We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Monte Etna
from $69.40
More Info
from $101.80
More Info
from $100.70
More Info
from $22.00
More Info
Reviews (10,167)
Filter reviews
3,320 results
Traveler rating
2,275
744
195
74
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,275
744
195
74
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car active volcano rifugio sapienza base camp walk up sea level live volcano souvenir shops by foot wheel drive highest point warm clothing half way walking shoes once in a lifetime north side lava fields
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,320 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

We went up Mt. Etna in a stormy,rainy and misty day.We were'nt able to enjoy the views but nevertheless,i was impressed by the combination of volcanic ash end the changing colors of the leaves. A Hot soup helped us to defrost our frozen bodies

Thank dyonai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

Our tour group were in 4-wheel vehicles with a local naturalists/guide. He explained the different type of volcanic mountains, then specifically about Mt Etna. We drove first to the town of Milo, then up to about 5000 to walk toward the Sartonius Mounts, a series of craters and cinder cones. We hiked to the top of one cinder cone and while taking pictures, we heard a clap of thunder and the rain came in torrents. Traveled up to 6000 ft for some hot chocolate but here the view was hampered by rain and fog. Next, farther up the mountain went off road for a wild ride through the forest to get close to a lava flow that had covered the road. While we never saw the top of Mt Etna, this was a wonderful excursion despite of the weather.

Thank showmemo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

I absolutely loved touring Mount Etna. I went in October, so the leaves were turning and the combination of the volcanic ash and the eye-popping orange leaves were beautiful and unique-- I've never seen anything like it. PLEASE visit this beautiful natural wonder!

Thank annabob91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

This mountain rises to a peak of 3300 metres and is stunning to view, it has snow on the top in early November when Catania is still 20 degrees. Truly beautiful, nature at its best. NOT to be missed.

Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Due to time restraint I only saw Etna from a distance. It looks grand and dominates the area. Looked stunning ad sun was going down when on drive from Taormina.

Thank IAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We did a half day tour and the hike.
The experience was unforgettable indeed. Must do for anyone visiting Catania

Thank RRk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Etna is a must seen in catania. We been for one day tour with turistic city bus 35€ per person. It was cold on a bus so its good to take jackets. Bus drives up to 2000 m so we went walking around volcano. There was cable to lift us to the top of volcano 3000 m but it was 65€ for a person witch was too expensive for us.

Thank RobertoDonadoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

My wife and took a local tour with about 15 interesting people from all different parts of world. The cost was $25 euro's per person.

Thank paranko2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Going to Etna vulcan has been a fantastic excursion. The landscape is amazing and the contrast of black hearth with autumn colours is very pitturesque.

Thank foodaddicted74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

What else can I add to this? Must go if you are in Sicily. Whether you just visit the area around the cable car station, take the cable car or hike all the way up, the views are fantastic. The only I'd add here that might be helpful if you drive up. Park at the right place, make sure you check the signages. Don't park at the bus lane unless your's is a bus. We were fortunate that some kind soul warned us when we parked at the wrong bay, thinking we got lucky at the very busy car parks. We found out later when we were leaving, if you drive to where the hotel is, there are quite a number of free car parks there, and less people around. Also, don't eat in the restaurant at the edge of the hill. It was expensive and not great. The stalls along the road look much more interesting, though not cheap either. I guess this is due to the popularity of this place. There is a small hill you can climb if you fancy a bit of climb but not all the way up.

1  Thank HT1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews