We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Katane Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very good value and helpful staff”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I'm giving this hotel and extra star for accommodating me even though I showed up a month before the actual booking dates: yes, they did so for the same low price that I booked the room. The hotel is more of a 3.5 star hotel (perhaps 3 star by American standards) but it does have a very good bar (managed by Elias) with plenty - I mean plenty - of snacks to go with any drink you order for EUR 8 or more, and the restaurant also has a good reputation. Rooms are nice: spacious, well equipped, with nice "classic" interiors although I'd like to see a few colors other than the brownish gold that seemed to dominate my room. Nice outdoor terrace and a good location that is only 300m from the main train station. Even better, they were very understanding when I took the room key (the old fashioned kind) with me to Greece (I mailed it back). Hotel exteriors are very, very, very unassuming so you must keep an eye out for it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harshapaulraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    316
    110
    30
    20
See reviews for
81
322
42
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Katane Palace was our choice in Catania, where we decided to spend a couple of days in the beginning of our trip around Sicily.

The good:

- Location was quite good. While it is not in the middle of the action, it is just 10 minutes away from Via Etnea (Giardini Bellini) and less than 10 minutes walking from the bus station. This location meant that the hotel was very quiet. Tip: if you want to get from Catania's airport using puic transportation, take ATM Alibus #457 and get down at Piazza G. Verga (it costs 1 eur per person)

- Our booking included free mini bar consumption, though it was quite basic and restricted to non alcoholic drinks.

- The bathroom looked modern, judging from the overall appearance of the hotel. However, the room's decoration looked -and smelled- old.


The not so good:

- While doing our check-in late in the evening, we found out that a baby cot had not been installed in our room (as per our request). What made it worst was that the person in the front desk said that 'we had to mention this special request in our booking'. 10 seconds later he checked our booking, and he realized that this had been clearly specified. There were no apologies, however, and we were told that 'nothing could be done about it until the following day'.

- The breakfast provided was nothing special. By the second morning, the limited spread was quite noticeable.

- The key provided is huge and it complicates things if you want to keep it when going out. Hotel management should realize that it's time to switch to cards!

In summary: Katane Palace has the potential to be one of the best hotels in Catania. I would consider this hotel if staying again in Catania, but an update in the rooms' decoration and improved attention to customer would be much appreciated. For me this was a 3.5 over 5, but I decided to round down due to the lack of baby-cot upon out arrival, and the attitude of the person at the front desk about this.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hernan_y_Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Of the 3 hotels we stayed at (others in Rome and Naples), this place was the best.
Staff is very friendly. Clean room. Spacious. The key is substantial! The shower is awesome.
Breakfast food was plentiful and in the two mornings we were there we saw different foods each day, which was really fun. Wished we had a chance to stay here longer - and wish it had a better view of the city also. Otherwise, would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Definitely book here if you are to visit Catania.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shuva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Level Contributor
553 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed here for five nights. Apart from the pricey dinner at the restaurant here, Katana Palace Hotel is actually an oasis for me. The room is spacious. The decor is formal and classical. Colour tones are dark and sombre. I find the switches very difficult to see because they are all dark in colour. The safe provided in the room has a very lengthy instruction to use and so, I gave up. The highlight would have to be the marble clad bathroom. It has got a proper bath, toilet, bidet with all amenities provided. The shower head is of the tropical shower head and the hot water pressure is immediate too! For me, the most enjoyable part of my stay there is having a hot shower daily. WiFi at the hotel is absolutely brilliant. Everything at Katane Palace Hotel is done properly. Nothing is skimmed. The breakfast is yet again one of my favourites. It has got freshly squeezed orange juice, American coffee but you could always ask for freshly made coffee too. It has got a selections of mueslis, pastries, fruit and even salami, cheese for the heavier eaters. In terms of location, it's slightly off from the Central but then again, it's walkable to everywhere too. The bed is seriously comfortable. I have placed tips on the table daily but the cleaners never picked up the money. This is to show you the level of professionalism in this hotel. Being a hotel operator myself, I am rather impressed with it and so, highly recommended. The only improvement that it can look into is to refer to its maintenance list because the deadlock for the door is broken, the shower is broken too. More power points should be made available to keep up with modern time. The compendium in the room should have more relevant information such as mentioning about the positions of supermarkets, restaurants, bars that are worth visiting and that are walking distance from the hotel. Also, to up the stars of the hotel, it should also look into providing safety chain for the door, an eye piece for the door. The front office staff speak general good English and they are friendly enough to assist.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiredfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Some things here are plain perfect, like the rooms, spacious and with everything you need (btw, you have free mini-bar, and even if it's just water and a couple of sodas, it's still nice), the service, very efficient and quick. However, there are some minuses too: if you are in one of rooms overlooking the inner courtyard, you might be bothered by the noise of the water pump, the inner courtyard itself could have been a bit better kept than it actually is, and, quite a disappointment, few of my friends felt seek after having a dinner in the restaurant in the hotel, and I personally, decided not too eat the rest of shrimps, when having tried the first one, realized they are just not fresh. So, get a room overlooking the street, and do not eat in the restaurant, and there you go, reasonably priced decent hotel in Catania well worth a visit

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pataphysicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week, and it was beyond our expectations. The room was big and very clean, quiet even if it was overlooking the street (we asked for such room). It was close to everything, the bus station, the main attractions, a big market and shopping streets. We found some really nice restaurants and the best place for local Arancini :) I would recommend for all.

Room Tip: Ask a room far from the elevator :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirandella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed here as part of a tour. We were able to get to our rooms before the check in time. The rooms were comfortable. However the hotel itself is kind of a maze, there are couple of different sections.
Our room was quiet and comfortable. Its location is a little far from the main tourist attractions but still can be reached via a comfortable 30 minute walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shasa_ist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
1,652 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
530 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
NH Catania Centro
NH Catania Centro
#7 of 50 in Catania
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
762 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katane Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katane Palace Hotel

Property: Katane Palace Hotel
Address: Via Camillo Finocchiaro Aprile 110, 95129 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#11 Romantic Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Katane Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Catania the Katane Palace Hotel is an elegant, prestigious building where even details are thought as elements of a complex and harmonious architecture. Comfort as well as leisure opportunities are offered to our guests. In all our quiet, functional and elegantly furnished rooms you find an intimate atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Katane Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katane Palace Catania
Hotel Katane Palace
Katane Palace Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing