We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place to stay, to recommend for sure!”
other travelers have booked this property
The garden and the pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The garden and the pool
The garden and the pool The garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The garden and the pool
The garden and the pool
The garden
The garden
relaxing after a full day of excursion
The red room
The green room
The green bathroom
The kitchen
The kitchen
The entrance
Sicily in winter....
..a possible winter activity: beach
beautiful fisherman village
......another winter activity...
the most impressive presence..
summer in Sicily...
....not only crowded beaches...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Catania, Province of Catania, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Jordi C
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay, to recommend for sure!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a fantastic week in il pozzo e l’ulivo. Thanks, Alessandro and Zuzana !!

The house was located indeed in a very convenient location, in a quiet and very safe area in the uptown of the city of Catania, with private free parking space (that is very welcomed in the busy August). There is a bar with incredibly good & cheap pastries and a small supermarket at 1 min walking distance.

The kitchen and the rest of the house had all what we needed and everything was very clean and new. The 2 bedrooms were quite large, both with TV and AC. Perfect for travelling with children or for 2 couples. And the garden that Alessandro takes very much care is simply lovely: full of Catania atmosphere, with a little bit of aromatic herbs …

Alessandro and Zuzana were fabulous hosts. Well, more that that I would say :) . They live in the upper apartment and were always more than happy to spend some minutes with us giving really useful recommendations on best places to visit, real Sicilian restaurants frequented by locals to go or simply chat in the garden about Sicilian living style. We really appreciate their care and advice. If you travel with young children, trust his advice on how to visit the Etna!

For us, a family of 4 with 2 young daughters looking for a nice, spacious & relaxing place as a base camp to discover Catania, that week in Il pozzo e l’ulivo was one of the vacations we’ll remember for a long time and for sure we would recommend.

Another good point for Spanish people, Alessandro is fluid in Spanish!

Elsa, Sofi, Gema & Jordi

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Alessandro and Zuzana are great hosts
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Merlot200...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant Holiday”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Big apologies to Alexandro that it has taken so long to put on the review (work and son's wedding took over as soon as I returned from holiday).

We have never stayed in a holiday rental before but decided to do something different this year - and enjoy a relaxed holiday in Sicily. That was the best decision we have made as the holiday was first rate from first to last.

Firstly - Alexandro and Zuzana are absolutely first rate hosts. We had a late arrival so they met us at the airport and Alexandro came with us in our hire car to make sure we had a trouble free trip back to the house which set us off to a very good start.

The house is lovely - very old outside but modernised inside to a high degree of finish, particularly the bathrooms which are extremely good.

The garden was delightful and one of the reasons we booked. Alexandro has very nice chickens in the garden (not running around) and we could have fresh eggs whenever we wanted (I still miss the eggs - and the chickens).

The house is in a little village with local shops :
> A bakery for fresh bread ready twice a day
> A wine shop where you take in a bottle and it is filled (our favourite was Etna wine - 1.55 euro a litre!)
> We had a large pizza from the pizza take-away - cooked in a proper pizza oven and better than most I have had in restaurants in England. But just order a standard - we ordered large and it took 3 days to finish it all.
Lovely bakery with delicious pastries/cakes and ice cream + wonderful granita
> There was also a supermarket which was a short drive away (3 km) - we could have walked it but for heavy bags.

We loved exploring Sicily, we found the countryside and the people delightful. We don't speak Italian - most of Sicilians do not speak English but everyone is very good at doing their best to be helpful and friendly. We tagged along on a trip to Mount Etna and we were amazed at the scenery and flowers. Visit as much of the country as you can when you come. You may not want to drive in Catania - its a free for all. Outside the city is fine - there still do not seem to be any rules but not so busy :)

Alexandro made us very welcome and showed us the best Sicilian hospitality. They are probably two of the nicest people we have ever met and just want people to have a lovely time on holiday. They will help you plan your trips, give you tips or leave you alone - it is up to you.

I have recommended the house and the country to everyone I have spoken to since returning from holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden - but liked everything
Liked least: The pillows - they were ok but we like big fluffy pillow at home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Reviewed February 28, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Prague
Reviewed February 15, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ragusa
Reviewed January 16, 2013 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Auckland
Reviewed December 27, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing