We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel!”
Review of UNA Hotel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
UNA Hotel Palace
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Julian's, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very good hotel!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This has been our third stay in this hotel, I recommend it to everyone. It is very clean with lovely, comfortable and spacious rooms. The staff are very helpful always ready to help you with a smile. As I am coeliac the staff provided me with glutenfree goods during the buffet breakfast which consists of lots of goodies to star your day with. I was very well looked after. We are definitely going to return to this hotel whenever we come to Sicily!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephineAttard24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Madame,
with great pleasure we read your positive feedback and beautiful words about our hotel, where you can have a relaxing, comfy and why not also a "customized "stay, because we are close to our guests needs and we want you to live a real experience that enchants your senses and mainly your taste.

And indeed, you can find here in both our delicious buffet continental breakfast and even more in the special Sicilian one with menù à la carte, on the top roof terrace, a wide range of gluten free items, such as rools, croissants, zwiebacks, muesli and magdalenas with jam, added to the typical local sweet and savoury delights.

We thank you so much for recommending us to the other travellers as the best choice whenever you come in Sicily and we look forward to welcoming you again in the UNA world!

Warmest regards,
Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    609
    108
    16
    9
See reviews for
294
682
61
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very nice and comfortable hotel, but most of it is the kindness and responsiveness of the whole staff. Everybody was friendly and made everything posible to make you feel at home.
Location of the hotel and parking downstairs are perfect for visiting East of Sicily.
The room was clean and comfy, but we found the bed really too firm.
Service at the rooftop was fantastic, thanks to Mark (restaurant) and Cettina at the bar. Special mention to Rita and Chiara at reception desk for precious touristic advice.

Room Tip: Prefer a room at the back side if you want perfect quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berniko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Sir and Madame,
thank you very much for spending a little of your time in making such a nice review: here is the key-word of our Italian hospitality i.e. to feel at home and we add” far from home” providing high quality services.
Indeed, we mainly aim at making you feel at our ease in order to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible, thanks to our staff so attentive to all your needs. Then, my colleagues Marco, Cettina, Chiara and me, we are happy that you really appreciated our work and your approval is a powerful motivator and it encourages us to make it better and better.

We wait for next coming here and we hope you will have also the opportunity to visit the other hotels of our “made in Italy” chain.

Very best regards
Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relation,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel is well located, the staff are helpful, the rooms lovely and very clean. But the thing that lifts it out of the ordinary is its rooftop bar/lounge/restaurant on the 7th floor, looking out on Mt. Etna. We arrived in the late afternoon, and decided to go up during their advertised "happy hour" for a drink. What a happy decision on our part! For a surcharge of 1 euro per drink, you get all you care to eat of a wide assortment of tasty antipasto. We went up every evening for the rest of our stay. The only minor complaint I have is that the shower fixtures were difficult to figure out, and the very high-walled tub was slippery on the bottom -- I nearly fell getting in and out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathyinAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Madame,
thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to host you and we hope you will return soon.

We are glad that you liked your stay in our "made in Italy" hotel and that you really enjoyed our panoramic and amazing location, the Etnea Roof, where you can spend unforgettable moments experiencing with affordable prices high quality services, such as our happy hour or our delicious Sicilian breakfast.
Then, the typical taste of Sicily waits for you everyday in a breathtaking view to the historical core of Catania and the majestic volcano Etna.

Concerning the shower fixtures, they are modern components of our accessorized toilettes services as well as our bathtubs provided with grab bars are safe, but if necessary, our technicians are ready to show and explain their correct functioning in order to use them in absolute safety, because we take care of your needs and we really want to make you feel at your ease and why not "on the top".

Kindest regards,
Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a lovely holiday. The hotel was excellent and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. Perfectly located next to bus stops and all the major tourist sites.Would definitely return to stay here.

Room Tip: Some bathrooms overlook the indoor courtyard and despite frosted windows, privacy may be compromised...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadira520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Madame,
it is our pleasure to read that we were successful in making your holiday in Catania so lovely and your stay in our Italian design hotel amazing.

We aim at providing you both high quality services and making you feel at your ease !
All our staff is friendly ready to satisfy your needs and advice you to the best choice in order to make your experience as comfortable and pleasant as possible and why not being fascinated by both the baroque city center and the most beautiful tourist Sicilian goals.
Moreover, thank you too for your room advice and on this subject we want to underline that some internal windows instead of having curtains, they are made up of special glazed tempered-glass in accordance with the details of the sober Italian style in order to contribute to a brightness modern effect without compromising guests' privacy.

We look forward to having you here again and we hope too that you will also have the opportunity to visit the other UNA Hotels & Resorts,

Very best regards,
Rita Monfrini,
Quality and Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel has it all. Cleanliness, luxury, views, location, great customer service. My husband and I ended every night at the rooftop bar with a bottle of wine, the waitstaff was fantastic. The rooms were clean and bright. Beds are firm but comfortable. The staff was very friendly, fluent in english and went above and beyond to help. They offer pick up service from Catania airport which was well worth it for about 30 euro for 4 people. Great experience overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Did not see a pool and did not use the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kline1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Sir and Madame,
heartfelt thanks for writing such a wonderful review and for recommending our Italian design hotel as a fantastic experience to the other travellers.
We are really happy that you noticed our staff professionality and its fluency in English and not only.
We mainly aim at making you feel at home and we are always at your disposal to satisfy your needs, through our high quality and customer oriented services in order to make your stay comfortable, pleasant and why not unforgettable giving you precious moments as those ones spent in our Etnea Roof panoramic terrace with breathtaking view to the Etna .
That is why you went to our rooftop every night and enjoyed there our services, such as our bar and restaurant preferring them to the other ones in Catania.

Now you can also have there a typical Sicilian breakfast with a menù à la carte of local sweet and savoury delights: another good reason to choose this amazing and relaxing location, since the UNA starting morning with the typical taste of Sicily!

We look forward to welcomig you here in the near future as well as in the other hotels of our
" made in Italy" chain.

Best regards,
Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We came from the airport after a day of travelling, and our spirits lifted immediately on arriving in the hotel. The reception staff was great and helped with everything. We were given a lovely quiet room, but when we asked for a room with a balcony and street-plus-etna view that was no problem, and we were transfered immediately. The hotel is really great quality for the price, and the location is great for shopping and viewing the cathedral.
The roof top restaurant offers good food that looks stunning, and a nice terrace.
You can also eat breakfast on the roof top, at a surplus price, but we opted for the normal breakfast in the breakfast area and were very happy with the ample choice and service there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NetherlandsSabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Madame,
thank you very much for sharing with other travellers your " affordable luxory" experience in our Italian design hotel, that you have really liked for our made in Italy hospitality and above all for our high quality services, such as our delicious continental buffet breakfast, with its daily fresh products, that we offer in our elegant first floor breakfast room, as well as our panoramic Etnea Roof terrace, where you can have, in an amazing ambiance with breathtaking view to the Etna not only a tasty lunch, dinner or happy hour but you can also spend other precious and relaxing moments. There, indeed, you can experience since your starting day, only with a little supplement of 10.00€ per person, the typical taste of Sicily, with a delicious and special breakfast, made up of a menù à la carte of local sweet and savoury delights, from the Sicilian cannolo stuffed with fresh ricotta cheese and the so called arancino,fried rice ball with sauce meat or cuttlefish ink to various omelettes that are added to the tasty ones of the other breakfast. It is an exclusive customized service mainly appreciated by all those people, who have not "tasted" it so far.

We wish that during your next stay here you will be able to taste our Etnea Roof breakfast too!

Kindest regards,
Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Loved the hotel. We were given a wonderful room and there is a lovely rooftop terrace for food/drinks with a great view of Mt Etna. Central location on the main shopping street was handy and the main squares are very near. Tours for Etna depart from the hotel too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNAHotelPalace, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at UNA Hotel Palace, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Madame,
we really appreciate your "lovely" review about our made in Italy hotel that you loved for its central location in the historical core of Catania and our quality services provided, such as our panoramic Etnea Roof terrace .

We look forward to your future stays with us and encourage you to try out our Etnea Roof Breakfast with delicious Sicilian sweet and savoury delights, as both the quality and experience is of a very high standard and why not of high " taste" with rave feedbacks from countless guests.

Warmest regards from Sicily,

Rita Monfrini
Quality and Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
762 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
530 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
532 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
NH Catania Centro
NH Catania Centro
#7 of 50 in Catania
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Palace

Property: UNA Hotel Palace
Address: Via Etnea 218, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Catania
#1 Family Hotel in Catania
#2 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#3 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A prestigious building dating back to the early 1900s, in the artistic and commercial heart of Catania, was already an historical luxury hotel. The restoration project has been carried out in the view of maintaining the Sicilian style and traditional cultural heritage. The hotel provides 94 rooms and 9 meeting rooms, fitness centre, Turkish bath, indoor parking, elegant banquet room, roof garden, panoramic terrace with restaurant and American bar. SERVICES: SKY FREE in all the rooms.Internet connection with Wireless system.Pillow Wow:a pillow for every need. All our pillows are made with natural, anti-allergic fibres,Neckroll Pillow, soft and relaxing, filled with wheat chaff Kapok pillow with a soft and elastic covering to fit perfectly around the neck of each guestFirm latex pillow for those who suffer from neck acheGoose-down pillow – extremely soft and naturalFree use of fitness roomTurkish bathLaundry and ironing serviceCovered pay car park6 large rooms equipped for guests with impaired mobility Voltage 220 V UNA RESTAURANTThe UNA Hotel Palace has two large restaurants serving Sicilian specialities and fresh fish as well as a wide selection of wines from our cellars to enjoy with your meal.The UNA Restaurant is situated on the first floor and, in keeping with the tradition of old city buildings, looks out onto an internal courtyard of lava stone. The ample size of the dining room, together with its minimalist décor, makes it the ideal for business lunches and private parties. It seats up to 120.The Roof Garden, an “à la carte” restaurant, is on the 7th floor. From here you can enjoy a unique and spectacular view of the roofs of the city as well as the outline of Mount Etna to the north and a glimpse of the sea to the south. It seats up to 30.A special menu is available with a selection of the chef’s specialities.Open every dayBreakfast: from 7.00 a.m. to 10.00 a.m.Lunch: from 12.30 a.m. to 2.30 a.m.Dinner: from 8.00 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.UNA CAFÉThe UNA Palace Hotel has two delightful bars.The UNA Café next to the hall, is perfect for a coffee break or as a meeting point, especially in the colourful Mediterranean style Privè .The Roof Garden with a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops.ROOF GARDENThe Roof Garden on the 7th floor offers guests a unique view of Mount Etna and the city rooftops. Here guests can enjoy our barman’s carefully prepared cocktails, or sip one of the drinks from our vast selection on the drink menu.There is also a wide selection of teas from all over the world and of delicious hot chocolates.From 7.30 p.m to 10.30 p.m. the bar provides the most fashionable Happy Hour in the city, with a rich buffet of appetizers to satisfy even the most refined taste.Open from 10.30 a.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your UNA Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Catania
UNA Hotel Palace Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing