We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mouth watering dishes, friendly staff and great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ciciulena

Ciciulena
Ranked #58 of 936 Restaurants in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $43
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Seafood, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Centro Catania
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Mouth watering dishes, friendly staff and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by a hotel - and what a recommendation!

We sat out in the side street - (they were good enough to shoo away beggars who seem to be everywhere - not all restaurants we have eaten at have done so) - and the food was amazing. I had the special fancy fish rolls - I didn't want anything heavy and these were perfect. One of the best fish dishes I have eaten in a long time. My husband had Parma ham and mozzarella.

The staff were lovely - welcoming, knew their menu and their wines.

We will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BAStravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    229
    80
    38
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I am in Catania often. We have a list of a handful of restaurants that we go to, and now the list has just what it needed- a formal dining experience that offers absolutely delicious antipasti, meat and fish plates....do you pay a few euros more per person-yes. Is it worth it?- TOTALLY!
This is a not to miss...shame on u if u do!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sophianoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooge Zwaluwe
2 reviews
“Very good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This place has a very nice menu. Typical sicilian/italian dishes, with a twist! A very good twist.

The staff is kind and the place looks great but especially the food is very very good. Especially the two 'tuna' dishes.

Go eat here

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalchreuth, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A highlight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We went to this restaurant upon recommendation of our hotel and were so enchanted that we changed our plans and returned for another great meal before we left Catania. The restaurant is relatively new, with a modern but inviting decor and a set of tables outside (where we sat - a typical Sicilian setting in a small side alley). The menu features mostly Sicilian dishes, but with a few "modern touches" that distinguishes it from other restaurants in Catania. Vegetables and fruit are used in many variants, and in combinations that are surprising and convincing. We loved the antipasti with raw fish. The restaurant also offers a variety of plates with smoked cheese, salami and ham from their own smokery - delicious. The pasta were excellent (linguine con le vongole, spaghetti with sea urchin). As main dishes we tried a fresh fish from the grill and a beef tenderloin with red wine/orange blossom sauce. Both were really good, maybe with a slight cutback for the fish: it was cut before broiling and prepared with fennel - interesting composition, but difficult to get rid of the dislocated fishbones. The service is very good, with excellent recommendations concerning wine, grappa and food and with perfect English spoken. Very good wines. All in all highly recommendable and good value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Uli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

The menu isn't a typical Italian menu, but great food none the less. Definitely worth another visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alex_lovelock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciciulena also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Been to Ciciulena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing