We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (955)
Filter reviews
955 results
Traveler rating
662
248
35
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
662
248
35
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art nouveau beautiful hotel the ground floor quiet street high ceilings short walk small hotel restaurant recommendations an oasis pastries breakfast room is within easy walking distance quiet at night side street via etnea breakfast was excellent lovely room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 955 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2019 via mobile

We were warmly greeted by Silvio and Silvia and from that moment we were able to relax.
The hotel is beautiful, quiet, close to restaurants, metro and main attractions. There's a vine covered courtyard to enjoy and the breakfast room is tastefully decorated.
Breakfast is abundant with quality local produce.
Nothing is too much trouble.
We really enjoyed our welcome fruit platter and the excellent service!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 399lolam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019

The staff were extremely helpful, the breakfast was very good, the rooms were comfortable. The location was a convenient walk to the main streets of Catania. There were 4 couples traveling together and all 4 couples agreed the hotel and its staff were excellent.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ljm465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019

The best thing about this hotel is the very accommodating and hard-working front desk team. Manager Silvio and front desk assistants Silvia and Valentina were so helpful with information, restaurant suggestions, how to get around, calling taxis, checking costs of transport, train/bus schedules, etc. They provide excellent service and are knowledgeable about when shops are open in what area, etc. They made excellent restaurant suggestions and the best one is a 5 mins walk from the hotel, Le Terrazze del Barone. The antipasti spread is excellent, priced at 6 euros a plate. We ate there several times for lunch and dinner.

The hotel has a good variety at breakfast. Cereals, breads, cakes, yogurt, fruit. The highlight for me being the big bowl of pistachios from Bronte that is always full for you to help yourself. There aren't too many places in the world where you will see a big bowl of pistachios for you to take as much as you like.

One disappointment was the very small TVs in the rooms. We had a suite so there was 1 in the bedroom and 1 in the living room. TVs in hotels in Italy are generally small, but this was probably smaller than my iMac screen. Also a very poor selection of English-language channels given that there are so many Americans/English-speaking guests at the hotel. CNN International (programming mostly focused on Africa, and the same shows being repeated over and over) and the BBC which didn't always work (not that that was much of a loss). A business channel or 2 in English would be useful.

As you will see from the photos, the hotel is decorated in Liberty style. It is not over the top and the light fixtures in particular are very pleasant, as well as the beautiful cove ceiling in our bedroom. Lovely mosaic work in the bathroom. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. Thank you to Silvio and team.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JenniferJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

What a delightful place. From the warm welcome given by the receptionist onwards this was a wonderful stay. A liberty styled hotel (liberty is the Italian for what we call art nouveau) could easily be a bit kitsch, but this has been done really well. Things co-ordinate (e.g. bedspread and curtains) and items around the hotel and room seem of a very good quality. The location is nothing to write home about, but that aside I couldn't fault this place if I tried!

Room tip: We splashed out on a suite and it was well worth it!
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peterf843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2019

The hotel is nice, some rooms very nice others need updating, especially the bathrooms.
Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the breakfast is disappointing, served in a very crowded and dark room in the basement with limited choices and only one person to serve and prepare the food which results in a long wait for poor food and drinks.

Room tip: Inside rooms are quieter, in any case, no views
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MA3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews