We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real live volcano.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Monte Etna

Monte Etna
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.98*
and up
Etna at Sunset Half-Day Tour from Taormina
Ranked #1 of 163 things to do in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sicily's greatest natural attraction is also its highest mountain: Mount Etna, at 10,990 feet, is the most active volcano in Europe and the oldest recorded active volcano in the world.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A real live volcano.”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a p[leasant day here on this very dangerous mountain. The craters were amazing to see and the lava fields would scare you.The power of mother nature is amazing. Once up on the top it is a little anticlimatic. It is also expensive to get there and maybe not worth it. Do not buy on
the mountain as everything is so expensive. Some of the locals in the restaurants not too friendly.
Still not to be missed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lStephano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,054 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,058
    1,507
    344
    101
    44
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We avoided the crowds around Silvestre station and found a beautiful hike near the botanic garden (Gardino Alpino). The hike was around 4 km and quiet enough for us. I recommend this tour if you don't want to join the crowds at tourist shops

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank akeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Level Contributor
164 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not to be missed.”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Excellent trip, even for mid 70 year olds. The coach took us to the cable car and a four wheel drive took us from the top of the cable car to 2900m. Spectacular and well worth the expense.
Etna was puffing out regularly and the surrounding area/snow covered in ash. Told it would be freezing up there but we were sheltered from the wind and it was very mild. We were lucky.
Not worth it if the weather isn't clear and could be a big disappointment.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Up close with the volcano”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Highly recommend the experience of climbing the mountain with the aid of cable car and mountain buses. Other worldly experience. Not to be missed when visiting Sicily

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CNBMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“beautiful views, make sure you walk around”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We visited Etna in April, it was quite cold and cloudy, so most organized tours were not operating. Nevertheless some of the craters are easily accessible from the road, though a couple require a steep climb. But the combination of lava and snow really give the Etna a majestic look. As we drove towards Traumina, we notice a small road to the left, followed it and ended in a trailhead. This hike led us parallel to lava flow valley, and with the snow cover tops in the background, it was really striking.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank YigalM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Etna also viewed

Lampedusa, Islands of Sicily
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Monte Etna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing