We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Il Principe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Principe Hotel
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We spent two nights here at the start of our visit to Sicily and liked it so much that we came back for another night at the end. The hotel is smart and stylish and our executive rooms were spacious and comfortable, breakfast is good too. The central location is really important for a short stay and we really enjoyed seeing Catania. The staff at Il Principe are friendly and efficient - special thanks to Marta.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmtYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,094)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

After 3 weeks in Sicily and hotels of various qualities this was a great way to end the Sicilian adventure. Il Principe Hotel is in a very central location and I was delighted with my room. It was quiet, which is a luxury in Sicily, yet was only minutes to the centre of the action. The staff were delightful and very helpful with directions and advice. Breakfast was good with enough variety for most tastes. My room was immaculate with everything I could need. I loved this hotel and would not hesitant to recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maksmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed in this hotel as part of a tour of Sicily. When I arrived in the bar, prior to a tour briefing, no staff were on duty. When a barman arrived, he then had to open the till, get change and restock some of the drinks needed for the evening. Subsequently, the service was slow. It was as if customers were not expected. Upon paying the local tax on the evening prior to departure, my electronic room key was cancelled and I had to make a further trip to reception to re-activate it.
However, the rooms were comfortable and well equipped and the buffet breakfast was fresh and tasty.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I thought it was a very nice hotel, nice room, nice bathroom, quiet. It felt like a quality business hotel but also nice for a tourist. The woman at the front desk gave us a map and showed us all the places that we might want to see. We had only an overnight there with an early morning flight, way before breakfast --- so I can't comment on that. The hotel arranged our pre-dawn ride to the airport and that all worked well. The sights of downtown are only a couple blocks away and there are nearby restaurants as well. Enjoyed the very short stay there. Also, I thought the price was a good deal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerBobDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I booked this hotel for 5 nights because recommended in guide books and online. It didn't disappoint me at all. Excellent location 5 minutes from the Fontana dell'Elefante. Beautiful spacious room with marble bathroom, satellite TV including english and italian channels, wifi. The staff were always helpful and made me feel welcome.

The Lonely Planet guide to Southern Italy recommends this hotel but says that it is "on one of the liveliest nightlife streets in town (thank goodness for double glazing)". This was not my experience - there is one student bar with music in the street but it was audible only briefly once.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike40ugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

In a previous life the hotel was a palace of King Ferdinand II. It is located right in the historic centre of Catania, a UNESCO-listed World Heritage Site, a few blocks from Piazza del Duomo. You will find some good restaurants around. Our room was quiet and spotless, what we always look for when staying in old italian city centers. The breakfast was also excellent and the room rate very affordable. But most of all we found the staff very profesional and helpfull, exactly whatt an independent couple of travellers like my wife and I wish to find in a city like Catania. Thank you Marta for all your advise and support.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank segredod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a nice location, but our experience there was not ideal. Our room had a bedroom in an upstairs loft. Because stairs are difficult for me we requested the sofa bed be prepared for me to sleep in while my daughter took the bed in the loft. Then we went out to dinner. When we arrived back at the hotel we were told the sofa bed was broken and would not open into a bed. My daughter gave me a sheet and pillow from her bed so I could sleep on the unopened sofa. It was not very comfortable. We left instructions for a wake up call at 5:15 a.m. and a taxi at 5:45 a.m. to the airport for an early flight the next day. At 11:30 p.m. we were awakened by a phone call from the front desk saying someone had written down for the taxi to arrive before the wake up call. After that mistake was cleared up we were both wide awake and neither of us got much sleep, but it was fortunate that they did phone us. Unfortunately we had a 17 hour travel day the next day so obviously we do not have pleasant memories of our stay at II Principe Hotel. We left before the breakfast hour so I cannot write about that.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Priscilla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,821 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 49 in Catania
821 reviews
Hotel Royal
#13 of 49 in Catania
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Hotel Romano House
Hotel Romano House
#12 of 49 in Catania
653 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
576 reviews
Plaza Hotel Catania
#5 of 49 in Catania
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Principe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Principe Hotel

Address: Via Alessi 20-26 | Centro Storico, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Catania
#4 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#4 Family Hotel in Catania
#12 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range: $93 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Principe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Principe Hotel is surrounded by baroque architecture in Catania's historic centre. Located on the Alessi Steps between Via Etnea and Via Crociferi, it offers free Wi-Fi. The rooms at Il Principe Hotel Catania all have parquet floors and elegant furnishings. Each room includes satellite TV and a private bathroom. A continental buffet breakfast is served daily in the dining room. Guests can also relax in the hotel's American piano bar. Il Principe Hotel lies 1.5 Km from Catania Centrale Train Station. The airport is a 12-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Il Principe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Principe Catania
Hotel Il Principe
Il Principe Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing