We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Principe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Principe Hotel
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Aus
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Considering what we paid to stay here (79 euro per night for a quad!!) this hotel is a gem. The room that we had,was large and comfortable, the bathroom new and clean and we slept very well. Location wise it's perfect, as it's a few steps away from the Piazza and there are many restaurants in walking distance. You can not ask for a better hotel for the price we paid, we were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Albanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    339
    94
    33
    17
See reviews for
119
407
44
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
winchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Il Principe is in a great, buzzy central location and it has an agreeable, slightly individual feel as you arrive. The room was pretty good, even if the air con was a bit noisy. Unfortunately the service was sub-standard. Too many surly receptionists, including the one who was quite affronted when my wife requested an iron (not available). Breakfast was pathetic - no hot food, coffee from a machine, no semi-skimmed milk and pastries that weighed your stomach down all day. When we left they found us a taxi driver who then tried to rip us off. A pity, because this could be a super place to stay with better customer care.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peppergrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at the Il Principe Hotel last week for business. This is a prefect place to stay if you are on business. It is not too hard to find especially if you have a GPS but if you don't there are signs. The location is close to the centre of Catania and everything is within walking distance. The staff was professional and helpful. The rooms where nice and clean, the breakfast was perfect. Parking can be a challenge, suggest you have the staff park your car. I would recommend this hotel for your stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmarc10179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Luxury hotel just situated in the very centre of Catania easy accessable to everything. Besides being nearby to the Duomo, For Night life it is excellent, lots of bars, cafe's and pizzeria's.I highly recommend this hotel and even the staff they are very friendly and helpful and service is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were looking for a hotel to spend our last day/evening before flying home from our stay in Taormina and we made a great choice. It was close enough to see some great sights and visit the fish market for lunch. The hotel is nicely appointed and the staff welcoming and helpful. We would definitely been able to spend a few days there very happily.
PS the hotel is a quick 15 minute drive to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barb111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I flew into Catania and needed a place to crash for the night before exploring the rest of Sicily. They arranged for a taxi to pick me up at the airport and had no issues. Rooms were nice and the location was pretty convenient to the center of the city (5 min walk). The thing that really stood out is how helpful the front desk staff was. I was trying to plan a trip with a specific group on Mt. Etna and the receptionist was extremely helpful in trying to call and set that up for me. They were also great in helping me explore all of the train/bus options to my next city (Siracusa).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wdave37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed at Il Principe in October before and after a group cycling trip in Sicily. The hotel was very helpful as regards to the storage of 14 LARGE bike boxes during the two week cycling trip. At the conclusion of the trip, I had the misfortune to have my wallet stolen. The hotel staff were very helpful in regards to this, and allowed me to pay after I returned to the U.S.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, the breakfast is great, and the location convenient in relationship to the historical center of Catania. To the front desk staff - thanks for all your help!!

Room Tip: All rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#2 of 51 in Catania
4.5 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#1 of 51 in Catania
4.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#3 of 51 in Catania
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Hotel Romano House
Hotel Romano House
#5 of 51 in Catania
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#4 of 51 in Catania
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Principe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Principe Hotel

Property: Il Principe Hotel
Address: Via Alessi 20-26 | Centro Storico, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Catania
#4 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#5 Family Hotel in Catania
#6 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Principe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Principe Hotel is surrounded by baroque architecture in Catania's historic centre. Located on the Alessi Steps between Via Etnea and Via Crociferi, it offers free Wi-Fi. The rooms at Il Principe Hotel Catania all have parquet floors and elegant furnishings. Each room includes satellite TV and a private bathroom. A continental buffet breakfast is served daily in the dining room. Guests can also relax in the hotel's American piano bar. Il Principe Hotel lies 1.5 Km from Catania Centrale Train Station. The airport is a 12-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Il Principe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Principe Catania
Hotel Il Principe
Il Principe Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing