square but street noise was no more than any city. The staff we contacted all spoke English and were helpful. We do agree the breakfasts need less cakes and more fresh fruit..

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Well situated in central Catania , rooms nice and a good size , breakfast good. staff helpful in organising outings used Etna tribe for the excellent tour. Most sights in catania can be walked to good to use as a base for travelling to other sights

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank Alastair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel would be fine for a day or perhaps two, particularly if you were in the area on business. It is in a very noisy area with bars close by with loud arguments outside the hotel well into the night. Most as the staff are so unwelcoming and unwilling to speak\understand English. The bar and lounge is not big enough with only a few seats, a barman who disappeared and who, when you rang the bell, would appear very disgruntled. We stayed for 4 nights which was too long. The breakfast included only apples, bananas, pears all under ripe, with no bowls of prepared fruit to eat. We had serious doubts whether there was actually a kitchen. The old town is interesting but could be covered in a day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheilascottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,821 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 49 in Catania
820 reviews
Hotel Royal
#13 of 49 in Catania
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Hotel Romano House
Hotel Romano House
#12 of 49 in Catania
653 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
576 reviews
Plaza Hotel Catania
#5 of 49 in Catania
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Principe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Principe Hotel

Address: Via Alessi 20-26 | Centro Storico, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Catania
#4 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#4 Family Hotel in Catania
#12 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range: $94 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Principe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Principe Hotel is surrounded by baroque architecture in Catania's historic centre. Located on the Alessi Steps between Via Etnea and Via Crociferi, it offers free Wi-Fi. The rooms at Il Principe Hotel Catania all have parquet floors and elegant furnishings. Each room includes satellite TV and a private bathroom. A continental buffet breakfast is served daily in the dining room. Guests can also relax in the hotel's American piano bar. Il Principe Hotel lies 1.5 Km from Catania Centrale Train Station. The airport is a 12-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Il Principe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Principe Catania
Hotel Il Principe
Il Principe Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing