We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entaround - the ONLY way to tour Etna!”

Etnaround - Etna tours, Trekking, Excursions
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Trekking, excursions, guided tours with taste of typical Sicilian products while discovering the highest European volcano: mount Etna.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Entaround - the ONLY way to tour Etna!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We booked the tour of Etna and its summit craters and had a fantastic day. Marco was very knowledgeable on Etna and the surrounding area, as well as, in the field of volcanology. He was able to answer all of our questions and show us particular parts on the volcano that would appeal to our interests.
Apart from being a tour guide, he was a great guy to spend the day with. Very accommodating to all our requirements, providing us with an excellent picnic, and attentive to the needs of our two year old daughter ensuring that we toured at a pace that she could keep up with. (He carried her back into the hotel from the super jeep while she was fast asleep, it was very sweet!!). We had a great tour and were discussing our next tour with Marco for 2014 as we headed back to the hotel.

If you only get one chance to visit Etna go with Etnaround, you will not be disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    0
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoogeveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We took the Etna South tour, and liked it very much. Our guide Marco, was friendly and enthousiasticly told us about the Etna, it's surroundings and even about Sicily in general. The tour itself is interesting, you learn and see a lot

Helpful?
Thank ElzeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“Etnaround - Cool experience”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We've spent 8 days in Sicilia. The highlight was of course mount Etna. We were lucky to have Marco as a guide. Very knowledgeable and funny. The day went by so quick....
Being picked up from the hotel in Giarre, headed to Etna..what a great experience. View is amazing, getting to see the craters, the 2 floors house buried under the ash....taste and of course buy pistachio cream..(my new addiction) ..lovely picnic ..and to finish of..the lava cave.
Glad I've done it
Grazie Marco

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sakuraflory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Amazing excursion to Mount Etna”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Once in a lifetime experience!!! We loved everything of our amazing day with our two guides (Marco & Marco) and their cool cars!!! They were both experienced climbers and knew so much about Etna, the vegetation and the interesting history behind this famous volcano! We enjoyed travelling to the Rifugio Sapienza where we had a chance to buy some very special Raspberry honey! We then proceeded up by cable car, the view was breathtaking! Walking up to one of the craters was amazing, there was smoke coming from it and the soil was hot! We learned that ladybirds love to nest in the lava rocks, and we saw that ice is preserved within the rock because this works as an insulator! Our Sicilian picnic was spectacular and to end the day our guides took us to see one of the tunnels created by the volcano! Unforgettable day!!! 100% recommended!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniela515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great day on Etna”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We found Marco and his business, Etnaround using Google from our hotel in Sicily. He responded quickly to our enquiry and we were easily booked in for a tour the next day.

Marco picked us up from our hotel in Catania exactly at the time he arranged with us. Four others were on the tour. His warm, friendly nature and good English made for a relaxed and informative tour.

After driving to the cable car and explaining the area surrounding Etna and recent lava flows he assisted in buying tickets for the cable car and bus. He then showed us around the area that was open to tourists. Marco had a good grasp of the science behind not just Etna but volcanoes in general. His explanations were informal and interesting.

On the return journey we stopped for lunch at a walkers' hut where he laid out our lunch of local style bread, cheeses, salami and preserved vegetables of various kinds. He also had local red wine for us. This was a really genuine taste of Sicily. Lunch alone was a memorable experience.

Last stop was Ox Valley and then back to our hotel at around 5 pm.

Strongly recommended, better than hoped for.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etnaround - Etna tours, Trekking, Excursions also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Been to Etnaround - Etna tours, Trekking, Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing