We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Newnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

What a find!
This hotel is a pleasant 10 minute walk from the centre of Catania, in a lovely safe area not far from beautiful gardens.
The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean, they even offered to change the bed linen every day. Loads of 'extras' in the bathrooms, even sponges! Our room had a balcony and overlooked the main street, which might have been noisy but we found that traffic virtually ceased at about midnight, so no problem.
The breakfast was good, plentiful and varied.
The public areas were comfortable and airy, and there was even a selection of books in different languages to pass the time. The Wi-Fi is not only free, but the receptionist refused to take payment for some printing too.

But what makes this hotel are the staff, who are magical. Nothing is too much trouble, from the waiters at breakfast who discreetly and efficiently make sure that everyone has what they want, to the receptionists who will organise trips, taxis and find out other information promptly, willingly and with a smile, to the evening barman who made a special drink for my daughter and then refused to take payment for it.
What lovely people and what a lucky hotel to find such good staff!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, or like a very early night it might be beat to ask for a room at the rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear SBC_11, we want to thank you for your very nice review about us. We're glad you found our hotel as beautiful as a little gem, but we are especially glad that you appreciated the availability of our staff in every department, from cleaning to bar/breakfast to reception.
We hope you felt at home and therefore decide to stay with us again in the near future.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    395
    92
    13
    7
See reviews for
176
283
39
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Spent three days in Catania and stayed at the Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, which is a short taxi trip from the airport. The hotel will arrange the taxi for you, the price being 25 Euro payable to the driver. The rooms were far more spacious than I was expecting for the price, the complimentary breakfast had a good selection and there is also complimentary wi-fi. However the prime reason to pick the Mediterraneo is the excellent;helpful staff I cannot praise them enough! The hotel is able to arrange tours through a couple of companies to nearby Etna or to Taormina. The only quibble is the location, true it is only fifteen minutes from central Catania downhill when you leave in the morning but it is uphill when you return later on!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C7677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you C7677 for your nice review and for your kind words about our Staff which really makes the difference, as you wrote.
As you mentioned, reaching our Hotel from via Etnea takes only a few minutes walking, but I hope that the services you found here where worth the effort and that you decide to return and stay with us.
See you soon
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We recently stayed at the mediterraneo Catania and found it an excellent experience. The room was spacious and comfortable and much to my wife's delight there was a bathtub in the beautiful bathroom. The breakfast was varied and plentiful the staff courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeabuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you jeabuk for your nice review about our Hotel. We're glad you appreciated our staff, our breakfast service and that you liked our rooms with the bathtub.
We hope you to come and stay with us again soon.
Regards
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel, is perfect for anyone wanting to go in to Catania. The local airport is a 20/30 minute bus journey from the bottom of the hill. About a 5 minute walk away from the hotel is a local supermarket. Breakfast is available to anyone staying at the hotel free of charge. Rooms all come with a tv, on-suite and safe. Ours had a balcony. A snack bar is located downstairs where you can order pizzas, sandwiches and drinks. This hotel is in a central yet quiet area of Catania. Any questions please comment

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmileyFaceAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you SmileyFaceAlways for your nice review about our Hotel. As you defined us perfect to visit Catania, we hope you will decide soon to visit this city again and to stay with us!
Regards
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our family launched our spring 2013 Sicilian exploration in Catania at the Best Western, which proved an outstanding choice. Arriving tired from long flights, the BW offered helpful staff (with excellent English language capability), clean accommodations, comfortable beds, spacious showers, and yummy and plentiful breakfast choices. We were underwhelmed by Catania compared to our other excursions throughout Sicily, but the Best Western lived up to its outstanding reviews. Especially important was the staff, who cheerfully assisted us regarding our many requests and questions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you Evrmom for reviewing our Hotel. We are glad that our staff made the difference together with our breakfast. If you decide to return to our Hotel in Catania, please ask our staff to organize an excursion to Mt. Etna, Taormina or Siracusa through our partners. That will definitely make you stay even more enjoyable.
Regards
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the second time for 2 nights with our family. We had 3 rooms – all very clean, comfortable and upgraded from our last visit. Upon our arrival, we found Giovanni waiting for us to park the cars. Giovanni is a special guy – very helpful.

The staff is very polite, fluent in English and always ready to explain how to find certain locations. The breakfast was more than adequate and always fresh. The location is perfect – about 15 minutes away from the centre.
We would definitely come again. Can’t go wrong staying here! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you "Jeffrey M" for recommending us to other travellers and we are glad you returned to stay with us. You mentioned nice staff, fresh breakfast and closeness to the city center as positive aspects you enjoyed. We hope these will move you to come back to us again, possibly with other friends.
Regards.
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Mediteraneo was a very nice hotel; it was clean and upgraded nicely. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was OK. But, it was quite out of the way. Except for a couple of restaurants a three blocks away, a taxi was necessary to go anywhere desirable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santi V, Direttore at Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you frankcom for reviewing our Hotel with nice comments. Our Hotel is located 10 minutes far from via Etnea (on foot), the main road of Catania. We understand though, that you preferred using a taxi, which is also a good solution.
We hope you will come to stay again with us in the future.
Regards
Santi Vento
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediteraneo - Catania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#6 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Centro Catania
Katane Palace Hotel
Katane Palace Hotel
#12 of 50 in Catania
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Via Dottor Consoli 27, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Catania
#5 Best Value Hotel in Catania
#7 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#8 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo is located in the centre of Catania, only few minutes far from artistical and cultural interest places of Catania, easily reachable from the railway station, the motorway and the airport. In addition to its central location, Hotel Mediterranean is particularly appreciated for the quality of services dedicated to the specific needs of the guests explained well , for example, with the pillow menu, the fitness room and the buffet with gluten-free products.The soul of BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo fully reflects the warmth and vitality of Catania.63 spacious and comfortable rooms, some with balconies and equipped for disabled guests with mobility difficulties, are avaliable into different types: single, double, twin and triple rooms without forgetting the business room dedicated to business traveler.BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, hotel in the centre of Catania, has a fitness room with its high quality services, free wi-fi, pillow menu, Sky (included cinema and football - original language avaliable) and custumised services for all travelers.You can take advantage of a private garage with 8 parking spaces (fee required) to book in advance. The hotel has a breakfast room and a welcome bar, furnished with warm tones that reflect the style of the hotel, where you can enjoy a wide variety of high quality and fresh products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mediterraneo
Best Western Catania
Catania Best Western
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing