We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night out and about”
Review of Aci Castello

Aci Castello
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$130.75*
and up
Sailing Tour from Catania
Ranked #8 of 169 things to do in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In a corner of the most beautiful coastline of Catania, four platforms hovers above the rocks offering an elegant relax corner.
Bugibba
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A night out and about”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Nice place to have a dinner, food in most places is great, however service is not always so. Prices are reasonable. Parking in summer can be a bit of a problem.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Leisure1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    306
    71
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic, historical, great people, food, scenery”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The castle is truly magnificant. You can take a tour at certain times or sunbathe under the castle. Fantastic photos for brides.

Very romantic and there is a beautiful piazza that lights up at night. There are many
hotels nearby such as the Sheraton etc. Many close attractions nearby as museums, Churches, parks, stores in Catania. There is also a large market for bargain hunters.

Many night clubs closeby that ROCK!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rhuhn77807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful water and scenery”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Not your classical Australian beach, (we are spoilt) but beautiful clear ocean and great water temperature, pretty coastline with volcanic peaks reaching out of the ocean, definitely worth a visit.
Nice restaurants.
We didn't plan our transport very well, need to check on public transport companies and times as we couldn't get a taxi back to Catania and waited an hour for a return bus.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“One of my favourites”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Aci Castello is one of my favourite places in Sicily (the others being Erice, Grande Saline, and Marzamemi).

The castle used to be on a promonitory until the big eruption in the 1600's filled in the sea (the same eruption that filled in the sea around Castello Ursino in Catania). What's left after earthquakes, a few wars and general neglect is a lovely Norman fortification with excellent views and a nice vibe. We had our wedding photos taken here...

All around you'll find cafes and restaurants, mostly pizza or pasta.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sean.casaidhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cute little town”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We drove from Catania (aprox. 30 minutes) to Aci castello, and it is a small fish village, lovely and cute.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank clausmte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aci Castello also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Been to Aci Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing