We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great design.....”
Review of Hotel Romano House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Romano House
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great design.....”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

In Catania for a night at the end of our summer holiday, this hotel was a great find. The location seemed slightly odd at first but it is perfect to walk around the centre of town from. The hotel is an intriguing mixture of classical and modern; our daughters had a modern room - great design - while we had the good fortune to be upgraded to the fantabulous painted ceilinged room with reverie inducing nymphs and sky - but also modern bathroom etc etc. The staff were helpful and efficient - and in the case of one gentleman, very entertaining.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Queen_Camel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    220
    77
    23
    9
See reviews for
47
272
34
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

My Girlfriend and Myself stayed here for a week in October 2012. This is a fantastic little hotel from top to bottom.The hotel staff are exceptional, and special praise must be made for Antonio the Barman, who is hospitality personified, and an absolute gent. He is a credit to the Hotel. He made our stay very enjoyable, as did all the Staff, and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnBradanEolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We spent a week at the Romano House Hotel in May/June of this year where in Sicily on business. The hotel was clean, comfortable, relatively well appointed and had large guestrooms, at least compared to many other European hotels that I have stayed at. The location in the centre of town is excellent, within walking distance of most of what Catania has to offer in terms of sights, shopping and eating. Traffic getting to and from the hotel can be quite bad, but it is no worse than any other large Italian city. Morning breakfast was good, with more than your typical continental breakfast available. Staff were helpful in pointing out areas of interest in the city and arranging for tours (such as to Mt Etna or Taormina).The night manager is a real professional guy, he is the best!!! i think his name was giakomo

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
242 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Spent a night for business. I found everything perfect for my needs, Reception, clean and comfortable room, big shower, excellent Internet for free, good croissants at Breakfast (good in quality and quantity). Located just in center, in a minute You are in beautifull squares. Will go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gianluca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a business trip. The hotel was modern with easy but nice decoration. The room i was in was big and very spacious and a very comfortable bed. The only problem was the room was noisy from ventilation in the walls ( I think my room was next to the whole ventilation system for all the hotel). Also at 6am in the morning all the lights in my room just turned on for no reason... very strange

Breakfast was so so, there was only one waitress and she always seemed to be busy doing things and not having time to serve me. it was a buffet breakfast and not very good. The waitress didn't come to ask me if i wanted a drink or eggs. I ended up leaving and going elsewhere outside of the hotel.

It was a nice hotel but im not sure if i would go back.... I think i would go for a more commercial hotel next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexinaGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed at the Romano House Hotel after 5 nights in Messina. The hotel was modern, clean and in a great location for getting to the main markets and shopping. It cost 10 euros to get from the Catania Central train station but it was worth it - my bag was heavy. I had a superior room which faced the main street in front and I first thought I was in a bad area. This did not turn out to be the case. If you leave the hotel and make a left, go one block and make a right, you are in the middle of the action.

The bed had wonderful sheets, the bathroom was marble and there was even a sitting area between them. I purchased their tasting meal for 35 euros, which included a glass of Prosecco with a small starter, followed by a wonderful larger starter, a pasta dish to die for, and a main course (stuffed chicken breast). The glass of red wine that came with the meal was second to none and was even from a local winery. Dessert was a bowl of limone gelato. I recommend the restaurant highly. The breakfast buffet the next day was also tasty, with a large assortment of choices.

Since I had a late flight Saturday, I managed to persuade the young man at the front desk to give me a late checkout. This enabled me to have a great walk all around the downtown area. There are 2 major markets that you should not miss, and they are linked by the main shopping street (Etna). It looked like there was a historical site on every other block. It was an interesting town to see on foot. I could have spent hours watching all the activity at the fish market.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScDGal2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Very nicely equipped boutique hotel/room with excellent service and location. Outstanding design choices in renovated old mansion. One drawback: average breakfast with rather rude service and staff running out of food well before end of breakfast timing.

Room Tip: ask for room with shower otherwise the ones with tubs have poor shower head design
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KlausMaus139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
1,655 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 50 in Catania
762 reviews
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 50 in Catania
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Il Principe Hotel
#14 of 50 in Catania
1,018 reviews
Centro Catania
Katane Palace Hotel
Katane Palace Hotel
#12 of 50 in Catania
702 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
NH Catania Centro
NH Catania Centro
#7 of 50 in Catania
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romano House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romano House

Property: Hotel Romano House
Address: Via Giovanni di Prima nr. 20, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Catania
#4 Business Hotel in Catania
#7 Luxury Hotel in Catania
#8 Romantic Hotel in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romano House 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 star hotel located in the heart of baroque Catania, is a harmonious cross between historical 17th century architecture and the most contemporary and exclusive design. Precious 17th century art rooms combined with the most sophisticated design. Charming suites and comfortable luxurious rooms, each with an ad hoc atmosphere and typology, catered to your wishes.House Bar and "Il Riccio Restaurant" is part of Romano House Luxury Hotel, a place where tradition meets innovation. A rich Sicilian, and in particular Catanian traditional "cuisine", reinterpreted and modernised with complete respect for territory inspired flavours.To complete the offer, guests can find many modern meeting spaces.WiFi internet access is free in all rooms and spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Romano House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Romano House Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing