We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appearances can be deceptive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Katane Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Appearances can be deceptive”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

At first glance, the outside looks nothing special, but push open that heavy front door and you are in another world. Very elegant surroundings. Extremely friendly staff who go out of their way to help, Valerie and Santo get a special mention, no least for putting up with our dodgy Italian. The rooms were of a good size, beds very good for those with bad backs. Good sized bathrooms with shower. Air con a bit temperamental maybe, but being nit picking here. Breakfast had lots of choice, nice place to sit and take your time over breakfast in the courtyard. There is limited parking but we had no problem with it as the staff ensured that we had somewhere to park. If you are nervous about exiting the underground car park, then I recommend you ask a member of staff to do it for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    319
    114
    31
    20
See reviews for
82
331
42
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SA TX
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel is run by very helpful people who are interested in making your stay their most important agenda. We had them reconfirm our airline reservations and book seats for us since we had trouble with them. When it was time to leave...at 4:15AM..they made sure we were checked out and our car was ready for us out front.
Our room was comfortable and very quiet. Beds are firm but not too hard. Bathrooms clean. I was very pleased that they could arrange and master bedroom with a connecting room for the rest of the family.
Finding the hotel, though not their fault, is a nightmare as others have already said. We walked everywhere, 25 min to the Doumo, near by shopping and garden and never had a problem, but we were home by 10:30PM. Breakfast was nice with a good choice. Dinner at their dining room was excellent, nice variety and competitively priced.
Mosquitoes seem to be a problem at all the hotels we stayed in since none have screens. Suggest you keep the windows closed constantly and depend on air conditioning.

Room Tip: Get a good map with the one way streets marked and names of the streets are shown. It's the only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mama4llama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We only stayed one night in this hotel in a doubleroom which was spacious enough. The bathrrom was nice too. The stuff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast offs a huge choice: cereals, fruits, different teas, cheese, prosciutto, salami, jam, differrent cakes, croissants, etc. Unfortunately we did not sleep,well in this hotel at all as throughout the night we were hunting mosquitos. Although the Mosquitoseason just started there was no prevention at the windows to stop these insects from coming into the rooms. Our room was probably not used since longer because there was clearly dust on the sideboards of the bed.
Anyway Besides the mosquitoproblem I would recommand this hotel. Also I have to say that it was very much affordable. The lobby and the central yard are very beatiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evafoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

we choose to stay at katane palace last minute and they were so nice and accomodating to us. the hotel is great because there is parking on site (make sure you are very good at manuvering tight turns) and there are some great restaurants and shops nearby, though it is a walk to the duomo and center. the staff was lovely, they were so helpful and polite and smiling and nice. it was a real treat to speak to them and they had some great recommendations for the area. my son loved the breakfast buffet and they had really great pastries, though if you are a fan of italian coffee be sure to ask for an espresso and leave the coffee they have at the buffet to the others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amaraya8nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a little gem of a hotel. It is set out as a villa with a pretty little open pillared courtyard. The rooms seem to have been recently decorated in a modern Baroque style. Our room had a balcony, and all the usual features you would expect. A nice touch was the free soft drinks only mini bar that was replenished daily. The breakfast restaurant is connected to the open courtyard by a glass wall, so you feel that you are eating 'Al Fresco' but you are still inside. You could eat outside when it is warmer.
The best feature of this hotel is the staff. Everybody was so kind and helpful. The front desk staff were extremely helpful with organizing tours to Mt. Etna, and organizing buses to visit the sometimes far off destinations.
Catania is an interesting place with its Sicilian Baroque architecture. Via Etna is the main street, and has lots of shops, restaurants & piazzas. Away from Via Etna the rest of the city can be less pretty. However, the Katane Palace Hotel was like a little oasis in the busy narrow streets of this chaotic historic city.
I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandMMellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillerød
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We did not expect more than average from this hotel, after having read the comments on it. But we were surprised, initially by the competent staff at the reception desk and further on by the relaxed atmosphere in the house. Most of all, we were overwhelmed by the quality of the restaurant Il Cuciniere, which servings are classy and original and absolutely to recommend.
The underground parking space was free of charge and breakfast quality above usual Italian cakes and sweet, offering different local specialities and fresh fruit.

Room was clean and confortable, although there was a compressor running close to the 4th floor. Bathrooms are fine and clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room isolated from hotels machinery systems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianC224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Decided to drive from the airport, this was like a James Bond movie. Narrow streets, crazy traffic, crazy Sicilian drivers, major challenge. Don't do it without a GPS. The Hotel was a saviour, a sea of calm in a world of pain. Staff were very welcoming and charming, room was comfortable, modern and very clean. Bathroom was also clean and well appointed. The whole environment of the hotel had the feel of a palace. Make sure that you can reserve a car parking space in the garage. Overall, a lovely stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roddles1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,685 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 49 in Catania
539 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
NH Catania Centro
NH Catania Centro
#9 of 49 in Catania
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 49 in Catania
772 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katane Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katane Palace Hotel

Property: Katane Palace Hotel
Address: Via Camillo Finocchiaro Aprile 110, 95129 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#11 Romantic Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Katane Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the centre of Catania the Katane Palace Hotel is an elegant, prestigious building where even details are thought as elements of a complex and harmonious architecture. Comfort as well as leisure opportunities are offered to our guests. In all our quiet, functional and elegantly furnished rooms you find an intimate atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Katane Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katane Palace Catania
Hotel Katane Palace
Katane Palace Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing