We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very run down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Catania Excelsior
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Catania
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a deluxe room. The hotel was quite run down & the corridors smelled musty. The bedrooms very tired & needed a complete make over. There was no hot water in the shower during our stay, it was little more than tepid. We had to eat in the bar area as the restaurant was only open to a group on a package tour. All in all not a great stay.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank hargar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 991 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were very disappointed given the rating. Generally this was a terrible place. The bar is quite beautiful however that is the only thing. Reception staff were most unfriendly and not willing to help. Rooms are in bad shape. Very surprised.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leesheedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel location is very good since it is very comfortable to get to the bus sation or to the center in 10 -15 minutes.The staff at the reception was very welcoming,patient and nice especially Rosa.There was variety of tastey food at breakfast.The room was clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malka w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed one night before a flight and must say it was the best place we stayed in Italy. The staff were really friendly and we got a Junior suite on the 4th floor. The room was great with a double bed for me and my wife in 1 room, separated by a door to when our kids stayed next door. The furniture in the room was of an excellent quality and the bed was perfect. Breakfast was also excellent with a hot and cold selection and even champagne if you wanted it. Parking was free too and it was about 10 minutes walking to the centre. Dont hesitate in staying here when in Catania.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

As with my other hotel review from Catania, we found ourselves at the Excelsior under very unhappy circumstances having been de-frauded out of our booking at the No 2 hotel. Due to a conference in town and the Film Festival rooms in Catania at the end of September were in very short supply and at a premium. At very short notice we were given two rooms for which we were grateful.

One we were told was Deluxe. For nearly 200 Euros this room was a total rip off just because of the rules of supply and demand. Our 'Deluxe' room had torn wallpaper, light almost off the wall, stained threadbare carpets, beds as hard as a board and pillows made of rock. The bathroom was enormous, in fact disproportionate to the bedroom area. There was a huge plate glass window with what can only really be described as a sheet hanging up at it in front of the bath. We did not realise till morning this glass was not frosted or obscured in anyway. The fittings in the bathroom were not modern and like the rest of the room in need of updating.
To cap it all the AC is switched of at midnight and did not come on again until 06.30.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel 5 years ago and loved it, but this hotel now suffers from maintenance issues. It is a shame, since I had such fond memories.

Check in was speedy, although I had to wait a bit for a room since housekeeping was slow (I was 20 min before check in time). Walking to my room, I saw several areas where mold was growing on the wall. The room was large, but dated. The carpet and bathroom were a bit worn.

My colleagues all arrived the next day, and we all began comparing notes on the maintenance issues in out rooms. One had a puddle in the bathroom. One had a leaky ceiling. One, the phone didn't work. One a light fixture fell down when they entered the room. I had a leaky ceiling when I turned the AC on.

The food at the hotel was good, but I always felt like I was putting the waitstaff out when I asked for anything (except for Fabio who is an amazing waiter). I was unhappy that a small little diet Coke is 6 Eur. Food at the restaurant is good...the ravioli with bacon and walnuts is amazing.

The hotel is a very good value, but be prepared for maintenance items. Breakfast is included, and is very good. A short walk to the Duomo and shopping area (via Etna).

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Etna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alm5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is definitely not a brand new hotel and probably not the best in Catania, but it's ok if you're thinking to spend one or two nights in Catania. They say wifi doesn't work on the room, but it worked in mine and I hadn't to pay the 10 euro charge. The room was quite wide and it was cleaned. The beds were confortable and shower worked very well. There is also a parking lot behind the hotel and it's free. Good location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarinaA86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,821 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
NH Catania Centro
NH Catania Centro
#9 of 49 in Catania
1,189 reviews
Plaza Hotel Catania
#5 of 49 in Catania
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
576 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 49 in Catania
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Catania Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Catania Excelsior

Address: Piazza Giovanni Verga 39, 95129 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Catania
#11 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#14 Business Hotel in Catania
Price Range: $82 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Catania Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A PRESTIGIOUS FOUR-STAR HOTEL SITUATED IN THE CITY CENTRE. Welcome to the Grand Hotel Excelsior Catania, a prestigious four-star hotel in Sicily's beautiful second city which lies in the shadow of Mount Etna. Black volcanic rock and white limestone have given Catania its own striking visual aspect, which makes it an ideal tourist destination. Our hotel is also well-adapted to meet the needs of business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Catania Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Catania
Hotel Excelsior Grand
Mercure Catania Excelsior Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing