We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in Catania”
Review of Liberty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Liberty Hotel
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 789 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile


We booked this hotel 6 months in advanced. Got a package ..flight and hotel with Expedia. I checked reviews among TA community and it was mixed. As described, its quite a walk up hill from the bus stop to the hotel with a heavy luggage. However, when we found the hotel, we got all excited. The reception desk was very friendly, took our luggage to our room! (You don't see that hospitality anymore.)..then when we got into our room....wow! It's really awesome, with really tall ceiling and baroque style. Hotel is 4 star but has 5 star amenities. Breakfast is good, the hotel manager and all the staff were attentive and helpful.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The decor is elegant and the rooms are large and very well maintained. The staff is extremely helpfull, professional and courteous.There is no languague problem the staff is fluent in english. Our stay of 7 days was very comfortable

Room Tip: If you can arrange a room with a balcony it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I booked the hotel based on the positive Trip Advisor reviews, and wasn't disappointed - in fact it exceeded my expectations! The area wasn't that 'run down' at all, and an easy few minutes walk into the centre of Catania. We had a very warm welcome when arriving, including drawing sights of interest and restaurants on a map. We found that the attitude and friendliness of all the staff was really excellent, and went a long way to making our stay so special. The hotel itself is beautiful, with Art Deco style and antiques, and our room was large and very quiet, with excellent air conditioning. We found the breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice in cold meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurts and pastry - and the coffee was excellent! I would certainly stay here again, and have no problem recommending the Liberty Hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Affafine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were in Catania for one night in order to catch our flight early the next morning. The hotel is
perfectly located for walking to the center of town to see the sights.
The Liberty is a beautiful hotel with old world elegance and modern conveniences. People working there are most helpful. We needed to leave the hotel an hour before they begin to serve breakfast. They were so kind to set up a beautiful small table, fine linen and all, in the gorgeous lobby so we could have something to eat befor our flight. So thoughtful. If you are in Catania
this is the very best place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swechs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed two nights at Liberty and was very pleased by the friendly and helpful service. The location is great but seems a bit odd at your firts glance. The street is pretty rough but I felt completely safe and the old town and Dome Square is a pleasant 10 minutes walk away. The rooms are big and comfortable. Still a bit overpriced considering the average pricelevel on Sicily.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunnar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The rooms at Hotel Liberty are large and well laid out. It is easy to walk to nice restaurants and good shopping. And the staff and service we received was excellent. It was no trouble for them to arrange a small breakfast for us at 04:20, and the taxi was there on time to get us to the airport for an early flight. All of our requests were handled cheerfully and professionally.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmZ3967UD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,764 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
562 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 49 in Catania
561 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
NH Catania Centro
NH Catania Centro
#10 of 49 in Catania
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hotel

Address: Via San Vito 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#2 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#2 Business Hotel in Catania
#2 Family Hotel in Catania
Price Range: $120 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Liberty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel provides for 7 suites, 9 doubles and 2 singles, all of the romms are characterized by a unique "name", that, evokes the feeling they inspire.Different decors, precious stylish art-deco pieces and prestiogious draperies, remind to the original Liberty drawings made by Hoffmann in 1911.The bathrooms, with precious marble mosaics, and a game of mirrors, are fully equipped. All of the rooms are fully furnished, with independent air-conditioning control, electronic safty box, two telephones, Digital TV (some foreign channels), minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing