We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A LOVELY EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Del Bosco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Del Bosco Hotel
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Hudson, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A LOVELY EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

This was our second stay at the Del Bosco. 7 years ago, the cab driver didn't know where it was.
This year he knew it well. It is several miles from the city center and in a typical urban Catanian neighborhood. It is not a big city hotel. It is what we like about a hotel. Smallish with personalized staff attention, the charm of on old convent, which it was, but with all modern conveniences.
Silvio, the desk attendant when we arrived, took great pains to be sure I would not get lost getting my rental car to the airport. Another desk clerk remembered our previous visit and that we had been recently married at the time( we are both "seniors").
The lounge is intimate and friendly and the basement restaurant served us the best meal we had in Sicily. We had to leave before breakfast but the view from the rooftop breakfast room is spectacular. Overlooking the city and the sea beyond.
One negative. the night clerk failed to give us a 4 A.M. wakeup for an early flight. Fortunately, we are light sleepers and there was no harm.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    235
    113
    55
    45
See reviews for
129
259
21
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

This hotel was one of the biggest disappointments of my life... even after having a bad experience of Italian hotels in the past... We booked this hotel after having seen the nice pictures on the net, but reality was sad. No WIFI in the new building (staff promised to get it fixed but obviously they lied), breakfast was pathetic (plastic cups offered after the glasses got dirty, toaster not working...) walls were thin (you can clearly hear the neighbour taking a shower), mini TV set with 1 English channel (CNN only in Black and White)... What else? The hotel is located in the middle of nowhere, easy to get to the highway, but far from the center... no restaurants around and the garbage trucks come early in the morning...

The funniest was our bathroom... where thanks to a "brilliant Italian design" we needed acrobatic moves to get in to the bathtub to take a shower... I wouldn't recommend this hotel to elderly people as they wouldn't be able to take a shower during their stay...

Sorry top say... FORGET THIS HOTEL!

Room Tip: Forget this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast,N.Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Hotel Villa del Bosco is without doubt, one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever had the pleasure to stay in. The interior design is quite luxurious...I felt I had stepped back in time to a more gentile age!! The outdoor swimming pool was a haven in the sunlight. The staff were charming, attentive & very helpful in passing on information about sightseeing, shopping & getting around Catania.Breakfast on the roof terrace was a joy. The hotel was exceedingly well priced for the facilities on offer. I loved it & would highly recommend it as a gorgeous place to stay. I can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Freya2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

It is very good solution if you want to explore Sicily as the hotel is located not far from the ring road and A18 motorway. For visiting Catania only maybe you can look for hotels located in the city center, but - the hotels distance from the city center (~ 3-4 km, note that hotel is located on the hill) is compensated by the quiet neighborhood and wonderful view.
Superior customer service throughout the stay. Not very spacious but nice decorated rooms (we stayed in old part), safe parking, good breakfast (incl. scrambled eggs, meat, cheese, pastries, good coffee), little pool, free Wi-Fi, good coctails in the bar.
One disappointment here about the hotel - no room cleaning in the last day of our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_M046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We found Villa del Bosco online as it respresented the old style hotel we prefer. The hotel is well-located in Catania (although not downtown in the Piazza Duomo area), and is very quiet. Service was spectacular. The staff were all knowledgeable, with recommendations and contacts available for side trips. The salon was a welcome rest-stop in the evenings, with an excellent bar with small snacks. The barman was a pro (see photo). The restaurant downstairs was terrific. The menu was short but the quality was the best, especially if you are tired of pizza or aranjcitas. All the people were friendly and patient. The hotel is 20 meters away from a bus stop also (#429), which goes all the way downtown. Take it instead of the overpriced city taxis.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChinaHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff are amazing and couldn't be more helpful. The room was lovely and clean with all the facility's working. The front desk went out of there way to ensure we had a great time by helping us navigate to the places we wanted to visit. The restaurant staff cooked the food we asked for even though it was not on the menu. Breakfast was great with plenty to choose from and with it being a buffet breakfast it made it easier to have what ever we wanted.... I really recommend this hotel and would love to go back again. If i did have to mention a negative it would be that there was no coffee and tea facility's in the room but the fridge bar and snacks in the room made up for it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

I booked this place after reading good reviews about it and been deeply deceived,absolutely excentered ,rooms are small ,was staying in a suite on two level wich was terribly dark,breakfast was disgusting but the worst was the supposidly pool wich is size of handkerchief and found myself swimming with a big black rat .Horrid experience !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Superchiller P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Centro Catania
Katane Palace Hotel
Katane Palace Hotel
#12 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Del Bosco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Bosco Hotel

Property: Villa Del Bosco Hotel
Address: Via del Bosco 62, 95125 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#13 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Del Bosco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Hotel, two souls: the charm and the contemporary design… Situated at the top end of Via Etnea, the major street of the city, is a unique structure for character and atmosphere, the expression of a perfect blending between the opulent luxury of an old 19th century house and the more up-to-date area combining every comfort and exclusive design.Hydromassage tubs or showers, LCD TV, internet wi-fi and Sky pay-per-view are the standard for the 52 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Del Bosco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Bosco
Villa Del Bosco Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing