We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly as advertised...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel was exactly what I was looking for. Centrally located...affordable...great stuff...clean rooms. If you're looking for over-the-top luxuriousness, this isn't your hotel. If you're level headed and looking for functionally the perfect hotel in Catania at a reasonable price...this is your answer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spedonker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 903 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2011

We spent one week honeymoon at this hotel. They were waiting us with a bottle of great champagne in the room. So the starting was perfect. The room was always clean, big enough. Maybe the bed could be little bit harder.The breakfast was quite good, but they did not served vegetables. If you will come by car, it is easy. The hotel is everywhere signed, so you can find it without GPS. The parking is also ok on the street. Somewhere you can find parkingplace. For an outgoing idea: there are many trattoria in the street behinf the hotel. Outside seats, authentic mood. that is Italia. We loved it. we tried the Il Tenerissimo. Nobody speak english, but you can choose...
If we will go back, we are sure that we will stay in this hotel in Catania!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marklar320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We arrived late at around 9pm and reception staff were very helpful.
Our luggage was taken to our room and the breakfast room was opened up for us and a pasta meal produced to stave off our hunger pangs. The following day we were allowed to leave our car in the hotel garage until mid-afternoon at no extra charge.This is a city hotel, just a 10 minutes walk from the centre and ideally placed to explore Catania.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda2055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Stayed 3 days/nights at this hotel. The staff was very pleasant, friendly and helpful. Hotel situated a short distance from Centro Catania, an easy walk. Room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast room was small but served a very good breakfast selection. Especially liked the do-it-yourself fresh squeezed orange juice.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TM3CKG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

this hotel is good value for money the only complaint we had was that when you came outside the hotel the streets were filthy and lots and lots of graffiti on the walls the hotel should spend some money getting the walls cleaned up, the same could be said of all of Catania

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Nice little hotel with an excellent staff. Breakfast was more than adequate.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollyanna70_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We spent 4 days at this hotel. Location is very good, close to the city center, and lots of places to go for eat. Please take care because not all the restaurants are of safe quality, we had some bad experiences.
The hotel furniture is rather old, and the impression is high, especially when you have first contact with the reception/lobby area. To my pleasant surprise the room was very nice, clean and cosy and for a 3* hotel is a very good value. The hotel was very quiet and the roller blind by the window/balcony was the one I liked most in the room. The breakfast was rather pour, and some could complain of missing the fried eggs. Still, there were a lot of sweets and fruits.
If you intend to stay in this area, please do not miss the local sandwiches with very tasty bread specialties. You can find them in small family shops, almost at every corner.
Of course that local coffee and cappuccino's ar the best, we are in Italy.
A visit to strange and fabulous Etna mountain, with it's smoky volcano's craters is a must. Local fish market is a very picturesque place. If you have time, you could go and see Taormina and Siracuza, very nice places.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabbysugarlips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#7 of 49 in Catania
578 reviews
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,800 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
NH Catania Centro
NH Catania Centro
#10 of 49 in Catania
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
571 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 49 in Catania
811 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Via Dottor Consoli 27, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Catania
#7 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#8 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range: $69 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo is located in the centre of Catania, only few minutes far from artistical and cultural interest places of Catania, easily reachable from the railway station, the motorway and the airport. In addition to its central location, Hotel Mediterranean is particularly appreciated for the quality of services dedicated to the specific needs of the guests explained well , for example, with the pillow menu, the fitness room and the buffet with gluten-free products.The soul of BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo fully reflects the warmth and vitality of Catania.63 spacious and comfortable rooms, some with balconies and equipped for disabled guests with mobility difficulties, are avaliable into different types: single, double, twin and triple rooms without forgetting the business room dedicated to business traveler.BEST WESTERN Hotel Mediterraneo, hotel in the centre of Catania, has a fitness room with its high quality services, free wi-fi, pillow menu, Sky (included cinema and football - original language avaliable) and custumised services for all travelers.You can take advantage of a private garage with 8 parking spaces (fee required) to book in advance. The hotel has a breakfast room and a welcome bar, furnished with warm tones that reflect the style of the hotel, where you can enjoy a wide variety of high quality and fresh products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mediterraneo
Best Western Catania
Catania Best Western
Best Western Hotel Mediterraneo Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing