We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The hotel is well sign posted in Catania but can be difficult to get to because of all the one way streets around it. There is no parking at the hotel but there is a garage nearby which charges €13 per night, which is well worth it considering the state of the local cars!

Both rooms we stayed in were large with good sized bathrooms - although the shower was in the bath and rather low for me. As well as towels and the usual liquids, bath robes were also provided. There was a good sized flat screen TV and unusually for the continent there were tea & coffee making facilities in the room as well as a fridge for the mini bar.

The breakfast had a reasonable selection of meats, cheeses and fruit with fresh oranges available squeezing in a machine. The breakfast area wasnt very large and on one of our days was packed with loud students.

All of the staff we encountered from reception to the breakfast were very friendly & helpful and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Allegedly you can see Etna from some rooms but it was always far too misty when we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_The_Miner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear John_The_Miner, thank you for staying with us, for writing about us and for expressing your intention to stay here again. It is nice to read that all in our staff were nice and friendly with you. Next time you book a room in our Hotel, we invite you to reserve also a place for your car in our garage, which is cheaper than what you paid this time externally.
See you soon.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 901 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed for two nights recently on a trip to Catania, the hotel is a ten minute walk from Via Etnea, the main street through the city and easily found. We had large, spacious rooms, each with a balcony and they were clean and serviced daily. Breakfast was a simple buffet but enough to set you up for the day. The guy on reception was fantastic and, on our first night, took the trouble to go through a map of the city centre with us, marking routes to the sights, recommended restaurants and bars and even dishes to try! The hotel is perfectly situated to explore and the area offers a variety of restaurants. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mbk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear mbk09,
we are glad to read that we exceeded your expectations and that you found our staff members helpful. As you say you have intention to come back, we can only hope this will be soon.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is the forth time that me and my wife resided at The Hotel Best Western in Catania in these last 5 years. This year we visited in the second week of February where we enjoyed the Feast of St Agatha the Patron Siant of Catania and some shopping. Was really a great experience.

We do not really hesitate to book other hotels when we visit since the price is right,
a clean hotel with great rooms, easy to reach by bus from the airport as explained in their
website and easily accessible from the road striaght to the inside. Less but not least to complete the overview in our humble opinion the cornerstone is the staff.

Sometime it seems that this could sound rethorical but I can assure that the staff is top notch from top to bottom.

Sometime things change from time to time but in this case the staff that has been working there at the hotel in these last five years who practically became friends and the new staff are all polite and have a great attitude and all english speaking for those who have problems to communicate in Italian.

From Hotel Mediterraneo there is short walk of around 15 minutes to Via Etnea which is in the very centre of Catania so we found it great to eat at the hotel in the evening after a day out and the prices were reseonable.

I wish to thank the cleaner who took care of our room, the maintenence man that is present in case of any matters concerning any problems in the room, the staff that prepared the breakfast and our dinner in the evening and the front office - nobody excluded.

Our thanks goes to Mr Santi Vento ( The Room Division Manager ) who listens to the customers
and try to help in the best way he can.

We definately recommend Hotel Best Western Mediterraneo when you visit Catania.

Cutomer Care at it's best, freindly environment, comfortable and a memorable stay for business,
couples and families alike.

Thanks to all for welcoming us once again.For the next one.

David & Roberta
Malta

Room Tip: Rooms are all great since the hotel is in a quite neighbourhood and rarely any sound comes from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you Roberta B for your nice review. It appears evident that what makes the difference for you is the courtesy of our staff. We work hard to make our guests feel at home, and we guess that this is the main reason why you keep coming to us.
We wait for your sixth visit as soon as possible.
Regards
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

my family and I stayed at this hotel and the staff were rude. The manager and the bartender especially. The bartender seemed annoyed when we ordered more drinks, even slamming dishes in the back room to express his feelings about serving us. The rooms were clean and the air conditioning was good. Breakfast?? What breakfast?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sicily6324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear sicily6324,
thank you for reviewing our Hotel and for describing it as clean and with good air conditioning.
We are sorry to read that, on the night you stayed here, our staff did not meet your expectations and that you reported a behaviour not in harmony with our style of courtesy and availability.
Personally I am not there in the evening and having so many months elapsed since August it is difficult for me now to understand what happened and act immediately to correct any problem that might have happened that evening with the bartender.
I can immagine that you maybe left too early in the morning to enjoy our breakfast. I hope you come again soon to meet you and to offer a better image of our staff and our services.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Booked 2 rooms for 2 nights and found out from the very first minute it was going to be terrible.
The manager refused to give each guest a room key. One key for one room was his rule. What a ridiculous statement. As it was a late check in, I was too tired to argue the point.
Despite the reviews, the location was too far from the city centre.
The room was not quiet and small. Breakfast was basic but I suppose adequate given the price. I would not stay there again and pay a little more for a bigger room.the front staff were helpful when asked but the management always rude.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Marcus M,
thank you for reviewing our Hotel, even if we are sorry to read about your feelings regarding your stay in our Hotel. I have to apologize if any behavior of one of your receptionists didn’t meet your expectations, although we are glad to read that you found the rest of our Staff helpful.
As I was not there at the time you checked-in, I enquired the senior receptionist you met that evening to find out what happened. He explained to me that, when you arrived, you wanted to buy a basket of local products of Sicily. He started searching on the Internet the closest address to satisfy your request and he found a shop who delivered the requested basket for you the following morning at the Hotel.
When you requested the second key for each room, his point wasn't that he couldn’t give them to you, as we normally do with many of our guests who request it, but rather that he had that computer busy with the research he was making for you, the same computer he needed to codify a supplementary magnetic card for the room opening. Therefore he invited you to bring first your luggage to your room with the key he had already given you and in the meantime he would prepare the second key for you.
Regarding distance from the center, it is a matter of fact that if you type on Google Maps the distance on foot between our Hotel and the main central road, Via Etnea, the distance is 800 meters.
Concerning our breakfast, please visit our website (you can use the link provided by Tripadvisor at the top of our page) under the section Services -> Breakfast to read the full menu of what we serve on our buffet every day.
We hope you can come and see us again to leave you with a better impression of our Hotel.
Best regards
Santi Vento
BEWST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in november and were really very pleased with it.some lovely ceramic tiles around all areas. Smart and clean. Friendly helpful staff , and a super selection of breakfast foods. Each Best Western I have stayed with has exceeded my expectations for the price I paid. Thank you to staff etc... We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaceez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you jaceez for your nice review. We read that you liked the Hotel, the Staff, the cleanness and the breakfast. As you say you enjoyed your stay, please come and stay with us again soon.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is hotel is nicely positioned in the center of Catania where everything is within reasonable walking distance. We had a triple room which was for 2 adults and one child and the room was quite spacious. The room was modern with a plasma TV and teach/coffee making facilities. The hotel only offers bed and breakfast. The breakfast was good although nothing elaborate. They did have a very nice fresh orange juice making machine although at times it stopped functioning due to an overload of orange peel! The dining room was bit small and it was difficult to find a table at the peak of breakfast time.
Our room had a balcony which was overlooking a rather ugly-looking hot water boiler and had absolutely no view apart from that.
I can see that parking maybe a problem but the hotel does have a private garage across the road.
most of the staff spoke good English.
Good for a short city break but not close to the sea! I recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear DavidAbroad,
we want to thank you for writing a very detailed review about our Hotel.
We are glad you appreciated our location, 10 minutes walking distance to the city center, but definitely not to the sea. We read also that our Staff was available for you speaking a good English.
Next time you'll come to us, please remind us to assign a room for you on an upper floor.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
Borgo-Sanzio
NH Catania Centro
NH Catania Centro
#10 of 49 in Catania
1,155 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 49 in Catania
568 reviews
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 49 in Catania
803 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Via Dottor Consoli 27, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Catania
#7 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#8 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range: $68 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo is located in the centre of Catania, only few minutes far from artistical and cultural interest places of Catania, easily reachable from the railway station, the motorway and the airport. In addition to its central location, Hotel Mediterranean is particularly appreciated for the quality of services dedicated to the specific needs of the guests explained well , for example, with the pillow menu, the fitness room and the buffet with gluten-free products.The soul of BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo fully reflects the warmth and vitality of Catania.63 spacious and comfortable rooms, some with balconies and equipped for disabled guests with mobility difficulties, are avaliable into different types: single, double, twin and triple rooms without forgetting the business room dedicated to business traveler.BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, hotel in the centre of Catania, has a fitness room with its high quality services, free wi-fi, pillow menu, Sky (included cinema and football - original language avaliable) and custumised services for all travelers.You can take advantage of a private garage with 8 parking spaces (fee required) to book in advance. The hotel has a breakfast room and a welcome bar, furnished with warm tones that reflect the style of the hotel, where you can enjoy a wide variety of high quality and fresh products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mediterraneo
Best Western Catania
Catania Best Western
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing