We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and immaculate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sciaraviva Farm holiday
Ranked #100 of 307 Catania B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stylish and immaculate”
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Stylish B & B with immaculate rooms, in a beautifully restored farmhouse in a peaceful spot below Etna. Generous breakfast in a lovely light room, with local produce & homemade cakes. Virginie gave us great tips on where to visit & recommended good restaurants. A lovely place to stay but pricey. A softer mattress and the facility to make tea or coffee would have made it near perfect.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilnMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    17
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

This property has the 'perfect' everything - its recent renovations and modern decor is impressive (old features have been preserved but at the same time highlighted by modern touches), cleanest property I've come across in Europe especially with self contained accommodation. We had our own little self contained house next to the main building which was so cute and charming. The hosts were wonderful - warm, friendly, passionate about organic foods but not intrusive. Virginia served us the most healthy and delicious breakfasts and provided useful information regarding places to visit, travel routes, restaurants that we appreciated so much. Their house olive oils and wine were fabulous. We haven't tasted such a delicious olive oil! After a stay at this property, we felt more relaxed, happy and a learnt a bit more about organic foods. if I return to Sicily again, I would ensure that I set aside a week to relax at this beautiful property.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacancestoujour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We had 3 wonderful days with our 3 kids and visited the Etna (of course!), Taormina and Castelmola and enjoyed the nice region. The view from Sciaraviva is simple the best! Virginia (the owner - French + English fluent is taking care of all details in order to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oskar777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelldefels, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We spent 3 nights during our 15-day holiday in Sicily and it was perfect. After a hot scorching day, you could relax and have some fresh air there. Quiet, elegant spot. Fantastic gourmet dinner. Mario and Virginia were really nice and helpful with everything we needed. Do the etna trekking with Carmelo: he was the best guide ever!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castelldefels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here. Especially the view from our terrace over the hills takes your breath away . Mario en Virginie treated us like special guest. Dinner is prepared with love and passion. All the food we had were organic and the olive oil they produce is one of the best.


I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vha2_liu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Sciaraviva, a working organic farm at the foothills of Mount Aetna in northeastern Sicily in January, 2010. The farm, which raises olives and wine grapes primarily, is absolutely lovely, with a beautiful, fully apportioned guest house in which we stayed. This included a small kitchen facility, sufficient for us to cook great meals with ingredients we purchased at nearby farmers markets and macellerias (butcher shops).

Breakfast was included and it was excellent. Because we don't eat many sweets in the morning, Virginie changed the breakfast to include wonderful cheeses and baked goods, along with the incredible, fresh squeezed juice from the Sanguenalla, or "blood oranges" from their farm.

Mario and Virginie are both very pleasent and very helpful in terms of providing guidance on travel, places to visit, etc. They are both very quiet and private, but engaging with their guests.

To top it all off, you can purchase some of their award winning olive oil, made from their organic olives, some of the very best we have ever had.

A terrific place which we highly recommend!!


Anthony Flaccavento, Abingdon, Virginia

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We stayed with our little son (3 years) two wonderful weeks at Sciaraviva (in the finca as well as in one of the guest rooms) in April 2010 and had a wonderful time exploring not only the nearby areas of Monte Etna, Taormina and the Sicilian east coast but also the very secrets of this wonderful property itself. The main house and also the accomodation (both the little finca and the rooms) are simply stunning, extremely tastefully decorated and not at all the typical loveless agriturismo mainstream style often found in Italy (you wil also notice this when you enjoy your rich and plastic-free breakfast or the unique oil produced by Mario and his wife). The utmost friendly, helpful and discreet owners Mario and Virgina must have realised their very dream (they definitely realised ours). Probably WiFi would add the only missing puzzle piece to make this place perfect - but even without it, simply do not hesitate to stay there should you ever plan to travel to Sicily!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkloster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Catania
0.7 mi away
Agriturismo Fondocipollate
5.4 mi away
Agriturismo Biologico dell' Etna
6.1 mi away
Agriturismo Orange Park
Agriturismo Orange Park
#2 of 10 in Misterbianco
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Le Cisterne dell'Etna
Le Cisterne dell'Etna
#1 of 2 in Adrano
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zienda Agrituristica Passitti
Zienda Agrituristica Passitti
#238 of 307 in Catania
12 reviews
0.7 mi away
Turismo Rurale Oro Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sciaraviva Farm holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sciaraviva Farm holiday

Property: Sciaraviva Farm holiday
Address: Via Capitolo 1, | Ragalna, Catania, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sciaraviva Farm holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sciaraviva Farm Holiday Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing