We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza that trumps the rest!!!”

Gisira Pizza and Drinks
Ranked #28 of 981 Restaurants in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Gisira pizza & drinks offers a wide choice of classic and specialty pizzas. An absolute novelty is the "pizza by the meter" so everyone can choose your selection of condiments. Our chef will be able to satisfy even the most demanding palates: typical first, second sought, imaginative salads, and delicious desserts. In the characteristic chopping boards will be served the best local meats and cheeses. You can reserve a table from Monday to Friday, and Sunday.
1 review
“Pizza that trumps the rest!!!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

One word..AMAZING!!! I have tasted a selection of pizza places in Catania and Gisira is by far the best. It offers the total package. Wether you are a visitor or local this is the BEST pizzeria experience in Sicily.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CubeAN86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    400
    110
    43
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Catania, Sicilia, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, great food, funny manager”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

As promised, here's your review, Carlo:

As an american student, finding a good pizzeria that trumps Pizza Hut or Dominos back in the States is an easy task in Catania. But Gisira goes above and beyond that.

Service is impeccable. Waiters are essentially on call so there is little to no waiting process for a water refill or an extra cocktail order. Carlo, the manager/owner is one of the friendliest, good-humored, smiley guys in the city. While the pizza's in the oven, he'll come over and strike up conversations -- in English! Don't mistake him for a simple manager either; he's studied to be a lawyer but decided his love for getting to know the locals and meeting students abroad transcends biblical policy books and institutional law.

When the food comes out, there's no mistake: Carlo's pizza's are the best, and your best bet would be to try the Volcano or the Gisira -- literally the two best pizzas I've ever had in my life. The only thing I can really criticize is the average quality of the cocktails, but if you're going to Gisira's, you're going there for pizza.

Go hard or go home.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank August D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply the best pizza I had in my 2 months in Italy!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Amazing pizza, outstanding service and gorgeous space. I had a wonderful night at Gisira and I would absolutely recommend it or go again if I have a chance. The owner is amazing and all the staff is friendly. I asked for his recommendation and I was absolutely delighted. Also, it is very affordable, you won't break the bank. Go go go don't even hesitate!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank s1m8n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best pizzas right in the city center”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I personally know the owners of this excellent "pizzeria" , however, my review won't be biased in any way.
This pizza place is one of the best in town!
Amazing pizza, Great service and extremely welcoming atmosphere!
Free wi-fi and best location for families as well as young people!
Highly recommended!:)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SalvoLiistro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Pizza and service”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We found the place on Tripadvisor and we decided to go because it was on our street. And after we entered we regretted we didn't go there earlier. We had Carlo (one of the owners) as our waiter. He was very patient for us to decide and helped us with suggestions. We tried the red beer and it was great! We like it there so much that we returned there for a second time to have a slice of the magnificent pizza made there. And the second time we went there even if the restaurant was fully booked Carlo made room for us because it was our last night in Catania. Ps try the white wine! It goes perfect with the pizza. My favorite pizza was the Vulcano, so if you like spicy, try this one.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiaUngureanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gisira Pizza and Drinks also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Been to Gisira Pizza and Drinks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing