We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish market catania”

A' Piscaria Mercato del Pesce
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.91*
and up
Gastronomic Street Food Tour of Catania
Ranked #6 of 163 things to do in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fish market catania”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Unbelievable sights and fantastic atmosphere this is what a fish market is all about

Helpful?
3 Thank Pault45sb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    126
    18
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trento, Trentino-Alto Adige, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Un'esperienza sempre esaltante”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I have not lived in Catania for a while, but a visit to the Market "A Fera O' Luni" is still a joy for senses. Be prepared to have all your five sensed titillated in ways you have hardly experienced before.
Almost everything that can be sold, will be found for sale here.
Do not lose your temper and navigate through the thick crowd in search of clothes, fantastic, cheap fresh or cooked food, electronics or couterfeit items. Drinks are supplied at the local Kiosks. Not to miss either. Also, the olives and preserves stand are a delight for the senses.
Remember to leave valuables at home or the hotel, and to keep money in a well guarded pocket, just in case.
If you visit Eastern Sicily, do not miss this market.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Quisazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Walk the whole market and THEN buy.”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This market was a lot of fun, though less boisterous than the market at Palermo. On the other hand, fewer motorbikes and NO cars or trucks passed through this market, which I appreciated. I was especially pleased that the market is part of an area pedonale (pedestrian only zone), something that Palermo lacks completely, so far as we could tell.

When you go to the market, if you plan on buying anything, make sure to walk through the WHOLE market first and check the prices. Not that the prices are high. We bought five bunches of spinach for one euro, then found a vendor at the other end of the market selling spinach at 10 bunches for a euro.

Of course, I also enjoyed the market because it was another great opportunity to record. I collect these soundscapes and then put them up at my website. If you want to hear some of them, go to www.martianwalrus.com and have a listen. It's the next best thing to being there.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank martianwalrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“fantastic fun.”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

this is the place to get fruit and veg. park down one of the dead end streets. superb little indian/ ethnic shop near the big church overlooking the market for all your curry powder and spices. great little kiosk bars. best go early. fish stalls a bit gruesome !! bring your own bag, they are obsessed with giving them out, and you will end up with dozens of them. bangladeshi guys have lots of cool, cheap bits for computers. enjoy, we did !! HAGGLE if you want shoes from the somalies, they are very friendly and know the score. aim for half their first quote and go down from there. eg 80e (half that) start at 30- 25e .adam budd

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ajbkaraoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great market”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

wide range of goods available. Fresh food through to tourist souvineers.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A' Piscaria Mercato del Pesce also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Been to A' Piscaria Mercato del Pesce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing