We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liberty Hotel a Gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liberty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Liberty Hotel
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Liberty Hotel a Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was a beautifully and traditionally furnished hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful from start to finish -- arranging parking of our rental car, providing a street map, suggesting walkable sights to see, recommending restaurants and mapping us the way to the airport. It made Catania worth a stop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusanBPhiladelphbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    195
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
70
427
58
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lanzarote, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

My experience at Liberty was excellent. The hotel is very elegant, with art nouveau style .
My room, a suite, was large and embellished with marble and fine fabrics. The sitting area and desk were comfortable, even if a little small.
The reading room hotel is elegant and inviting. The breakfast is good and is served very early in the morning , for people who want to get out early.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for only one night at the end of August. The weather was HOT to say the least. We were so pleasantly surprised by this beautiful little hotel. The AC was so welcome! The lobby is beautiful, as are the suites. The staff is professional and friendly. The location was so convenient to city center and the Elephant statue, Duomo, etc... Really close to outdoor cafes - and restaurants. The breakfast was wonderful - really wished we had more time to enjoy the hotel and Catania. After reading reviews before the trip, I was a bit intimidated about walking around the city, but was pleasantly surprised. The only bummer was I left a recently purchased lava bracelet at the hotel - not sure if I am able to get that back, though I did send an email to the hotel. So if you are in Catania, give this hotel some thought. We were sorry to only have one night there.

Room Tip: We got a suite - was nice to have extra room for luggage. Enjoy their breakfast - I loved the almon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MADforTravelItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Spent a night in one of the suites here as a stopover during a trip from Taormina/Mazzaro back to home in the US. The suite was spectacular - among the nicest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. Vaulted ceilings, interesting artwork and furniture, spacious, nice treed balcony. service was great also - a bottle of wine waiting in the room, coffee and baked goods gratis while we were waiting for room (we were able to check in at 11 AM), attentive staff. Classical and romantic boutique hotel. On a practical note, only about 5k from airport so convenient as well. On the other hand, not much to say for Catania - city fairly dirty with little to do there - even on a Saturday with good weather, we walked around the piazza and fish market and saw everything there is to see within an hour or two. Mostly a residential city. So - if you have to be in Catania, this is a great hotel. If you don't, plan your stopover elsewhere.

Room Tip: Suites (we stayed in 203 'Estasi') spectacular and worth the modest upgrade cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples Fl.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were so surprised upon walking into this lovely boutique hotel. It was so beautifully decorated and clean. We walked into the square where everything is happening from the hotel with no problem. Lots of shopping and don't miss the daily fish market, it's something to see. We loved staying in this hotel. Stayed August 27 2012.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannem543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in August 2012 (after looking at TA reports). The hotel is a "boutique" type hotel, not right in the centre of Catiania, but within a short walk, in a fairly residential neighbourhood.

On our arrival we were greeted by the very friendly Francesca, and were given an upgrade to a suite-style room. It had a bedroom, then a corridor connecting to a sitting room, along which was a bathroom. Both rooms had a balcony - I would not say the view from the balcony was particularly stunning, but it was very nice to have some outside space and to be able to have the door open while relaxing in the room. The room was pretty big and came with the usual amenities you would expect, including a safe.

The room was decorated in what I would describe as a "grand" style - chandeliers, thick, drape-style curtains, and rich decor. I loved it but if you are a minimalist and into sharp edges, be prepared to be disappointed. The grand decor suits the place perfectly though.

Francesca deserves a special mention, as she was probably the friendliest hotel employee I have ever encountered. Nothing was too much trouble, she spent time giving us directions into town, what to see, where to eat (very important!) and just generally making us feel so welcome and that nothing was too much trouble.

We had only booked for two nights, but extended for a third. We had to switch rooms, which was no trouble as the new room was on the same floor, and once we packed, the staff moved our things while we were out. We did have to pay more for the last night but that was not an issue, as the room was a suite-style again. This room had a better layout - enter into the living room, then onto the bedroom, and it had a lovely, big terrace/balcony, which was great to sit out on towards the end of the day (NB take insect repellent, I was bitten!).

The breakfast was nice - a selection of meat, cheese, yoghurt, cannoli and cakes (for those with a sweet tooth), cereal, fruit, coffee, tea. My one and only complaint about the breakfast was the additional charge for some breakfast items, e.g. eggs. But really, in the grand scheme of things, this is a minor gripe - just be warned in case you really love eggs! (Prepare to pay a euro or two for them!).

Overall, I thought this was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. It is not the Shangri-la, so don't expect a full service restaurant (or two), gym, pool, big bar area, etc. But as an authentic grand, but homely place to stay in an interesting town, it's two thumbs up from me.

By the way they can also organise tours from the hotel (I suspect this is not unusual, but worth noting), and Francesca booked us on a Mount Etna walk. Francesca also helped us (A LOT) to choose our next hotel in Taormina - our first choice was not available, but she got us there in the end!

Highly recommended - and THANKS to the staff who made us feel so welcome, and especially Francesca.

Room Tip: If you book a suite, ask for the one with the large outside terrace. If you have kids staying in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reywal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed in this "glorious little gem" for one night (Sunday August 26th 2012) at the start of our Sicilian holiday. We booked because of the good reviews on tripadvisor and were more than delighted with our choice.
On arrival we were greeted warmley by Francesca even though it was quite late in the evening. The excellent air conditioning in the hotel was very welcome on such a hot night. Our room was upgraded from the Junior suite we had booked to a Suite. There is great attention to detail everywhere in the hotel from the soaps, toothbrushs and slippers in the bathrooms to the monogramed sheets on the bed and the personal welcome note in your room. The breakfast buffet was in keeping with the luxurious quality of the hotel. Cooked items were also available. We were recomended to a lovely restaurant in town where we had a very plesant dinner.
Catania colud not be described as glamorous, but a stay at the Liberty will go a long way towards making you overlook the citys shortcomings!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hennie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#7 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Il Principe Hotel
#13 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Romano House
Hotel Romano House
#11 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hotel

Property: Liberty Hotel
Address: Via San Vito 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#2 Business Hotel in Catania
#2 Family Hotel in Catania
#2 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Liberty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel provides for 7 suites, 9 doubles and 2 singles, all of the romms are characterized by a unique "name", that, evokes the feeling they inspire.Different decors, precious stylish art-deco pieces and prestiogious draperies, remind to the original Liberty drawings made by Hoffmann in 1911.The bathrooms, with precious marble mosaics, and a game of mirrors, are fully equipped. All of the rooms are fully furnished, with independent air-conditioning control, electronic safty box, two telephones, Digital TV (some foreign channels), minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing