We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Liberty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Liberty Hotel
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An absolute gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

I have had a look at the other reviews and they pretty much sum up all the points I would make. This hotel has so much charm and is a tranquil oasis in what is a busy and bustling city. As others have said it is close to the centre so there are lots of dining options within easy walking distance. Breakfast was good and the staff were really friendly and helpful so I am struggling to see any downsides, the hotel even gave us a complimentary bottle of wine since it was my birthday! The only observation I would say is that much of Catania is quite gritty i.e. buildings with grafitti etc, but has grand buildings in the centre, everywhere seemed safe but if your travelling by car parking on the street may be a problem since spaces were few and far between so it is probably better to use the paid parking just down the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    198
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
71
428
58
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

I was staying here with a large group (for the size of this hotel), for six nights and a spur of the moment reservation. The staff at Liberty made it happen, and check-in was quick and simple. Throughout our stay they were extremely helpful with any sort of tips, directions, or questions that we asked. The hotel and rooms are wonderful in themselves but I would stay here again just because of the friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TreyFlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

A well located hotel close to many restaurants and shops. Paid for parking just along the road, paid for through the hotel - not cheap, but very important in such a car dominated city. We were greeted by the lovely Valentina, huge smile and extremely helpful. We had booked a junior suite, but were given a free upgrade to a full suite - and very nice it was too. The decoration within the hotel is art deco and it has been very tastefully done. Our suite was on two floors, with the sitting room on the lower floor linked to the to the bedroom and bathroom above by an internal staircase. The sofa in the sitting room was very comfortable and there was access to a large balcony from this room. Bed was king sized and the bathroom was tastefully decorated, completely in intricate mosaic tiles.

Breakfast was a buffet style, with cold cuts, pastries, fruit cake and bread to make your own toast. If you wanted a cooked breakfast this was available at a very reasonable extra cost. The cappuccinos were excellent and served by smiling polite waiting staff. We went to a restaurant recommended by Valentina on our first night, and unsurprisingly it was fantastic value for money with great Sicilian food and wine. Overall I agree with other TA reviewers and recommend this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKtraveller5_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is a fabulous hotel located in the heart of Catania. It was easy to get to since there are signs all over Catania listing various hotels. We really appreciated those signs since we were driving and there are so many one way streets. Staff were wonderful and constantly were asking if we were satisfied and was everything ok. It was close to downtown and we were able to walk to restaurants, bars and attractions. They were very helpful concerning driving directions to Mt. Etna, Syracuse and Taormina. They went out of their way to make sure you could get out of town.

Room Tip: Book a room on the first or second floor. The zero floor is too close to the sidewalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, Usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

My recent stay at the Liberty Hotel was exceptional. Every staff member I encountered was friendly, professional, helpful, courteous, and spoke English very well. I'd never been to Sicily before, and they had many suggestions for tourism, dining, shopping, etc. The room was very comfortable, very clean, and the location was perfect for my needs. I would recommend this property without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 820_PaulaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

A lovely hotel with old-world charm and still with all amenities, and with a perfect location in Ortygia. Elegant and confortable room, lavish breakfast. Very helpful receptionist, who gave us perfect advice. Worth the price. Choose a room with a sea view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Zachár Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

On the edge of Catania, a short walk from the downtown area (which can get pretty chaotic) is the Liberty Hotel. The decor is 19th century, charming but with all modern conveniences. Staff are excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asrichas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Il Principe Hotel
#13 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Romano House
Hotel Romano House
#11 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hotel

Property: Liberty Hotel
Address: Via San Vito 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#2 Business Hotel in Catania
#2 Family Hotel in Catania
#2 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Liberty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel provides for 7 suites, 9 doubles and 2 singles, all of the romms are characterized by a unique "name", that, evokes the feeling they inspire.Different decors, precious stylish art-deco pieces and prestiogious draperies, remind to the original Liberty drawings made by Hoffmann in 1911.The bathrooms, with precious marble mosaics, and a game of mirrors, are fully equipped. All of the rooms are fully furnished, with independent air-conditioning control, electronic safty box, two telephones, Digital TV (some foreign channels), minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing