We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bustling places” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museo Storico dello Sbarco in Sicilia 1943

Museo Storico dello Sbarco in Sicilia 1943
Ranked #5 of 163 things to do in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The "Allied Landings in Sicily Museum" (Museo Storico dello Sbarco in Sicilia 1943) is housed in one of the buildings forming the "Ciminiere" cultural centre. The museum narrates the events that took place in Sicily from 10 July to 8 September 1943. This period is still recent history, only seventy years have passed and many senior citizens can still recount the experience. Everything that we have forgotten is now conserved in this museum which aims to protect our most precious asset: peace. The museum is arranged on three floors covering an area of 3,000 square metres, including a temporary exhibition area. By means of reconstructed settings the museum has tried to recreate the conditions of life before, during and after the war, using simulations, projections and original exhibits.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
97 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Bustling places”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Nice bustling place at any time of day and with entertainment in the evening. There was some tango dancing one night around the elephant fountain and a card game competition the next night.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank brightsouthernstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    106
    15
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The most interesting war museum I've ever been to!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

This museum is so unique. It doesn't just cover the military facts of how the Americans and the British landed in Sicily, but also gives an insight into the lives of the Sicilians and the impact of the war on Sicily and Sicilians. The museum staff gave us information at the start as they took us through a recreated Sicilian plaza (it was like we were on a film set), and through a simulation room of what it was like in a bomb shelter - because of this the entry times are every half hour. After that they gave us a booklet in English that had the translations for the rest of the museum (the posters etc are in Italian), but without the booklet there were some stands that had the English translations also. There was quite a lot of information but I didn't find it overwhelming or boring as it was well laid out with pictures, videos, uniforms etc. We took 2.5hrs taking our time. It was an emotional and very educational experience. This museum and Mnt Etna were the 2 highlights of my stay in Catania!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Salme G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very modern museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Was the main attraction i wished to visit as had family involved in war that died in sicily. museum was modern with simulators and video screens depicting life and those times in and around Sicily. Had a guide for the start of the tour and was very informative and a well spoken english language. However once the guide departed and the museum continued with most the direction and information exspelled through TV screens and posters but was all in Italian with no subtitles, it wasnt a huge issue as the video footage and pictures tell a very interesting story of this era.

This museum has a very modern feel that has a Imperial War Museum touch to it

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We were looking for something to do in Catania while waiting for the time to go to the airport and found this museum. It's about the American/British landing in Sicily during World War II, a bit like the Normandy landing.
It's actually quite a good museum. The visit starts with a reconstruction of a typical sicilian village in the days right before the landing, then the air raid sirens wail and you sit in a reconstructed air raid refuge which actually shakes when bombs "explode" outside. The air raid ends and you exit the refuge into a reconstruction of the same village, except it's all been destroyed by the bombs.
The rest of the museum is more conventional. There are weapons and uniforms but not too boring. There are also interesting wax statues of Hitler, Churchill and co + miscellaneous leaflets, ration cards, bits and bobs of everyday war-life.
Our kids loved it!
The displays are in Italian + English.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank lesBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“THE BEST museum in sicily”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

entrance 4e. where do i start? i must say we are very interested in the events of WW2, so really enjoyed this. a free guide took us part of the way. highlighted what a bombing raid was like in a rumbling, life like bomb shelter, damage to a square before and after, videos, madame tussauds waxwork dummies of the key players in the war, uniforms, guns, torpedoes, press releases, 30- odd machine guns, the list goes on. GREAT for kids, too. set in the le ciminiere area on the front. loads of parking, easy to get to. GO GO GO, adam budd

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank ajbkaraoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Storico dello Sbarco in Sicilia 1943 also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Been to Museo Storico dello Sbarco in Sicilia 1943? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing