We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Owner description: The house of the cloistered nuns of Saint Benedict was built from April 1334, then it was razed to the ground by the earthquake of 1693, which spared only five out of the sixty religious who used to inhabit it. The church and the monastery were rebuilt between 1708 and 1763, thanks to the work of, among others, the architect G.B. Vaccarini and the painter from Messina G. Tuccari. A large part of the gorgeous frescoes were covered at the end of XVIII century. Then they came back to light during the bombardaments of 1943, which severely damaged the building. The frescoes were restored thanks to the project of A. Dillon. In the church, in addition to the frescoes by Tuccari, it is possible to admire paintings by M. Desiderato and M. Rapisardi, and the wonderful altar in polychrome marble decorated with jasper and silver foils on which the Lamb of God dominates.