We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel, perfect stay”
Review of UNA Hotel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
UNA Hotel Palace
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel, perfect stay”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Thanks to the very friendly and helpful manager Rita Monfrini whom I contacted prior to our stay notifying her of my allergies and specific needs, we had the most perfect stay during our 4 nights in an executive room with balcony and amazing views of Mount Etna. Although our room was overlooking the main shopping street, we did not hear a sound thanks to the double glazing. The hotel is in a prime location which cannot be beaten and is within easy walking distance of the main square, cathedral and all other main attractions. There are bus stops only a few yards from the hotel and a Tabacchi a few doors down where you can buy bus tickets from the lovely lady which cost 1euro and are valid for 90 minutes. Remember to validate them at the start of your travel. There are lots of lovely cafes, gelaterias and shops along the main road and the mad main flea market which lies in the square behind the hotel is a definite ‘must experience ‘whilst in Catania.

The room was large with a seating area and extremely clean and comfortable which exceeded our expectations in this regard. The enormous bed was luxurious with a pillow menu to choose from. I have a neck problem so rarely sleep well but had absolutely no complaints during our stay. In fact I had some of the best nights sleep in a long while especially after a long hike up and down Mount Etna. The little almond cookies left on the pillows during turndown service is a lovely touch.

The buffet breakfast was plentiful with a wide selection of food to choose from. It wasn’t all cakes and pastries but there was a good selection of fruit, breads, cheeses, cereals, hot and cold drinks. We did not feel the need to pay for the traditional Sicilian breakfast on the roof terrace as the buffet breakfast was more than adequate for our needs but did go up to the terrace to take some photos and relax. The breakfast staff were very attentive and greeted everyone with smiles, even remembering who you were the following day. It did not feel like you were being rushed or watched over like in some hotels which can be off putting. Breakfast at the hotel was a lovely relaxing and luxurious experience.

Check in was quick and efficient and all members of staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. As for Rita- the brilliant Rita! She truly went out of her way to help her guests. We needed to know about the bus times to Mount Etna- no problem. We were having difficulty finding details for our coach to Agrigento –no problem. We needed to find a supermarket- no problem. I needed to try a different pillow for my neck –no problem. Rita is a real gem and it is her genuine warmth and interest in her guests as well as her kind heart and generosity that adds to the overall superb experience of staying at Hotel Una. Rita epitomises excellent customer care and there are plenty of front line hotel staff we have encountered during our travels who can learn from her. Thank you for all your help Rita and making our stay at Hotel Una special! Keep up the good work and keep smiling that wonderful smile of yours!

We would highly recommend this hotel to others and would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Definitely paying a bit extra for a room with balcony and views of Mt Etna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomadonthemoveagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    609
    108
    16
    9
See reviews for
294
682
61
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect!
Staff is very kind ane helpful! I liked the design of room - white with elements of sicilian style. Restaraunt on the roof is highly recommended to visit especially at breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ольга М
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent 5 nights at this hotel in August. We had booked a superior room but on arrival were given a complimentary upgrade to an executive room. The room was large, clean, comfortable and had a balcony from which we could see Etna - when it wasn't covered by clouds!! The hotel is on Catania's main street but nevertheless our room was very quiet. Breakfast was included in our booking and was very good - there was a wide selection of food and we couldn't really see the point in paying an extra 10euros per person to have breakfast on the roof terrace. Buses to several destinations stop near the hotel - we went to Acicastello which is very pretty. However, beware if you're planning to get the bus to the airport - we were told it ran every 20 minutes but after waiting half an hour we gave up and had to find a taxi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveR11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone who stays in Catania. It is located directly in the centre of the city. The rooms are spacious, light and quite. This hotel has the most amazing rooftop terrace with beautiful views over the city and Mount Etna in the background. Delicious tapas are being served on a complimentary basis with any drink you order while you watch the stunning sunset.
The members of staff are very helpful, friendly and seem to have an honest interest to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
I would definitely visited again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sephora321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Good location in central Catania. Appears new and the room was good. Nice restaurant view on top of hotel ... bar is great, the food in restaurant not that good and expensive for Catania. They have this ten euro special upstairs for breakfast... people complain about it but was good and will fix anything you want as opposed to the downstair breakfast. They were alright at front desk after we were there a couple days... not that friendly at check-in. The air conditioner worked but was almost impossible to regulate. On the best street... go left and it is old town and Roman ruins, go right and you eventually get to Mount Etna.... there is a McDonalds about two blocks as you come out hotel in square. And turn right a great ice cream place: Spinnezze [sp?]. Security on the street is a big concern... be careful. The hotel is sort of hidden between shops... but it is where I would stay if came again... we had a upscale room and not sure what the standards look like. I would say other than the coastal hotel it is the best in Catania. There is a Sheraton and Grand Verde on the coast but far from downtown...beware of the meter rip off on taxi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World-and-I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My parents stayed in this hotel during a 3 month trip around Italy. They loved the hotel, unfortunately now looking at bank statements there is an unapproved payment taken from a credit card they used. When we contacted the hotel they said to send an email which we did and they have not responded to. We also noticed they actually took the payment 2 days before they arrived. They had a lovely time, but looking at bank statements now, it is a common occurrence in this part of Italy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathAlba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Madame,
thank you for providing us further feedback for your parents lovely stay in our city centre hotel.
We are glad that they enjoyed a pleasant experience so that they consider our hotel an excellent one.

It is really important for us to provide a comfortable and memorable stay to our guests, who can rely on us and on our quality services. That is why, we take care of details and as soon as we received your kind request, our accounting dept. checked their room’s account history, finding neither double payment nor any irregularity in your parents agreed stay’s charge.

Anyway, we stay at you disposal for any additional info you may need and we look forward to hosting you too both here and in the other Italian design hotels of our chain, in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my sister and mum for her 60th birthday for 8 nights in August 2013. We had a memorable time here.

The location is great for shopping and eating out especially at night. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious.

For an additional fee of 10 euros you can have a delicious Sicilian breakfast at the roof terrace on 7th floor with a great view of Mount Etna. We were served by Rosella and Vanessa who were very friendly and helpful. I'd highly recommend the Aranicini Siciliani (rice balls) as the breakfast main course and strawberry granita as a dessert.

We were very impressed by the service delivered by the manager Rita Monfrini who we found very professional and competent as she always seemed willing to go the extra mile when we needed help whether it was about our accommodation, trips on places to visit, breakfast recommendation, sorting out our transport or helping us deal with international check-in.

Rita is 'the epitome of excellent customer service' that should be experienced in every hotel.

We loved the accommodation, location, breakfast, and the staff and I wouldn't hesitate to come back to Una Hotel Palace if I ever found myself in Catania again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Miss,
Heartfelt thanks for providing not only on our internal customer satisfaction system but also here on Tripadvisor your very positive feedback, appreciating our services’ quality and sharing it with the huge travellers community.

We are glad that you and your family, especially during your mother’s special occasion, spent some great and relaxing moments in our Italian design hotel, which like all the hotels of our chain, is characterized by the attention to our guests, the care of details and our "made in Italy" hospitality, offering an exclusive stay experience, based on efficiency and emotion.

All our team Rosella, Vanessa and me, we thank you very much for your compliments, which push us for a constant improvement and shows us that we are following the right path for our priority guests’ satisfaction so that you can feel at your ease and remember your guest-made stay as a memorable one.

With great pleasure, we are looking forward to hosting you here again as our kind guests and we hope you will have too the chance to experience the excellence of the other UNA Hotels and Resorts.

Warmest regards,

Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
762 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
530 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
532 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
NH Catania Centro
NH Catania Centro
#7 of 50 in Catania
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Palace

Property: UNA Hotel Palace
Address: Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Catania
#1 Business Hotel in Catania
#2 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#3 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious building dating back to the early 1900s, in the artistic and commercial heart of Catania, was already an historical luxury hotel. The restoration project has been carried out in the view of maintaining the Sicilian style and traditional cultural heritage. The hotel provides 94 rooms and 9 meeting rooms, fitness centre, Turkish bath, indoor parking, elegant banquet room, roof garden, panoramic terrace with restaurant and American bar. SERVICES: SKY FREE in all the rooms.Internet connection with Wireless system.Pillow Wow:a pillow for every need. All our pillows are made with natural, anti-allergic fibres,Neckroll Pillow, soft and relaxing, filled with wheat chaff Kapok pillow with a soft and elastic covering to fit perfectly around the neck of each guestFirm latex pillow for those who suffer from neck acheGoose-down pillow – extremely soft and naturalFree use of fitness roomTurkish bathLaundry and ironing serviceCovered pay car park6 large rooms equipped for guests with impaired mobility Voltage 220 V UNA RESTAURANTThe UNA Hotel Palace has two large restaurants serving Sicilian specialities and fresh fish as well as a wide selection of wines from our cellars to enjoy with your meal.The UNA Restaurant is situated on the first floor and, in keeping with the tradition of old city buildings, looks out onto an internal courtyard of lava stone. The ample size of the dining room, together with its minimalist décor, makes it the ideal for business lunches and private parties. It seats up to 120.The Roof Garden, an “à la carte” restaurant, is on the 7th floor. From here you can enjoy a unique and spectacular view of the roofs of the city as well as the outline of Mount Etna to the north and a glimpse of the sea to the south. It seats up to 30.A special menu is available with a selection of the chef’s specialities.Open every dayBreakfast: from 7.00 a.m. to 10.00 a.m.Lunch: from 12.30 a.m. to 2.30 a.m.Dinner: from 8.00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.UNA CAFÉThe UNA Palace Hotel has two delightful bars.The UNA Café next to the hall, is perfect for a coffee break or as a meeting point, especially in the colourful Mediterranean style Privè .The Roof Garden with a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops.ROOF GARDENThe Roof Garden on the 7th floor offers guests a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops. Here guests can enjoy our barman’s carefully prepared cocktails, or sip one of the drinks from our vast selection on the drink menu.There is also a wide selection of teas from all over the world and of delicious hot chocolates.From 7.30 p.m to 10.30 p.m. the bar provides the most fashionable Happy Hour in the city, with a rich buffet of appetizers to satisfy even the most refined taste.Open from 10.30 a.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your UNA Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Catania
UNA Hotel Palace Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing