We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were duped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ognina Catania
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We were duped”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We arrived at Hotel Idea expecting to be near the beach and close to amenities. The truth is we were next to a main service road to a new autostrada with constant chaotic traffic far from amenities. The room we were given was meant to be air conditioned, the outside temp 32 degrees, in the room slightly less. The room itself smelt as you entered and soon we found that the carpet at the door was wet, hence the smell. The hotel did not have internet access at all. Shower was ridiculously small even by Italian standards, towels were old and thin, bedspread had a cigarette burn, sheet had a small hole, toilet seat was unhinged. square and paint worn off.
However they did offer us another room when we complained but this was not much better as it too had some of the problems previously mentioned. It was too late for us to transfer, we had to contact our travel agent in Australia by phone so that she could find us better accommodation at our own expense.
The hotel displayed a Trip Advisor certificate of merit for 2011 and we are flabbergasted as to how it could have such a rating!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    99
    97
    43
    27
See reviews for
42
119
12
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This hotel is a good standard. Reception staff are warm and friendly, and speak excellent English. Free patisseries in reception!

Location is good – a 2km harbour-side walk to Catania town centre (cutting through the town feels a little dangerous), or a 10 EUR taxi. You’re outside the madness of Catania town centre, but close enough to go in and out of the town centre during the day.

Hotel rooms are great – dated/ 1980s décor, but all done to a high standard, and looks new. Flat screens TVs, large rooms, air con etc. Bathrooms are TINY, but clean and functional.

A note that it is best to park the car at the hotel and taxi into Catania town centre – roads are not clearly marked and it is easy to get lost.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CompulsiveReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Just returned from a short vacation in Catania - stayed at the Idea Ognina hotel. It is a nice place, very conveniently located just behind a gas station (Agip), for those that rent a car (as I had), with free parking (also very important). Be ware, though, that the hotel is branded "Ognina" - written on the facade. No mentioning of the "Idea", so do not look for this name. Everybody in the neighborhood knows it as either "Ognina" or "Jolly" hotel, which, I understood, was an older name. Otherwise the room was very clean, the service absolutely OK, generous breakfast, large LCD in the room with free access to the SKY satellite network (except, of course, for the pay-per-view movies). Overall it was a pleasant experience staying there and I would definitely recommend it for travelers that do not want to be in the crowded center of Catania, have a car and will not mind making the trip of about 6-7 km from the hotel to the center of the city. Not to forget - there is no supermarket nearby (or at least I did not find it), but there is a McDonald's restaurant fairly close.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MirceaPodina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

This hotel is located about a 10 min drive from the Catania city center - perfect for people with a car (which is a must in Sicily anyway). It is on a hilltop bay surrounded by sail boats, sea views and restaurants.

We were greeted by extremely friendly hotel staff, who remained as such all thoughout our stay. the rooms were clean, air-conditioned, and had everything you would want/need from a 3 star hotel. the windows were double glazed which meant that no noise from the outside roads reached us. the only downfall was that they are all smoking - although the smell was not at all strong, for people who are sensitive this may be worth considering. the breakfast was great - they had everything from eggs and bacon to cheese and fruits, plus all the bread and pastries they baked themselves on premises.

The hotel offered free private parking - a big plus in Catania. when it came to check-out we were offered a late option for 25euro, and were not forced in to a particular check-out time, they were v. flexible.

overall this is great value for money - reliable, clean, well located and friendly .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana_k05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ognina Catania, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Dear Dama_k05,
Thank you for writing your experience in our hotel

It’s our mission to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us.
We hope you will continue to choose us and our IDEA HOTEL in Italy, Paris and Lugano for your travel needs
Kindly regards

Piero Marini
quality manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

top value for money.
Polite personnel, clean, nice breakfast, ideal for car travellers

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DImitris2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
Villa Mater
#36 of 50 in Catania
185 reviews
Zeus Residence Hotel
#25 of 50 in Catania
30 reviews
Centro Catania
Residence La Vetreria
Residence La Vetreria
#46 of 50 in Catania
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Residence La Palma
#38 of 50 in Catania
37 reviews
Centro Catania
B&B De Curtis
B&B De Curtis
#31 of 50 in Catania
176 reviews
Plaza Hotel
#9 of 50 in Catania
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ognina Catania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ognina Catania

Property: Hotel Ognina Catania
Address: Via Messina 628, 95126 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Ognina-Picanello-Stazione
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ognina Catania 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ognina Catania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ognina Catania Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing