We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A good choice.”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent some time looking for a hotel in Catania and I think we picked the best. A bit off the main run of things and we did take a wrong turn when we got off the bus, but the very warm welcome on arrival more than made up for that. The reception staff were excellent, giving good advice on restaurants. (also where not to venture in Catania!) They booked us on the Etna trip, which I thoroughly recommend. The firm running the trip also provided a very reasonable transfer to the airport. Our room was spacious, comfortable and very clean, as was the large en-suite bathroom.
It was only a short walk to some trattorias, and not much further to the Duomo and the historic centre of Catania.
Breakfast was very good, only quibble is that the breakfast room is not very big.
Overall a very pleasant stay with excellent staff. (Best Western Pavilion in York please note how to do things properly!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear RossifansYork,
we are happy to read that, in your opinion, our Hotel was the best choice.
We are also glad you appreciated our staff, our services and that our partners for excursions on Mt. Etna and trattorias around the Hotel area satisfied you.
We hope to host you soon again.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    403
    96
    13
    7
See reviews for
181
288
40
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Been there for 1 week in September , staff very professional and kind ( they speak English too) , good breakfast, good location. Definitely would recommend it.

Ask for a good Espresso, you are in Italy … they are happy to serve you a good one in the morning :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _free_mind_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear _free_mind_travel,
thanks for your nice review about our Hotel and our Staff. Thank you also for recommending us.
We look forward to the next time you'll be able to stay here and drink another real italian espresso at breakfast.

Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here primarily as a transit stop on the way home. The hotel is a bit out of the way but we managed to orient ourselves down to the main part of town. Like most of Italy Sunday's are a bit dead so the streets were mainly deserted and most shops closed.
The room we had was on the top floor and there was a balcony however there was nothing on the balcony so nowhere to sit of have a quiet wine. The view was over the roof tops and Etna can be seen in the distance. The room itself was fine and staying only one night we didn't even unpack much. The breakfast was fine, much like the standard continental fare.
The area seems a little dodgy although even walking at night I felt quite safe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WineloverMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear WineloverMelbourne,
Thank you for reviewing our Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your room with a view on Mt. Etna.
Next time you stay with us, please feel free to use the two chairs present in the room to stay also on the balcony and enjoy your favourite wine.

Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Good clean hotel very friendly staff, the room was large with a huge bathroom. The room had good wifi connection. The breakfast was plenty full as well guests leaving before breakfast was served could get something to eat and drink at the hotel lounge.Found the staff at the front desk very helpful from giving advice on tours to where I could get my reading glasses fix quickly. The hotel is in the back streets of Catania very dark at night. Had and saw no trouble walking at night,but felt unsafe. Walked quickly between hotel and restaurants in the area. Some interesting places to eat never seen restaurants only serving horse meat. Did not eat their.
Catania interesting place to explore great place to visit Mount Etna from.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Stephen022, thank you for sharing your experience staying at our Hotel.
We are happy you enjoyed our friendly staff, and our services like wifi and breakfast.
As for the Trattoria (home-run restaurant) we have an agreement with, please be adivised that they serve ALSO but not ONLY horse meat. There is a variety of meat and fish you can choose.
Next time we hope you stay with us and try this also.
Regards
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford ON
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Nice restaurants close by 5 minute walk.
Free Wifi but only works in the lobby.
Staff was very helpful and shuttle service from airport was very good. For four people a taxi to airport costs the same as using the hotels shuttle

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Michael H, we are happy to read you appreciated our helpful staff.
We advise you that our wi-fi works not only in the lobby but also on each of our five floors, in the breakfast room and in all the meeting rooms. In the lobby we also have 4 sockets for wired connections. All connections are for free and unlimited.
We hope to host you again soon.

Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

on 21st sept 2013 our group of 15 stayed at the best western Catania, we found staff very very helpful, rooms clean , great air conditioning, near aerport. and about 10 minute walk to Bellini's Statue which is very near via etna.Thank you to all at Best Western .Hilary

Room Tip: rooms to the front had balconys, 503 on 5 th floor had views of city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilarymcmenamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear hilarymcmenamin, thanks for your review about our Hotel. We appreciate that you mention the positive points you enjoyed: our staff, cleanness, air-conditioned, central position.
We hope you come back soon to stay with us.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We go to western med twice a year very good excellent service very helpful and they provide you even excursions . Well this time we missed going there cause it was full and we regretted it so looking forward for next time . I suggest this hotel 100%

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vella32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thak you Vella32 for writing about us even if you could not stay here because we were fully booked at that time.
Next time you decide to come to Catania, please contact us earlier and we'll definitely make a reservation for you.

Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 49 in Catania
539 reviews
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,679 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
NH Catania Centro
NH Catania Centro
#10 of 49 in Catania
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
203 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
537 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 49 in Catania
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Via Dottor Consoli 27, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Catania
#4 Best Value Hotel in Catania
#7 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#8 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo is located in the centre of Catania, only few minutes far from artistical and cultural interest places of Catania, easily reachable from the railway station, the motorway and the airport. In addition to its central location, Hotel Mediterranean is particularly appreciated for the quality of services dedicated to the specific needs of the guests explained well , for example, with the pillow menu, the fitness room and the buffet with gluten-free products.The soul of BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo fully reflects the warmth and vitality of Catania.63 spacious and comfortable rooms, some with balconies and equipped for disabled guests with mobility difficulties, are avaliable into different types: single, double, twin and triple rooms without forgetting the business room dedicated to business traveler.BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, hotel in the centre of Catania, has a fitness room with its high quality services, free wi-fi, pillow menu, Sky (included cinema and football - original language avaliable) and custumised services for all travelers.You can take advantage of a private garage with 8 parking spaces (fee required) to book in advance. The hotel has a breakfast room and a welcome bar, furnished with warm tones that reflect the style of the hotel, where you can enjoy a wide variety of high quality and fresh products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mediterraneo
Best Western Catania
Catania Best Western
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing