We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Google
Ways to Experience Ashara - Volcanological Guides in Sicily
from $50.60
More Info
from $50.60
More Info
from $61.84
More Info
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
187
5
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
187
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his passion massimo knowledge summit lava tour etna
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We did the Etna summit trekking tour with our guide Massimo or Max.
Although it was not possible to get up to the summit crater due to high volcanic activity, the tour was just great. The landscape up there is incredibly impressive and beautiful. Max was the best guide one could imagine, extremely friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable about everything concerning volcanoes.
The staff at Ashara was also very nuce and helpful, they even refunded the fee for one of us who fell sick the night before the tour.
A great experience!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank RoAs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asharastaff, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Ashara - Volcanological Guides in Sicily, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the review. Etna is unpredictable and sometimes you have to change the route by necessity, but the alternatives are just as interesting. Our guides are very prepared and can turn the excursions into wonderful adventures. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good informative tour with snacks and wine to end
Place was easy to find without very tiny roads and has free parking.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Wesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Etna mountain is not like the other mountains so if you want to visit it in the best way you NEED a guide. Ashara have the best guides there. Massimo was gentle, prepared and very clear in the explainations. It's undeniable that he makes this job firstly for passion, and for a guide this is the most important thing

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank GigiAP84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asharastaff, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Ashara - Volcanological Guides in Sicily, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the review. You're right, our guides are happy to do their job and do it with a lot of passion and this is evident during the excursions. Thank you, see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

Great guide, easy to find the team and amazing trip.

Would definitely recommend that you bring a scarf or something to cover your mouth and nose with due to gas at the summit area.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Camilla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asharastaff, Public Relations Manager at Ashara - Volcanological Guides in Sicily, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2019

Thanks for the review. Thank you for choosing us and trusting you in Ashàra. We look forward to seeing you soon for other amazing excursions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019

It was a terrific journey to Etna craters.
Great views to be had all along the way.
The summit itself was not accessible due to too much volcanic gas, but we were nearly there.
The guide, Massimo (Max) was very informative and passionate about the volcano and had a great attitude and sense of humour.
Highly recommended for anyone looking to see Etna from up close.
It is also possible to get transportation from Catania to the meeting point for those of you without a car

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Ragutislt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asharastaff, Public Relations Manager at Ashara - Volcanological Guides in Sicily, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2019

Thanks for the review. We are very pleased to read about your satisfaction because our guides do their job with a lot of passion and are very attentive to the needs of our guests. We regret not having reached the top, but we know that the activity of the volcano is unpredictable ... Thanks and see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews