We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winelovers, this is for you!”
Review of Il Cantiniere

Il Cantiniere
Reserve with
Save up to 50% when you reserve online *
Il Cantiniere is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #201 of 981 Restaurants in Catania
Price range: $11 - $111
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ognina-Picanello-Stazione
Description: Present in the heart of Catania, Il Cantiniere in one of the largest wineriers and restaurant in Italy. Contains 12.000 labels of wines, spiurits, and beers, served in a refined and elegannce place by qulified sommeliers and trained staff., ready to make a discover and choose the best bootles, Il Cantiniere in an restarurant a culinary paradise for lovers of good food, with prestigius meats, cheese to taste, and differents varietes of meats and fresh fish. Il CCantiniere also provides a delivery service from 09.00 a.m to 02.00 a.m. every day, and have a bus shuttle free for eat a la cartè.and also we have a Buffet for lunch "all You can eat.
Palermo, Italy
Level Contributor
112 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Winelovers, this is for you!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Been there for a light dinner and to admire the huge amount and variety of wines on their shelves. Most of the Sicilian wineries are listed, together with the best of Italian and international labels. The kitchen is open on the dining room and it creates dishes ranging from simple appetizers to cheese or cold meat boards from all over Italy to nice desserts. The sommelier gave us some tips on the wine to combine with our dishes and it was absolutely appropriate. This is an amazing spot for true winelovers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarsaAllah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    196
    115
    79
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food with wine to match”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a fantastic gem of a place, A combination of the biggest deli counter I have seen, a wine bar and top quaility restaurant. The meat platter to share for a starter, steak that melted in your mouth and cheesecake that deserves to be a meal all on its own. The service was excellent, with a mature waiting staff that knew what they were talking about. All this complemented by a wine selection to meet every pallet and dish with a wine waiter that really knew his wines (and there were hundreds to choose from). My advice - choose good food and accept the advice of the staff to compliment it with a good wine and go there as often as you can. Having just spent three weeks in Catania, this was by far the best an most friendly place to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food and Wine Selection!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Either for eating or for just a drink I really enyojed my time spent there: we had great sicilians starters with great wines and then we all had a main dish with pasta or just meat! It was so delicious that we shared our dishes!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Superscricciolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
308 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Wine & food lovers #1 spot”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

For some reason we didn't really have any type of expectations regarding Il Cantiniere that Sunday evening when we walked in to grab a bite but when we left, we swore to come back. Everything, the food, the wines and the atmosphere are seriously unique. The food was very good and the suggested wines made it even better. The service was attentive and fast.

On Sunday and Tuesday evenings they had wine tasting which you really must try! What a great idea to have good wines with snacks available for guests to try all evening long.

We'd return to Catania for Il Cantiniere!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristiina83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Sicilia, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“best wine selection & atmosphere”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Have been here a half dozen times. Great place to take a group of friends - make a reservation. English spoken by staff & English menus available. Friendly & accommodating. Incredible ambiance with spacious feel and wines from floor to ceiling throughout - the largest selection in Sicily. Food is good with moderate to high prices for Catania.

Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Cantiniere also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 
Catania, Province of Catania
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Been to Il Cantiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing