We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Love escape in Catania at the B&B Globetrotter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monastero dei Benedettini

Monastero dei Benedettini
Ranked #2 of 143 things to do in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Il Monastero di San Nicolo l'Arena di Catania (#monasterocatania), gioiello del tardo barocco siciliano e tra i complessi benedettini piu' grandi d'Europa. L'edificio monastico, che nasce nel '500 e si sviluppa fino ai giorni nostri, e' un esempio di integrazione architettonica tra le epoche: contraddistinto da molteplici trasformazioni oggi e' patrimonio mondiale dell'Unesco. Sede del DiSUM (dipartimento di Scienze Umanistiche) dell'Universita' degli Studi di Catania, custodisce al suo interno due domus romane, i chiostri e un intero piano costruito da G. B. Vaccarini sopra il banco lavico del 1669. Dal 2010 Officine Culturali, in collaborazione con l'Universita degli Studi di Catania, si occupa della valorizzazione del Monastero dei Benedettini. Il Monastero e' considerato uno dei beni culturali piu' significativi del meridione d'Italia. La missione assunta da Officine Culturali consiste nel rendere accessibile e comprensibile il Monastero nel migliore dei modi e al maggior numero di persone possibile. A tal scopo Officine Culturali ha attivato un'offerta di fruizione variegata e dinamica. Attraverso il servizio di visite guidate giornaliero e' possibile conoscere gli aspetti piu' significativi dell'ex plesso monastico. I percorsi guidati per i piu' piccoli sono arricchiti dai laboratori, dove la narrazione delle "arti e mestieri" benedettini e' svolta in maniera creativa e divertente da professionisti della didattica dell'arte, dell'architettura, delle tradizioni e delle scienze. Oltre al quotidiano svolgimento delle attivita' di promozione, valorizzazione, informazione e accoglienza, Officine Culturali e' promotrice di iniziative ed eventi culturali e di intrattenimento, finalizzati a rendere il Monastero uno spazio di integrazione e aggregazione per la collettivita'.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love escape in Catania at the B&B Globetrotter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Worth visiting, one of the biggest Benedictin monastery in Europe hosting now the University of Catania

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Muriel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    802
    235
    48
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Go with the tour, even in Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I visited monastery at the beginning of September, later in the afternoon, so place was almost empty. When I first stop by in tour office, they told me that tours are offer in Italian only and suggested that I should grab map and just wondering by my own. I tried, but it did not work – some rooms was closed, some was hard to find, etc; so I get back to the office and join tour in Italian. My guide did not speak English at all, but I got I cheat-sheet with a numbers, so on each stop she pointed on appropriate number and I read comments in English, which were really interesting. Monastery is very impressive blends of roman, baroque and contemporary architecture and tour is needed to really understand and appreciate work of many generations.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“I want to study/teach there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

It's worth watching students following their courses in this magnificient building. You can wander around, inside and outside, and take the time to sit in the small court on the left side of the building looking at the facade and the balconies. Amazing work.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank greggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

It is worth a visit if you are visiting Catania and especially when helped by the friendly people of officine culturali

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank emilio028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of Largest European Monastery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Only in Saragozza Spain they build a bigger one. However what once was a unit is now split in several different parts. The most interesting is now one of the Main College of the Catania University. Inside there is a number of small yards, one after the other. A great Library and an underground part open to the public. It includes Roman, Greek remains incorporated in what became the "service area for the monks", the kitchen and more.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ManDatTing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monastero dei Benedettini also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Been to Monastero dei Benedettini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing