We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Guide”
Review of Monte Etna

Monte Etna
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.47*
and up
Etna at Sunset Half-Day Tour from Taormina
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Small-Group Mount Etna Sunset Walking Tour
More Info
$88.24*
and up
Small Group Tour: Etna wine and Alcantara from Taormina
Ranked #1 of 172 things to do in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sicily's greatest natural attraction is also its highest mountain: Mount Etna, at 10,990 feet, is the most active volcano in Europe and the oldest recorded active volcano in the world.
Hastings
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Guide”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Mount Etna is amazing and we had a fantastic guide in Florena who was very knowledgeable and very passionate. She was so personable and a perfect guide to the area

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,484
    1,657
    379
    111
    49
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
paisley scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mount etna rip off”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

So Mount Etna you park at the main car park cheap at 2.5€, there are craters and volcanic surroundings all around you at this level. If you choose as we did to go all the way to the top prepared to be disappointed it is 57€ each for cable car to the top and a bus a bit further up so up there you meet a "guide" the most disinterested person I have ever met at a tourist site, you are told you can't go further without a guide he walks you around a crater it looks the same a the craters below , the information given Is "stating the bleeding obvious" the rest of the guides are equally miserable.Take my advice park at the car park see the craters there and spend 171€ on a fab meal and an expensive bottle of very nice Sicilian wine.Have been all around the world seen natural and man made wonders and this is the biggest rip off ever

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank lexiethesaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beware of the Winds!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our Cruise excursion included a trip to Mount Etna which was definitely something to see and experience. Silvestri Crater is the area where we visited. We had a beautiful day to view the scenes from the mountain; however, please be cognizant of the winds and dress accordingly. Great tour!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank geeluv05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
463 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“A warning”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

It's probably unfair to mark Etna down based on our experience, which was defined by poor weather and cloud, but a few things to be aware of:
- it's worth driving up to Rifugio Sapienza even if the top is covered in cloud (which it was for the whole week we were nearby) - the lava fields, cones and views are great
- despite there seeming to be hardly anyone on the road, we came over the rise to Rifugio Sapienza and the place was solid with cars, people and especially tour buses. It was very difficult to get parked even on this poor day (though relatively easy if you can find a place 'on' the road a little way back and walk in)
- most (all?) of the cafes/restaurants there are overcrowded and pricey, as you'd probably expect
- the cloud was mostly just above the Rifugio but kept drifting in, so not much point in going higher, but we did check it out: to get all the way up is 60 Euros (cable car, 4WD and guide for last bit)... an independent tour (see other reviews) may be better, though presumably no cheaper.
Hope the weather is clear when you're there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great experience....”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I've booked our excursion through Sicily Life and it was simply fantastic. I sincerely thank this agency for the excellent service provided.

The guide / driver, Mr. Paolo Gallo has surely made our excursion to Etna, one that we would never forget. He was simply great and such a gentleman. He was so prepared in the subject constantly giving us information which we appreciated a lot. My son was over the moon. A big thanks goes to Mr. Gallo.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Antoinette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Etna also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Lampedusa, Islands of Sicily
 

Been to Monte Etna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing