We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem in Catania!”
Review of Palazzu Stidda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palazzu Stidda
GreenLeadersGold level
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A true gem in Catania!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Difficult to know what to start with as this place really is a pure delight!

Located in the middle of Catania's historic area, between the castle (Castello Ursino) and the fishmarket (La Pescheria), walking distance (10min) from the Cathedral (Il Duomo), it's location is outstanding for a city trip. If you've rented a car, you can park it on the street for free.

The Palazzu is a 3-strorey building, tastefully renovated by the owners. We stayed in the 2 apartments of the 1st floor (apt. 1 and 2). Both are equally well decorated and comfortable. The kitchen (apt. 2) is perfectly equipped to cook for a whole family (we have a toddler and a baby). We immediately felt at home.

The real gem of the Palazzu in fact is its owners. Patricia and Giovanni, are these kind of people you meet once and never forget! With a total respect of their hosts' privacy, they are welcoming, charming, cultivated and helpful. In our case, they played a key role in our successful stay in Catania and we look forward to being their clients again soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripsuiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
65
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Having staying in Palazzu Stidda at the flat n° 3 'LOdissea' recently, we were deeply impressed by the host, Patricia and Giovanni. Indeed, we learnt so much about Patricia and Giovanni, especially their enthusiasm in nurturing their young family. Inside the apartment, the artwork was so detailed and well decorated, thanks to Giovanni's craftsmanship for making his artwork into everyday life. If you want to get a sense of how a genuine passionate artist was like, I suggest you should meet Giovanni. Of course the location was in the heart of Catania, so you can enjoy the early morning expresso in the seafood market, and as well as the variety of fresh seafood and fruits. With the helped from Patricia and Giovanni, we managed to dine into a local, authentic but not pretentious seafood restaurant that only took us only 5 minutes to walk from our stay. We felt very welcomed during our stay and were treated like family members by Patricia and Giovanni. We'll certainly visit Patricia and Giovanni again and hopefully to stay for a little longer the next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We are a family of 4 (travelling with two teens) and stayed at the flat n° 3 'LOdissea' for a week.
Space: Gorgeous, airy and full of light. We all loved the beautiful, very comfy and individual handcrafted loft beds - Co-Owner Giovanni made them from reclaimed wood. Don't worry: If you are not into sleeping in a loft bed there are also comfy (day)beds. Palazzu Stidda has a lot of character, individual style and natural beauty. In the spotless clean kitchen and the bathroom (washing mashine included) you'll find everything you need for daily use - which gives you the opportunity to shop fresh vegetables, fruits, cheese, bread, olives, pasta and fish at the markeds right around the corner and enjoy it at the Palazzu.
Location: Excellent and safe. In the middle of everything but secluded in a calm alley. You can walk everywhere, even to the bus station and train station.
The Hosts: We travel a lot, met a lot of different people and hosts - but Giovanni and Patricia are one of a kind. Friendly, reliable, warm and welcoming from the first contact on. When we arrived at the flat they had prepared a bowl full of fruits, bread and butter accompanied by mineral water - a most welcomed refreshment after the trip and for free! Listen to their great suggestions when it comes to eat out or take a trip - you will not be disappointed!
Suggestion: If you want to visit Etna go by public transport. It is by far the cheapest way to get there. Just ask Giovanni and Patricia.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4designers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We, a family of three - mum, dad and 4month old daughter - have just returned from our 6day trip to Catania.
The best thing about it was our accomodation at Palazzu Stidda and especially Patrizia and Giovanni who were incredibly friendly, helpful and accomodating.
Even before our arrival, Patricia answered my many questions in great detail and they offered us to provide everything we needed for our little baby girl - pram, cot, highchair, baby bouncer, baby carrier, so we were able to travel light which was a great thing and a relief too.
Upon arrival we were met by Giovanni at the airport (they pick you up if you request it) and arrived at the Palazzu about 20 minutes later.
The flat (no.1) was on the first floor of a beautifully renovated old house with high vaulted ceilings. It had two rooms and a small bathroom with a shower - perfectly adequate for a couple plus a small child! Inside the flat, the furniture and decorations were really nice, and some bread, fruit, condiments and water were waiting for us. There is also a lovely balcony which we didn't use very often since the weather wasn't that great at the beginning of March. However, everything else about the accomodation was great (if you don't mind those crazy loud Vespa drivers) and Giovanni and Patricia were always there to answer questions or help us out in any way - they are lovely and amazingly friendly hosts!!!
I can recommend this to anybody, especially to young families or couples. We were sad when we had to leave. This was our first holiday as a new family and we couln't have chosen a better place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_nixe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

For the sake of some elderly guests who also were staying in this pearl of accomodation in beautiful Catania, Patricia and Giovanni kindly asked to upgrade us to a different appartment. The other guests found it too difficult to climb the stairs to the bed. We, on the other hand, found this utterly romantic and were more than happy to. The hosts friendly yet humble attitude, their eagerness to show us the gems of the city and especially the neighbourhood, from bustling local restaurants to wine shops where they fill your old water bottle with local produce. The location is perfect, a step back from the busy market place in a calm alley.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tevott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. we never suspected the accommodation would be so beautiful and 2 people could be so friendly!
We arrived early but this wasn't a problem, Patricia & Giovanni were very helpful and provided any information we required for Catania. On arrival we were given a map of the area with all the restaurants and places Patricia & Giovanni visit and use in the local area... really helpful!
Palazzu Stidda is only a 5 min walk to the main square and about 2 mins from the food market... which is great for getting supplies in the morning! the Photos say it all!
Truly a wonderful place, thanks to Patrica and Giovanni who are some of the nicest people we have met! We hope to visit again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We arrived in Catania almost by mistake due to the airline changing our flight and had two nights. How we all wished it could have been longer. Patricia and Giovanni were utterly delightful - we were enchanted. They greeted us like friends and were so helpful at all times. It was the most beautiful start to our holiday. The location is outstanding - like an oasys in the middle of the chaos of Catania. Our 13 year old daughter loves art and she took photos of every bit of our stunning apartment. She particularly loved Mew Mew.
Catania was one of the most unusual places I have visited. It's actually quite small (the historical part) but every corner brings surprises and delights. The fish market was like nothing I have ever seen. It felt as though I was watching a film set.
Despite the chaos and the rubbish ( I was staggered by how sicillians seem not to care for their environment, never mind all the stray animals) I was hooked and would love to go back. If we ever do go back we will stay here for sure. They will stay in our minds forever.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wufty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,685 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 49 in Catania
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
204 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
NH Catania Centro
NH Catania Centro
#9 of 49 in Catania
1,095 reviews
Centro Catania
Katane Palace Hotel
Katane Palace Hotel
#13 of 49 in Catania
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzu Stidda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzu Stidda

Property: Palazzu Stidda
Address: Vicolo della Lanterna 5 | Angolo Via Auteri 40, 95121 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania > Centro Catania
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzu Stidda Catania-Palazzo Stella in the Sicilian language-is an The Palazzu Stidda of Catania is a charming Sicilian venue, which provides 3 appartments : AMURI ( 35m2), INCANTO ( 50m2), ODISSEA ( 50M2) and offers a beautiful oasis terrace , for a sunbathing and relax within our herb garden and citrus trees. Palazzu Stidda greets you in one of the most charming Vicolo of Catania, which makes of this antic palazzo one of the most secret address of the center town. Palazzu Stidda is just a short walk from the Duomo and from the Antic fish market Pescheria, a step off Via Etnea, bars, cafés and restaurants. You are in the perfect place to experience the authenticity of this vulcanic city and to explore the Etna region , wine country and not-to-be-missed Taormina, Siracusa, Ragusa, Modica, Noto and so many other Baroque towns of the south. Thus Giovanni and Patricia are available for any information or assistance you might need during your visit in Catania. They live in the building next door, and work in their workshops on the ground floors, where are born most of Palazzu Stidda's furnitures and decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Palazzu Stidda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzu Stidda Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing