We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay at Antiche Volte”
Review of Antiche Volte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antiche Volte
Ranked #20 of 314 Catania B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hubbards Nova Scotia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay at Antiche Volte”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at Antiche Volte for five nights recently, it was a lovely secure facility with great rooms and a most helpful staff. The breakfasts were wonderful, many choices. The location in Catania was also great, it's an easy walk to and from the train and bus stations. We would have no hesitation in recommending Antiche Volte to any other travelers, and we would certainly stay there again ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Feisty03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    46
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
91
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at this lovely B&B in Catania for two nights in July 2013. It is located on the first floor of a Baroque building and is about 10-15 minutes walk to Villa Bellini and Catania's legendary markets. The room is one of the best we have stayed in over several years of travelling in Italy. It was big, beautifully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The shower was out of this world, extremely powerful and even had a seat - perfect after a day walking around the city. The staff were friendly, helpful and warm. The breakfast was really good. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B as a perfect base to explore one of Southern Italy's most atmospheric cities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_N5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A lovely floor of rooms each with an ensuite. The room I stayed in had a wonderful high ceiling decoration and ornate lighting. Pristinely clean in the room and bathroom. Breakfast is a wonderful experience of smiling, helpful staff with a fresh twist to breakfast. Fresh squeezed juices and home made cakes along with the usual cearel selection all in lovely ceramic bowls and cheerful table setting.
I would recommend this accommodation. Car parking out back and just one set of stairs inside. Very safe, clean and a touch of escape in such a big city!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at this B&B during Easter week. We didn't have previous reservations and they were able to accomodate us by a knock at the door. Georgio and Mathilde are the owners, a young couple very busy making a successful and comfortable place to stay in Catania. Rooms were large, great bathroom, nice attention to details throughout, even down to wonderful fragrant soaps. They were helpful in informing us about Catania, great restaurants. Parking is also included in their good room rates. I will recommend Antiche Volte to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I discovered this place via a friend who lives in Catania. Ever since my first visit there in June of 2012, I have made this exquisite B&B my home whenever I travel to Catania. Perfect location to city center, shopping and lovely restaurants and outings. Extremely helpful and welcoming staff. Beautifully decorated and unique rooms. A must!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca2829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matha2, Proprietario at Antiche Volte, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi Francesca!
I'm really happy to met you!
We are pleased that Antiche Volte is your home in Catania!
See you soon!

Matilde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Had a great stay. The B&B was beautiful with a large room and big bathroom. Lovely decor and comfy bed. Shower had good pressure. Breakfast was nice with fresh orange juice which we thought was delicious with croissants, sliced.meat, boiled eggs and cereal. The owner Matilde provided us with good information about Catania, where to go, what to see, where to eat and tours to Mt Etna. She speaks English and so do the breakfast staff. All are very helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matha2, Proprietario at Antiche Volte, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi guys!
Thank u so much!
Was really a pleasure to meet you!
Matilde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We arrived in Catania late at night and attempted to book in to this hotel. Despite having booked via an on-line booking site - they had no record of our booking. We were gutted! Despite this the staff were so apologetic and helpful and immediately rang another hotel a few 100 metres away and booked us into the other hotel.

Even though we didn't get to stay in the hotel - they bent over backwards to ensure that we were safe and found somewhere to stay. Fantastic service!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skinbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
Art & Jazz Hotel
#9 of 49 in Catania
151 reviews
OttoMood Catania Centro
#1 of 314 in Catania
451 reviews
B&B Palazzo Bruca Catania
#11 of 314 in Catania
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Etna Suite Rooms
#3 of 314 in Catania
322 reviews
Centro Catania
Bad Catania
Bad Catania
#28 of 314 in Catania
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Volte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Volte

Property: Antiche Volte
Address: Via Umberto 265, 95129 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 314 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antiche Volte 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antichevolte is located in the city center of Catania in Via Umberto n. 265. The palace of the early '900s, recently renovated with free private parking. B&B is tastefully furnished with carefully selected furniture, paying special attention to the details. The rooms have bathroom, balcony, LCD TV, internet, radio, all adorned with frescoed vaulted ceilings and originals floors. Among the rooms also has a suite with Jacuzzi and a room dedicated to the disabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Antiche Volte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Volte Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing