We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High quality hotel, with efficient, likeable staff in fascinating city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Liberty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Liberty Hotel
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“High quality hotel, with efficient, likeable staff in fascinating city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

This is a small, elegant hotel where the staff are friendly, knowledgeable and committed to high quality service. It isn't located in a main or pre-eminently central thoroughfare; in some other reviews there have been dismissive comments about its setting - but you can safely ignore these. In fact it is set in a quiet street only 5 minutes (uphill) walk from one of Catania's historic central piazzas (Pazza Stesicorio); the area might be described as 'shabby' by some ; but in reality it is a genuine mix of residential/cafes/small businesses/churches. I stress the word 'genuine' - Catania is not a tourist town - quite the opposite. Genuine value for money is available wherever one turns. As to location - we had no fears about walking back there late after a meal in the centre of town.
The rooms are good-sized, well-furnished, and well decorated. There is nothing wrong with the thickness of the walls - we heard nothing from adjoining rooms. A comprehensive, decent breakfast (the main buffet table is constantly re-stocked) is served in a very well decorated, light & pleasant room. The public rooms (lounges and bar) are similarly elegant and pleasant. We were not there in high temperatures, but a delightfully shaded loggia (set with small tables) adjoining the main lounge must surely be a super facility in the hotter months.
The thing which really impresses is the quality of the staff. Without exception they are polite, pleasant, wanting to help, efficient . We found this to be true right across all the staff we encountered , whether they were front desk, breakfast room, cleaning or porterage. All were good. As it happened -because my wife injured a knee during the time we were there - we had morer than average contact with the guys manning the front desk. They were brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble. eg. the frequent provision of ice packs and specially nice provision of several in-house meals when we felt it was wiser not to go out to a restaurant. They were genuine and kind. Also very knowledgeable about various aspects of their city.
All in all this isan unusually good hotel where the quite modest prices mean you receive a tremendous bargain in a fascinating city. There is so much to see and do.
Will definitely try to go back.

Quick Tip - if arriving by air and having small cases only you might be considering getting the ALT bus (No. 457) from the airport (fare is 1 euro) if you decide not to go for a taxi (25 euros for the 4-5 mile journey). The one snag is - where do you wait for the bus if there is no sign of it when you first get outside. Answer - the bus stop is about 70-80 yards to the right after walking through the Exit doors. When we tried to find the 457 bus stop initially we failed. In fact we had walked right past it, thinking it was a blank noticeboard. In fact all the 457 bus information is on that 'blank noticeboard' but on the side facing the vehicles (hence you don't see it as you walk along pulling your case). So - from the airport Exit doors, just turn right, (you'll see direction signs for 'City Bus') and you'll find the stop 70-80 yards on if you look carefully. If you get to the Taormina bus stop you've gone too far. Turn back. Once in the City, get off at the Piazza Stesicrio half way along the Via Etnea - then walk up the hill to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pvsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    199
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
72
431
58
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Liberty Hotel for our first night in Sicily. The hotel is just lovely with fantastic, helpful staff. Our luggage was lost by the airline and the receptionist immediately offered to contact the airline for us. The next morning the receptionist on duty updated us on the situation before we even had to ask. We were also recommended 2 authentic, non touristy restaurants with delicious food. We found the food in Catania the best in all of Sicily.
Breakfast was delicious with a great choice. We had a lovely room with high vaulted ceilings.
Catania is a pretty full on town/city and rough around the edges but it has a certain charm. We also visited Palermo during our stay and preferred Catania out of the two cities. A visit to the fish market is really interesting - we'd never seen such fresh fish before!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BD75London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

Catania has undergone a miraculous transformation since my first visit more than 20 years ago and there could be no more fitting symbol of these changes than this absolutely gorgeous little hotel. Where once loomed dark, decrepit and faded mansions, are now beautiful refurbished baroque and neoclassic architectural gems and the Liberty is surely one of the most outstanding examples of this process of restoration.

Light and airy and surprisingly quiet, my room was a haven after the sometimes overwhelmingly boisterous street life. An exquisite attention to detail together with a cosy and serene ambiance envelop you as the doors swing behind you banishing the hustle and bustle outside. Charming staff are ever ready with a greeting and with solutions for any requests. Breakfast was a treat every morning and coffee in the lovely winter garden made for a special memory.

The Liberty is all a small hotel should be - and so much more! I am so pleased that Sicily - a unique and extraordinary island - finally is able to offer a level of hospitality that does it credit. Bravo to the owners, managers and staff of this wonderful little hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank eminvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
570 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

We chose a hotel in Catania to spend only one night to get to the airport early and had a pleasant surprise. Not only the atmosphere at the hotel but mainly for the kindness and helpfulness of staff, offered us transportation options, indicate what to see around the hotel and although we left before the time of the breakfast, gave us a full breakfast with everything ... much kindness and professionalism .... CONGRATULATIONS

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inescarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

We spent three days at the Liberty Hotel. The staff were extraordinary--helpful in every way. John Paul prepared a meal for us one evening which he served in the lobby. My wife cannot climb stairs so we were served delicious breakfasts in the lobby as well. They arranged a private tour of the Mt. Etna region and recommended a delightful and delcious osteria two blocks away for lunch. The hotel is beautifully appointed with art deco touches.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank atflat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

I can not fault the hotel great service, lovely clean and well decorated rooms but in the most awful location on the planet. if this hotel was in the centre of Rome then it would be the best hotel on the planet. The hotel is is set back from the main Catania centre in a dirty and war worn torn area not that Catania is anything to write home about - bad move on my behalf. I would go to Sicily again but not here in fact i would suggest the only reason to go to Catania is if you want to see the most awful town - black and dirty.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinbarre0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

When you enter this hotel, you can immediately see the elegance and the love to the details which is the theme for the whole hotel. We were greeted extremely friendly, were given lots of useful information about Catania, things to do, etc.
The room was nice, decorated in palazzo style, lots of decoration everywhere, high ceilings and all the usual amenities. We had a room in the ground floor, the upper ones probably have a nicer view, as our window opened directly onto the street. What I also liked was the traditional almond sweet from "Donna Vincenza", which we found on our bed. The next day we went to the Donna Vincenza shop in Catania for some more... That's how you can win new customers…
The lobby is also great, you have wireless internet there, and you can enjoy the beautiful furniture. A good breakfast - including eggs - is served in a nice and small room, and they projected a film about Sicily on the wall, which was nice, as were just on the beginning of our Sicilian adventure.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andiiiiiiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Il Principe Hotel
#13 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Romano House
Hotel Romano House
#10 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hotel

Property: Liberty Hotel
Address: Via San Vito 40, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#2 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#2 Family Hotel in Catania
#2 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Liberty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Hotel provides for 7 suites, 9 doubles and 2 singles, all of the romms are characterized by a unique "name", that, evokes the feeling they inspire.Different decors, precious stylish art-deco pieces and prestiogious draperies, remind to the original Liberty drawings made by Hoffmann in 1911.The bathrooms, with precious marble mosaics, and a game of mirrors, are fully equipped. All of the rooms are fully furnished, with independent air-conditioning control, electronic safty box, two telephones, Digital TV (some foreign channels), minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing